Customer Reviews for

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3196)

4 Star

(689)

3 Star

(227)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one e...
Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...

I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

posted by Eliz_L on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell f...
Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

posted by Ravenclaww on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 219
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...<BR/><BR/>I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

    50 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In my opinion...

    This series is fabulous!I honestly think you can't call yourself a fantasy lover until you've read this. When I first picked this up I was so excited that the third book (and what I thought was the last book) would be out in time, so I didn't have to wait for it, but then Paolini pulled a fast one and no I (and many others) have to wait in suspense for the 4th book to come out! I'm not to upset about it though because i know the last book will top them all and it keeps Eragon and his dragon Saphira's story going a little longer! If you're looking for a book filled with adventure, fantasy, and even some romance this is the 1st book i'd recommend!

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Eragon, a novel of excellence.

    Eragon was a very organized book, with engaging characters, and a well polished plot. It is a good representation of a boy, not yet 15, becoming one of the almighty, but now nearly extinct dragon riders with lessons in life we should all consider.
    Eragon is about a young farm boy (named Eragon), who finds a polished blue stone while hunting for food in the Spine. The stone hatches, and from it emerges a dragon. Saphira, as she is later named, is the first dragon born after the famed dragon riders were destroyed by Galbatorix, who is now king, and his forsworn. He raises his dragon in secret, afraid the king may find him, but unable to disown the child dragon. Soon, Galbatorix's evil minions, the Ra'zac, pass through the town and learn of the dragon. While Saphira flees into the Spine with Eragon, his home is destroyed and his uncle mortally wounded. Eragon sets out to avenge the Ra'zac with the old storyteller, Brom, who may be more then who he says he is, leading full speed into this thrilling novel.
    I highly enjoyed Eragon, and cannot evaluate the book without high praise for the writing style, characters, and depth. Palini's writing is organized, and descriptive, enabling you to take part in the character's emotion, mind, and setting without overflowing you with information. His characters are full in depth, mind, emotion, and history, enabling you to feel as if they could be anyone in your classroom, or anyone walking through the street. Though you must not forget the plot itself, as it is upbeat, remarkable, and logical.
    Overall, I absolutely recommend this book to a friend, relative, or bookworm. I complement the style, plot, depth, and honesty of a book marking the journey of a young boy to a fierce warrior. Eragon is a read well worth the time, effort, and price.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I haven't been able to read books for a very long time because I'm allergic to ink and paper. Within 5 minutes of reading my eyes start itching, they start watering and I start sneezing. Then all I want to do is sleep, my brain will shut off. Now I have the NOOK, I'm reading everything I can. So, I'm really late at reading Eragon but I really love it.
    I only wish that the movie did it justice. I found that the writer made everything so exciting but the movie made it seem short and very unappealing. I love anything about dragons so when the movie came out I was excited but then when I saw it, it was a letdown. Now that I've read the book and seen the movie again, it is really a letdown. Hollywood needs to stick with the book and not change it so much.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    This book didn't disappoint! I saw the movie, and had been wanting to read the book for quite some time. I'm glad I finally found the time to read it, because it's probably one of the best books I've read in a very long time. It does a great job of filling that gap where Harry Potter used to sit :o) I love the characters, and the creativity of the story. It's got all of the classic elements: farm boy turned hero, romance, adventure, villains, and sidekicks... Chris Paolini is an imaginative writer with impressive skills, considering he started writing this when he was 15. I will definitely read the rest of the series.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Eragon: A Dragon's Tale

    Eragon by Christopher Paolini is a novel about a boy named Eragon who finds a stone in the Spine. He soon finds out that the stone isn't exactly a stone, but a dragon egg. When the dragon hatches he names her Saphira. The two become attached and soon learn of the dragon riders and that they must rescue the eggs from Durza. The book talks about the adventures Eragon and Saphira have on their way to get the eggs. At the end of book they learn that Eragon can finish his training with the elves, so he goes to join the elves. A major theme of this novel is to believe in yourself and always think believe that you can do anything. I really liked this novel because it has a great story plot and it kept me interested throughout the entire novel. The thing that I disliked about the novel was that it was confusing at points and hard to understand. But overall I would recommend this book to everyone 13 and up. Some other books that should be read are the other books in the series by Christopher Paolini.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

    Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

    But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A fabulous peice of artwork!

    Christopher Paolini is truley an artist. A , once, ordinary boy travels through a miraculous, life threatening journey that changes his life forever! Whoever is looking for a adventurous read, Eragon is the book for you! Eragon is truley a gripping read, as well as the rest of the Inheritance cycle.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this Book!

    This Book is so good! I have read it almost 10 times and never geet tired of it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Eragon

    Eragon, Eragon, Eragon. Oh man this book is quite interesting in a good way. If you are into the whole magic and mystical creatures thing then you will love this book. So its pretty much about this boy, Eragon, who stumbles across a very rare stone looking thing that he is startled by while hunting in the mountains. He doesnt know what it is so he tries to sell it but nobody will buy it from him. So he takes it back home and it starts to hatch! And a little dragon comes out. So he takes care of it as it grows. And it becomes massive. So he then hears rumors of some evil forces in his town looking for this dragon egg that he had already found. So he starts to snoop around and finds out a lot of info and that he is a dragon rider. So he runs as fast as he can back to his house and finds that the evil forces have already burned his farm down and killed his uncle. So it goes on from there and Eragon learns how to be a true dragon rider and he becomes hope for the good guys. It is very interesting and fun to go along the journey with Eragon. It is a very facinating story and i cant wait to read the other novels in this series. The book is ten times better than the movie because the movie skips out on a lot of good scenes that are awesome in the book. If you have not read this book i strongly suggest you read it because it is very entertaining and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. I give it probly a 9 out of 10. Very good read and a great action packed novel!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    A Good or Bad Book?

