Customer Reviews for

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3227)

4 Star

(689)

3 Star

(230)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one e...
Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...

I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

posted by Eliz_L on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell f...
Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

posted by Ravenclaww on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    2 slow 4 me

    It takes a while 4 the action 2 start

    4 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    THE GREATEST BOOK EVER

    CHRISTOPHER PAOLINI IS THE BEST PERSON IN THE WORLD!!!!!1!!ONE!!!1! HE IS THE NEXT GREAT WRITING PRODIGY!!!1! ALL YOU PEOPLE WHO SAY IT IS CLICHE ARE WRONG! WRONGETY WRONG WRONG WRONG! CHRISTOPHER PAOLINI IS THE NEXT JOHN GRISHAM!!!1!ONE!!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Unimpressed..waste of my time

    I am a huge fan of fantasy type books, but this book seemed like just a mix of different plots of different stories includkng elements from lord of the rings. The transitions from conflict to conflict seem to convenient amd very predictable. This book is not worth the read.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    good but

    its a really good book but when i pluged it in and unpluged it it said there was only 1 page in the book :(

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    worst book ever. NOT!!!!!

    This is an amazing book i recommend the other books in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    My brain...

    Do you enjoy cliches? Do you enjoy Mary Sues and Gary Stus? Cardboard characters and nonexistent plots? Purple prose? If you enjoy all these--and more--then Eragon IS the book for you. Eragon opens with the main character, Eragon when he finds a blue stone in the forest. He takes it home and, within a few long, painful chapters, it becomes a dragon egg. He tries to raise the dragon, Saphira, and after several more painful chapters and a death, Eragon and Saphira go on a quest to avenge Eragon's uncle. This book reads as a bad Lord of the Rings fanfic, as Eragon must fight Urgals (aka Orcs) and try to eventually defeat the evil Galbatorix (Sauron) for some reason or another. The characters are flat and devoid of personality, the plot is see-through and nonexistent. Paolini takes every cliche and hashes them all into a "book", lacing the "plot" together with purple prose. His writing is choppy and hard to read, amateur at best, and he relies too heavily on description. This "book" was almost impossible to finish--I guarantee that if you have any brain cells left by the end of it, reading the second "book", Eldest, will frizzle them all away. If you love your brain or you sanity, pick up something better to read, like Cornelia Funke's "Inkheart".

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I cannot stress how important it is to take your time when writi

    I cannot stress how important it is to take your time when writing a novel. It may take a while to develop good writing skills and find an original, unique plot, but it is worth it to do so.

    Throughout the novel, young Paolini clumsily brings our attention to anything that he considers important to the story with constant reminders and hints. The descriptions are trying too hard to be Tolkien-like. Of course, this often fails. The characters are flat and devoid of any believable personality, with shallow and simplistic motivations that only exist to move the plot forward. The protagonist is absolutely marvelous at so many cool things with minimal training. Actual solutions in the book are replaced with deux-ex-machina bits far too many times. The world is chock-full of (clichéd) fantasy elements, in the end none of it is truly memorable.

    Don’t believe me? Here’s a list of said cliches:
    A talented poor farm boy
    Dragons
    Elves and dwarves
    Ancient sword
    A quest
    Damsel in distress
    A prophecy
    An evil king

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Boring

    This book gets *SOOOOOOO* boring in the middle. Big waste of time

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Is it a goid book.

    I ve heard it is good @ school

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    I remember reading Eragon for a summer reading project. I though

    I remember reading Eragon for a summer reading project. I thought it would be interesting seeing how a supposedly 15 year old could write a fantasy world. Would it be good? HELL NO!

    The book is, at its' core, a piece of plagarism nonsense that should not deserve to sit on the shelf. Now, before all of you reading think "well he's just jealous" you can shut that crap up right now. The media advertsied it like it was the second coming but it's filled with purple prose and a predicatble plot line. I'm not even a fan of Star Wars and I know he ripped off from that. Successful teen writer my ass...

    And just because you use big words doesn't make you smart. At all. Especially if you don't even know what you're talking about. And when you're writing about an uneducated farm boy, it'd be wise to tone down the thesaurus-raping. Stop showing off. And the language he made up... don't even get me started.

    All in all, this is just over-hyped trash that should be used in a book burning. The story had no potential because it was just a collaboration of other people's works. And he didn't even try to hide it. I'm saving you money. Your wallets will thank me!

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    couldn't finish

    this book is so boring. Being descriptive is good but this was to the point of my mind wandering and skipping pages so, i just gave up.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    A major SNOOZE

    This book has a basic story line, but overall very boring. It takes around 500 pages to finish what could have been written in 200. If you are a new reader to the fantasy world, I don't recommend this book. This is written more on a childish scale. Don't waste your time or money, just watch the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    Um....sorry? Good?

