Customer Reviews for

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3214)

4 Star

(689)

3 Star

(228)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one e...
Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...

I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

posted by Eliz_L on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell f...
Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

posted by Ravenclaww on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 689 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Eragon: A Dragon's Tale

    Eragon by Christopher Paolini is a novel about a boy named Eragon who finds a stone in the Spine. He soon finds out that the stone isn't exactly a stone, but a dragon egg. When the dragon hatches he names her Saphira. The two become attached and soon learn of the dragon riders and that they must rescue the eggs from Durza. The book talks about the adventures Eragon and Saphira have on their way to get the eggs. At the end of book they learn that Eragon can finish his training with the elves, so he goes to join the elves. A major theme of this novel is to believe in yourself and always think believe that you can do anything. I really liked this novel because it has a great story plot and it kept me interested throughout the entire novel. The thing that I disliked about the novel was that it was confusing at points and hard to understand. But overall I would recommend this book to everyone 13 and up. Some other books that should be read are the other books in the series by Christopher Paolini.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Eragon

    Eragon, Eragon, Eragon. Oh man this book is quite interesting in a good way. If you are into the whole magic and mystical creatures thing then you will love this book. So its pretty much about this boy, Eragon, who stumbles across a very rare stone looking thing that he is startled by while hunting in the mountains. He doesnt know what it is so he tries to sell it but nobody will buy it from him. So he takes it back home and it starts to hatch! And a little dragon comes out. So he takes care of it as it grows. And it becomes massive. So he then hears rumors of some evil forces in his town looking for this dragon egg that he had already found. So he starts to snoop around and finds out a lot of info and that he is a dragon rider. So he runs as fast as he can back to his house and finds that the evil forces have already burned his farm down and killed his uncle. So it goes on from there and Eragon learns how to be a true dragon rider and he becomes hope for the good guys. It is very interesting and fun to go along the journey with Eragon. It is a very facinating story and i cant wait to read the other novels in this series. The book is ten times better than the movie because the movie skips out on a lot of good scenes that are awesome in the book. If you have not read this book i strongly suggest you read it because it is very entertaining and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. I give it probly a 9 out of 10. Very good read and a great action packed novel!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Eragon

    Eragon, a 15-year old farm boy, finds a mysterious blue polished stone while hunting to feed his family. Later, he is shocked to discover that it's a dragon egg. Not just any dragon egg, but one of the last three in all of the empire of Algaesia, for the rest are held by the evil king Galbatorix. He raises it in secret from his family until, one day, he returns home to find his uncle and cousin killed by Galbatorix's evil minions, the ra'zac. He leaves on a journey with his dragon, whom he had named Saphira, and the eccentric village storyteller with a secret or fifteen, Brom, who starts Eragon to on his training to become (Da da da dummmm) a dragon rider. At first, he only wants to avenge his family's death, but eventually it shifts into a power struggle between good and evil, and Eragon's attempt to save all of Algaesia.
    I like this book. The series breaks away from the standard "high fantasy" style of writing, particularly in how the author, Christopher Paolini, makes dragons feel more "real" (instead of using them as your standard cookie-cut monster) by having them speak and occasionally even allowing readers into the depths of their minds. Despite (or perhaps because of) all this, his dragons never lose that sense of mystery. On the downside, there is a bit too much Tolkienese influence for this young bibliophile's liking (though that could be called a good thing in moderation). I give the series an enthusiastic 4 stars out of 5.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense and Intensity Sends Eragon Flying.

    Eragon, by Christopher Paolini, was suspenseful and there was never a dull part. Eragon is a young man who is in his high teens. In the story all he wants is to avenge the death of a loved one at the hands of Glabatorix, an evil emperor that thirsts to control the remaining dragons and dragon riders left. This is a story about Eragon who during a venture into the spine, an infamous mountain range, finds a stone while hunting deer. Thinking that it will be a good trade for food, he takes it home to sell. He soon finds out that it was no stone and that it will be the ticket to one of the biggest adventures of his life. During his adventures he learns how to become a Warrior and the darkest secrets of Magic. He uses his newfound knowledge to overcome obstacles that he encounters along his way. He also encounters new friends and foes that follow him through his hard times and the entire story. The diction in this story is phenomenal and makes you want more. Once you start you will never stop. This was one of the best books that I have ever read and I do not like to read a lot of books. I could never put the book down, I never wanted to stop, not even to play basketball or baseball, a sure fire book. The one thing that I did not like about this book was all the words, names, and places that are included that are not regular names, words, or places; in order to understand, get the book with the gold dot on it that says, "Deluxe Edition, with foldout map and expanded language guide."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Eragon