    I would say this book wasn't as good as I expected. I mean, it wasn't bad or anything it just didn't keep me wanting to read it. But still I think it's good.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Eragon, the first to a great series

    The book Eragon is a fast moving adventure book of dragons and there riders, immortal evil kings, magic, dwarves and elves. There is only one word for this book "awesome". I recommend this book to everyone.
    This book starts out when an average farm boy Eragon is hunting in a mysterious mountain range called the Spine. He finds a blue rock that turns out to be a dragon egg. The egg hatches and he names the dragon Sapheria. It is soon after when two mysterious cloaked strangers show up and start asking questions about the egg, a death occurs. He is forced to flee his home with a mysterious story teller named Brom to hunt down the strangers. If you want to know more read the book!
    Overall this is one of the best books I have ever read, I give it a five out of five stars.
    There are no bad aspects of this books. It is adventurous and suspenseful read it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    2 slow 4 me

    It takes a while 4 the action 2 start

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Eragon

    Eragon, a 15-year old farm boy, finds a mysterious blue polished stone while hunting to feed his family. Later, he is shocked to discover that it's a dragon egg. Not just any dragon egg, but one of the last three in all of the empire of Algaesia, for the rest are held by the evil king Galbatorix. He raises it in secret from his family until, one day, he returns home to find his uncle and cousin killed by Galbatorix's evil minions, the ra'zac. He leaves on a journey with his dragon, whom he had named Saphira, and the eccentric village storyteller with a secret or fifteen, Brom, who starts Eragon to on his training to become (Da da da dummmm) a dragon rider. At first, he only wants to avenge his family's death, but eventually it shifts into a power struggle between good and evil, and Eragon's attempt to save all of Algaesia.
    I like this book. The series breaks away from the standard "high fantasy" style of writing, particularly in how the author, Christopher Paolini, makes dragons feel more "real" (instead of using them as your standard cookie-cut monster) by having them speak and occasionally even allowing readers into the depths of their minds. Despite (or perhaps because of) all this, his dragons never lose that sense of mystery. On the downside, there is a bit too much Tolkienese influence for this young bibliophile's liking (though that could be called a good thing in moderation). I give the series an enthusiastic 4 stars out of 5.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense and Intensity Sends Eragon Flying.

    Eragon, by Christopher Paolini, was suspenseful and there was never a dull part. Eragon is a young man who is in his high teens. In the story all he wants is to avenge the death of a loved one at the hands of Glabatorix, an evil emperor that thirsts to control the remaining dragons and dragon riders left. This is a story about Eragon who during a venture into the spine, an infamous mountain range, finds a stone while hunting deer. Thinking that it will be a good trade for food, he takes it home to sell. He soon finds out that it was no stone and that it will be the ticket to one of the biggest adventures of his life. During his adventures he learns how to become a Warrior and the darkest secrets of Magic. He uses his newfound knowledge to overcome obstacles that he encounters along his way. He also encounters new friends and foes that follow him through his hard times and the entire story. The diction in this story is phenomenal and makes you want more. Once you start you will never stop. This was one of the best books that I have ever read and I do not like to read a lot of books. I could never put the book down, I never wanted to stop, not even to play basketball or baseball, a sure fire book. The one thing that I did not like about this book was all the words, names, and places that are included that are not regular names, words, or places; in order to understand, get the book with the gold dot on it that says, "Deluxe Edition, with foldout map and expanded language guide."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    THE GREATEST BOOK EVER

    CHRISTOPHER PAOLINI IS THE BEST PERSON IN THE WORLD!!!!!1!!ONE!!!1! HE IS THE NEXT GREAT WRITING PRODIGY!!!1! ALL YOU PEOPLE WHO SAY IT IS CLICHE ARE WRONG! WRONGETY WRONG WRONG WRONG! CHRISTOPHER PAOLINI IS THE NEXT JOHN GRISHAM!!!1!ONE!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun for kids, enjoyable for the parents who read to them

    I have read this twice now and really enjoyed the series. I've also had friends read it aloud to their kids, with a good deal of discussion and sharing because of it. The story delves into the mythology of Europe, with an unusually kind, Buddhist like Dragon, typically gruff elder/teacher, a life-changing tragedy, and the young male who is searching for meaning in his life. There are a lot of things that are very common in this story, but it is paced well and uses language to engage rather than distract. It is a new classic, and should be on the life list of anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Wow!

    Eragon is a fantastic and mystical adventure.Perfect for Harry Potter and Percy Jackson fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Eragons is one of the best books I have ever read. It is the per

    Eragons is one of the best books I have ever read. It is the perfect blend of fantasy and adventure. The main character (Eragon) is a boy who starts out as a farm hand and suddenly becomes a dragon rider. He then goes on an adventure to find out more about how to be a dragon rider. There are many suprises that will keep you enticed in the book. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Eragon

    Very interesting. Makes you want to read more and more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 219