    I heard such great things about Eragon from all my buddies. So I went, checked it out from the school library, and hunkered down to read it. <BR/> Wow.<BR/>If this is what my friends consider a good read, I'm scared to think of what other books they've been exposed to. Inkheart? Stormbreaker? Ugh...<BR/>Besides the fact that the main character, Eragon (very creative title, by the way), wasn't such a sissy, most of the story was just two guys riding horses and talking. And, after waiting for half the book to pass for there to be any actual fighting, Eragon blacks out or gets knocked out before any real action happens! <BR/> But not to worry, readers. His girlfriend (who was asleep for most of the book, and a total jerk to him during the brief time she was awake) was there to tell him how the battle went in the end, since she was the one who protected him and fought for him anyway.<BR/>Oh yes, and to top this all off, there was a dragon with a creepy, clingy emotional attachment to the main character also. That's healthy, I'm sure.<BR/>Save yourselves! <BR/>Go find another book! Unless of course you're looking for a good laugh. If so, then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Yawn

    A friend told me that I'd probably like this book, because the dragon was awesome. Upon her recommendation, I started reading it. By the third chapter, I was desperate to find a character to like, but - other than Saphira - there was none. The main character gave me an overwhelming sense of irritation, and it was only because of the mysterious chapter entitled 'Murtagh' that I continued to wade through the absurdly long and boring journey that the whinny twit undertook. It is only for the sake of the character, Murtagh, that I finished the book, though with many naps in between. And what despair and woe I felt when finishing it, for I knew that I was going to read the second one, whether I wanted to or not. And when I finally awoke from the catatonic state of boredom I'd been in through the entire book, I found - with great horror - that I had waisted an entire day reading it. It's a wonderful book to read before bed, for it's guaranteed to put you to sleep quickly. It should be proscribed by doctors for people who have insomnia.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Christopher Paolini is a thief.

    Honestly, this book was a lot better when David Eddings wrote it. The whole books are just a little too cliche. It starts out with Eragon himself being an all-around unlikeable character. He doesn't even seem like a character at all: more like a cookie-cutter profile of someone Paolini was trying to emulate in his story. After reading the Belgariad and the Malloreon by David Eddings, I came to the startling {and sickening} conclusion that Paolini had taken just a bit too much liberty in his seemingly 'original' ideas. Time and time again I would turn a page and read a passage that depicted a scene or character that repeated itself in Eragon or Eldest- even down to particular wordings. I can imagine a nod or two in another author's direction, but this is ridiculous, and a little insulting. I'm hoping he grows up before finishing his next book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Boring

    I Think we've seen this before.Star wars sprinkled with a little Lord Of The Rings.DONT BUY IT=(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    How could you think Eragon is anything but trash?

    Let's skip the praise that he wrote it at such a young age, blah blah blah. Amelia Atwater-Rhodes wrote absolutely stunning things at thirteen. Paolini is an idiot. Well, actually, he's an idiot with parents who have connections in the publishing industry. Thus, he was able to pluck what he liked best from Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and numerous 'better!' storylines and mash them all together in a book his parents said was wonderful. Honestly, his parents are even worse. They didn't have the backbone to say 'Son, I know you worked hard on this... but it's awful. I'm sorry I don't want to burn anyone's eyes out, so it'll have to stay in your desk drawer.' Would that really be so hard? Now we have to deal with an absolutely trash movie and numerous fans 'most of whom couldn't tell Shakespeare from their ass' defending this piece of garbage. You know the reason it did so well? It has dragons. That makes for a great image on your advertising promos, and little children are attracted to anything scaly with wings. If Eragon had, say, giant slugs who could fly instead... the blindfold would be gone and everyone would be able to see why Eragon is such trash.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Absolutely Amazing

    Before I read this book, I had read R.A. Salvatore's series of books about D'rizzit, a troubled elf. However, once I opened up Eragon, 1 1/2 years after it was first published, I was speechless. It is truly amazing, a must-read if you are one to imagine an amazing world, filled with elves, dragons, heroes, and villains, that Christopher Paoloni has masterfully created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Terrible

    Derivative, poorly written and improbable. Very obviously written by a child of little imaginationn, but extensive reading, much of which is reproduced quite poorly here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hate to do this, but I'm quitting on this book. I made it half w

    Hate to do this, but I'm quitting on this book. I made it half way and don't plan to go any farther. The book wasn't written well, details in some parts and then no detail in others. The story was moving on too slow and not enough adventure so far. I'm also not understanding the relationship between Eragon and Saphira. There could have been so much more development of the characters. So unfortunately, I'm going to stop where I am and start on something more interesting.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7