Customer Reviews for

Epicurious Recipes & Shopping List

Average Rating 3
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

192 out of 207 people found this review helpful.

Great App

I've been using this for months and have had great success with the recipes. The Shopping List feature is very handy. With the polypropylene sleeve on the NOOKcolor, it fit neatly on a cookbook stand. Since, whenever you're on the Epi App, the page doesn't go dark, y...
I've been using this for months and have had great success with the recipes. The Shopping List feature is very handy. With the polypropylene sleeve on the NOOKcolor, it fit neatly on a cookbook stand. Since, whenever you're on the Epi App, the page doesn't go dark, you can just go to the recipe you want and follow it as slowly as you want. I've cooked several dishes in one day and never lost battery power. I like the app a lot, but I have 2 suggestions for enhancing it to perfection. First, allow users to input their own recipes. Second, find a way to allow users to print out shopping lists on their printers. Perhaps a printing app could be developed for the NOOKcolor

posted by Brainylainy on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Update Please!

I'm hoping someone with authority reads these reviews. I liked this app when I first got it but am still waiting for my spring recipe choices to turn to summer. I recently updated my apps hoping to see some new epi choices...alas,,,,it's been neglected. I agree this ap...
I'm hoping someone with authority reads these reviews. I liked this app when I first got it but am still waiting for my spring recipe choices to turn to summer. I recently updated my apps hoping to see some new epi choices...alas,,,,it's been neglected. I agree this app has potential if the developers would just listen to the users!

posted by 349636 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great App

    I've been using this for months and have had great success with the recipes. The Shopping List feature is very handy. With the polypropylene sleeve on the NOOKcolor, it fit neatly on a cookbook stand. Since, whenever you're on the Epi App, the page doesn't go dark, you can just go to the recipe you want and follow it as slowly as you want. I've cooked several dishes in one day and never lost battery power. I like the app a lot, but I have 2 suggestions for enhancing it to perfection. First, allow users to input their own recipes. Second, find a way to allow users to print out shopping lists on their printers. Perhaps a printing app could be developed for the NOOKcolor

    192 out of 207 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    My favorite Nook App

    I can't believe how much I love this app. Thousands of recipes at your fingertips and so far not a stinker in the bunch. And when looking at a recipe the Nook doesn't go to sleep. It stays on the recipe page! Still browsing through the app and can't wait to see what else I discover.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Update the recipies?

    Does anyone know how to update the recipies? Mine is still on graduation parties from last year.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Awesome cook book

    I think it has good recipes and tips. Perfect for an easy weekday breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Though it has scrolling problems.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    %3C3+this+app%21

    This+app+has+gotten+me+back+into+the+kitchen+and+out+of+the+rut+of+alternating+the+same+meal+ideas%21++I+would+love+it+even+more+if+the+scrolling+was+made+smoother+in+the+next+update...but+still%2C+well+worth+the+%244.99%21

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Sweet app

    Really cool app. But many of the recipes are very complex looking or unusual. But I will definatly keep this app with me.
    Great place to come up with ideas for meals!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Only one thing missing...

    There is only one thing missing from this app. It would be amazing to be able to search for recipes WITHOUT a certain ingredient. I am allergic to tomatoes, and it can be hard to find good recipes that don't use them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Good App

    I use this all the time and love most of the recipies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Great app except

    I love this app and use it a lot. I wish that it would update the recipes ( mothers day brunch ideas in December) but otherwise it's great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Good app

    Great recipes! Would be 5-star if it had a menu planning function.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Update please :)

    Love it, but really want an update...going to be autumn soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Love it

    This is so fun for cookers. Could b easier to use, though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Wow

    Some recipes are good,some bad.But it gave me alot of new recipes to cook.I like this app,you should get it if you like cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Love it.

    It has its limitation, but overall, a great app. Just wish i could share the recipes via social media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Ehh

    I got this or free on the ipod touch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Free

    I got free for my phone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great APP!

    Stop ragging on the price. This is a great app, yes it requires wifi, but its great to use in the kitchen. You can save recipies to your favorites and these you can use without wifi. You can also email yourself and print the recipie as well. Also has a shopping list function so you can get everything you need to prepare your dish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Deliciuos

    The visuals are great and i love the shopping list feature. Great app! Giving four stars because of some glitches during email.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Very good!

    I prefer the app to the website because there are NO ADDS!!! I still have lots of exploring to do. Those of you who prefer the 'free' apps, feel free to enjoy the ads also. I have yet to figure how to post a rating though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Just what I was looking for.

    Four stars because of buggy ui, other wise great app. I have read users complaining of having to pay. Heck, I can get Angry Birds for free on my Evo, but at the cost of annoying ads. I don't know if the free version has ads or not, but who wants to try and read a recipe on a phone any way. As for needing internet access, that is only for browsing. Once you find something you like, save it to shopping list or favs and it caches it for use off line. Very nice. Please fix bugs, jerky when scrolling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3