    Very interesting. Makes you want to read more and more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Eragon

    Eragon is a book that explains relationships well between a boy and his dragon and the boy and his family. Christopher Paolini, the author of the book explains this well and provides good detail throughout. The main character in the book, Eragon, is a young poor kind of boy with his family. He faces challenges together as a family with his grandfather and brother, the ones whom he lives with. Eragon one day finds this mysterious stone, in this place called the Spine in the woods, which he had no clue what it was and while he was out he ends up trying to trade it for money to a store and these traveling merchants for his family but has no luck. One day out of nowhere the egg which he ends up finding out was hatched and it was a dragon, so it was a dragon egg that he found. After the egg hatched into a dragon he agreed to take care of it and called it Saphira. Eragon said that was the perfect name for the dragon and the dragon agreed. One day, this guy tells Eragon he knows about the egg and pretty much threatens him if he doesn't admit it. Eragon then decides to just come out with but tries to hide this by telling Eragon to fly far away. The guy finds out anyway on his own what the dragon looks like and everything. Eragon has to hide this and makes sure no one else finds out or the guy doesn't say anything. This is a book that's good to read, can be confusing at times but is still good and the author does a good job describing this if you ever want to pick up a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    I recommend Eragon to people who like adventures and medieval ba

    I recommend Eragon to people who like adventures and medieval battles. The book is a little long, but it is a page turner. You’ll feel like you are inside the story with Eragon and his dragon Saphira as they battle the evil king. I do not recommend this book to people who dislike strong vivid descriptions of battle scenes. When I was younger the only thing I could draw was dragons so I was attracted to this book because it’s about dragons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Well...

    I read this book in my fifth grade reading group with my vice principal... it was long... and i feel like all if the new characters like Angela and Orik werent described enough. I do admire Christopher for writing this book at sixteen though. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good Book

    I thought this book was exiting and action packed. I enjoyed it and i will read the next book, Eldest, as soon as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anomynous

    Great book got me hooked but then i became busy and i havent gotten the chance to finish it, but im looking forward to finishing the series soon... hopefully

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing and fun

    I think this book is an instant classic. A new comer to the realm of fantasy fiction writing Christopher Paolini sends me to a wonderful world full of drama excitement and surprises. I can't wait for the next installment. I have no complaints about this book in general it was a fun reading experience and the author does a great job of moving the story line along without skipping details. A must read in my opinion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT START!!

    I've only read this first book, but it proves to be a wonderful start to what can only be a great series. I have Eldest, the second in the series, but haven't started it yet. I love the way Paolini developed the relationship between Eragon and Saphira. At times, this book reminded me of one of the books in the Dark Tower Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    Eragon Book Review

    Eragon I thought was a great book. It was adventurous, similar to Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter or a combination of the two. Eragon comes across a dragon egg as a young boy and raises it until it hatched. The evil king searches to find the eggs to rule all of the kingdom. So he searches for eragon and the egg. Eragons dad is killed and he follows a wise man from the village on a quest. To reach the elves, the Varden, because the elves are the only real defense against the kings domain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Fantasy

    Eragon was a really good story. I picked it up when everyone in class started to read it when it first came out. I recommend this book to people who love fantasy books. But if you dislike fantasys and adventure stories this is not the book for you. Over all it was a nice thing to read when i was trying to read a different genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Eragon

    This is a great book the words are more mature.Also things are not always what they seem.I hope this helps

    BEST
    MARY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    What follows Eragon and its Series?

    MY story of cource! Please check it out at 'morning dawn' result one. You type in morning dawn in your search bar, and a list of books will come up. Click on the first one. Check the next book for the next part(s)! The part up now is just the intro. Prolouge and Part 1 come next. Thanks! This book and series is awesome!
    <br>
    <p>
    Stormy &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I thought this book was amazing, ssort of. Just disliked the details, but felt necessary

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Eragon Is an amazing start to a wonderfull series! I rented Erag

    Eragon Is an amazing start to a wonderfull series! I rented Eragon from my public library and after I finished 
    reading eragon I had to read more of the series. I have to admit the begining of the book started out a little boring but after 
    the first 6 or 7 pages it starts to get interesting! Over all this book is verry,verry good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Good book

    It starts off kind if boring but later un the book it begins to get better and niw i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Eragon Review

    I was interested in Eragon because I was looking for books to buy, and heard that this series was a must have. All my friends have read i and liked it, and I do to. Each chapter is a page turner. The characters have in-depth personalities. What bummed me out a little was that this book was a perfect combination of Lord of the Rings and Star Wars, and perhaps a little too much of a copycat. Aside from this, I absolutely loved it and will continue to finish reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 689 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35