Customer Reviews for

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3247)

4 Star

(691)

3 Star

(230)

2 Star

(103)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one e...
Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...

I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

posted by Eliz_L on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell f...
Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

posted by Ravenclaww on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 691 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Eragon Review

    I was interested in Eragon because I was looking for books to buy, and heard that this series was a must have. All my friends have read i and liked it, and I do to. Each chapter is a page turner. The characters have in-depth personalities. What bummed me out a little was that this book was a perfect combination of Lord of the Rings and Star Wars, and perhaps a little too much of a copycat. Aside from this, I absolutely loved it and will continue to finish reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Review

    I agree with anomanus this is great book and if dont like this is a book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Anyone to anyone

    I've seen the movie, read half the book, and found it a pretty good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Callie patt

    This book is a visualizing tale and shows good things such-*DRAGONS*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Entering a world with rich lore.

    Good coming of age story, despite the many similarities to Star Wars and LOTR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Kind of grusome but its a very good book

    There are parts when the book describes how the killing is done but the story of eragon is soooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    To peacestar

    I am silverwillow. I am a she-cat with my kit. Please, i need a clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

    Hi my name is Illiana and i'm 11and i LOVE this book! It is awesome. You should read it and don't get annoyed at Brom you will find out more about him in the second book. I think this is a good series if you are in 4th grade our above cause there are lots of big words in these books.

    ILLIANA OUT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Aerokit

    (((NAME:Aerokit~POSITION: A kit~COLOR:An orange and white tabby she-cat with silver eyes.))) Aerokit frowns at B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Flop

    I thought about giving this book 5 stars but the only thing is that paolini went into too much detail about the setting and not enough on the plot. He also pretty much re-wrote lord of the rings. Other than that this was an awsome book. If youre into fantasy this is a great read.

    Now behold my rabbitz

    (\__/) (\__/)
    ( 0 0) (0 0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Just keep reading.

    Eragon isnt the best book i have read buthe series certanly is. It absolutely demolishes all competition except for the demon king series. And for the people that think that harry potter is great, you wont be able to read it after you see how well christopher paolini has put together this tale. It wins with its characters and by his way of artfully telling this amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Ddgjkklliiutresadfbnk

    Ijffddcvnmkkyyrwsdvnmjfddyukknbc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    ERAGON

    A rich passion fuels Eragon beyond any recognition I can give. The characters and magical atmoshere will definitely pull you in, while the sword-fighting, spell-casting, love, betrayal, vengence, and, of course, the incredible flying beasts Christopher Paolibi creates, fuel the fire of Paolini's passion and keep you turning pages until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Pretty good

    Slow begining but gets really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Great writing, cliche plot

    The quality of Paolini's writing is impressive, even more so because he began the book when he was fifteen. However, the plot of Eragon is anything but fresh. With a few added twists and turns, the book follows the archetypical hero's journey, a pattern used in the Star Wars series. Despite the plot's lack of originality, the book is well worth your time, if only for the quality of Paolini's writing. Paolini masterfully crafts and fine-tunes his narrative so that it glistens. Supporting characters are also well-developed (more so than Eragon, the protagonist) and give life to the book. Also intriguing is Paolini's approach to dragons and riders. Overall this book is worth your time, as it showcases Paolini's writing and has some intriguing fantasy elements, but don't expect to be dazzled by the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    recommendations

    If you like this book you should read EON and its sequel EONA.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Anasing

    It is one of the best books i ever read. I would make sure to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I love this book

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    impressive but nothing strikingly new

    In 2002 Christopher Paolini was 15 and a high school graduate. So, of course, the next obvious step was to write a novel. Which is why readers now have Eragon, the latest in a long line of dragon-centric fantasies (I just made that term up). This novel is the first in the Inheritance Trilogy (Eldest is already out and Brisingr is due for release soon). It was also made into a movie in 2006 that I enjoyed quite a bit even before I found its excellent tagline: "You are stronger than you realize. Wiser than you know. What was once your life is now your legend."

    In addition to mentioning his age, Paolini's back flap bio mentions that he has an abiding love of fantasy that subsequently motivated him to write his own fantasy novel. For that reason, Eragon owes an obvious debt to some of the fantasy big shots. Like Tamora Pierce's books (and Gail Carson Levine's), this one has a medieval-esque setting. The most obvious similarities that I noticed lie between this book and Ursula K. Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea and J. R. R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings books (and The Hobbit too). Obviously, then, if you like those books you will like Eragon. At the same time, though, these similarities did leave me wishing there were more "acceptable" ways to write a fantasy setting. Maybe that's me.

    More than an event book where events are central to the plot and the story moves from event to event, this is a journey book. Stuff happens, but most of the novel is spent traveling. In a sense, the entire book is a journey to the end which I assume leads to more revelations which will be found in the second book in the trilogy.

    The book's journey starts with its title character, Eragon, a fifteen-year-old youth living in a rural town in the land of Alagaesia. Once a place of glory where dragons and their riders kept peace across the country, the Empire is now ruled by a cruel king called Galbatorix. Such concerns are far from Eragon's daily concerns though. Living with his uncle and cousin, Eragon's days are spent helping his family farm their land and prepare for winter.

    All of that changes when Eragon returns from a hunting trip with a mysterious stone. Soon enough, he realizes the stone is actually an egg. A dragon egg. The presence of this new dragon will not only change the course of Eragon's life but also the path of the entire Empire. Thus Eragon is set on a new path with only his dragon, an old storyteller and a mysterious sword to help him find his way.

    And that, really, is what this book is about: Eragon finding his way as he learns what being a Rider, and dare I say being a hero, really means. One of the subtler things I liked about the writing is that when Paolini begins this story, his protagonist is clearly a boy even if by Alagaesian standards he's only a year from manhood. By the end of the novel, though, Eragon is a man. The writing changes subtly to reflect this important change from beginning to end.

    Eragon is literally finding his way too--the novel features a lot of long, perilous journeys and long, dangerous battles. All of which were good to read but did leave me burnt out when I finally made my way to the end of my paperback copy (on page 497). Sometimes it's just surprising how long it can take to read a long book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good

    ATTENTION: Eragon is a really good book, but dont bother reading the rest of the series. I read Eldest, and it was really boring and confusing. Annd dont watch the movie. Its stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 691 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 35