Customer Reviews for

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3199)

4 Star

(689)

3 Star

(227)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one e...
Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...

I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

posted by Eliz_L on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

If only I could be a dragon rider... just not in this story...

Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell f...
Eragon. I first read this um I really have no idea when. All I remember is that I bought this one and Eldest in a boxed set and I began reading it in the car. At first it caught my attention, it got me curious as to what was happening. But then for some reason it fell flat. At some points I dragged myself to get through this and at others I was flipping through the pages with excitment. I guess for me there's no constant level for it. It goes up and down like a huge mountain. The way Paolini writes this is very, well that's the thing. I don't really know how to explain it. It's so eh. I mean the way that at times he just rants on about a tree. (Not saying he does it's just an example). Like we love details but not too much. And another thing that makes reading his work difficult is the namings. All those accent marks and everything sounding about the same just confuses me and I end up not knowing what happened.

But other than that the story is good and has a lot of potential. It's just the way it's written that it's kind of hmm. Like when I read I see everything in my head as a movie but for someone reason I can't picture anything clearly. It's all dark and fuzzy. Perhaps I should try reading this in a few years but for now my suggestion stands with I would recommend this book but only if you have nothing else to read.

posted by Ravenclaww on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 160
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Eragon is a blazing start to the wildly popular Inheritance saga. Paolini weaves a suspenseful, exiting tale that will keep you turning the pages! The book starts out a tad boring, and it might take a bit of effort to get beyond the first 10 pages, but after that, one event after another sends you to Aglaësia, experiencing Eragon¿s feelings like your own. As Eragon journeys from his home to avenge the death of a loved one, you learn more and more about the infamous Empire and Galbatorix, as well as his black dragon Shruikan. While Eragon studies magic and swordplay, he also learns some secrets better left unknown...<BR/><BR/>I couldn't put it down until I had reached the last page, and even then I hungered for the next book in the series. If you're in the mood for a fantasy book that¿s chock full of fighting, swordplay and good vs. evil, you¿ve come to the right place! I must warn you though, you're not going to like it when you've read all three and Paolini hasn't finished the fourth book!

    52 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In my opinion...

    This series is fabulous!I honestly think you can't call yourself a fantasy lover until you've read this. When I first picked this up I was so excited that the third book (and what I thought was the last book) would be out in time, so I didn't have to wait for it, but then Paolini pulled a fast one and no I (and many others) have to wait in suspense for the 4th book to come out! I'm not to upset about it though because i know the last book will top them all and it keeps Eragon and his dragon Saphira's story going a little longer! If you're looking for a book filled with adventure, fantasy, and even some romance this is the 1st book i'd recommend!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Eragon, a novel of excellence.

    Eragon was a very organized book, with engaging characters, and a well polished plot. It is a good representation of a boy, not yet 15, becoming one of the almighty, but now nearly extinct dragon riders with lessons in life we should all consider.
    Eragon is about a young farm boy (named Eragon), who finds a polished blue stone while hunting for food in the Spine. The stone hatches, and from it emerges a dragon. Saphira, as she is later named, is the first dragon born after the famed dragon riders were destroyed by Galbatorix, who is now king, and his forsworn. He raises his dragon in secret, afraid the king may find him, but unable to disown the child dragon. Soon, Galbatorix's evil minions, the Ra'zac, pass through the town and learn of the dragon. While Saphira flees into the Spine with Eragon, his home is destroyed and his uncle mortally wounded. Eragon sets out to avenge the Ra'zac with the old storyteller, Brom, who may be more then who he says he is, leading full speed into this thrilling novel.
    I highly enjoyed Eragon, and cannot evaluate the book without high praise for the writing style, characters, and depth. Palini's writing is organized, and descriptive, enabling you to take part in the character's emotion, mind, and setting without overflowing you with information. His characters are full in depth, mind, emotion, and history, enabling you to feel as if they could be anyone in your classroom, or anyone walking through the street. Though you must not forget the plot itself, as it is upbeat, remarkable, and logical.
    Overall, I absolutely recommend this book to a friend, relative, or bookworm. I complement the style, plot, depth, and honesty of a book marking the journey of a young boy to a fierce warrior. Eragon is a read well worth the time, effort, and price.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I haven't been able to read books for a very long time because I'm allergic to ink and paper. Within 5 minutes of reading my eyes start itching, they start watering and I start sneezing. Then all I want to do is sleep, my brain will shut off. Now I have the NOOK, I'm reading everything I can. So, I'm really late at reading Eragon but I really love it.
    I only wish that the movie did it justice. I found that the writer made everything so exciting but the movie made it seem short and very unappealing. I love anything about dragons so when the movie came out I was excited but then when I saw it, it was a letdown. Now that I've read the book and seen the movie again, it is really a letdown. Hollywood needs to stick with the book and not change it so much.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    This book didn't disappoint! I saw the movie, and had been wanting to read the book for quite some time. I'm glad I finally found the time to read it, because it's probably one of the best books I've read in a very long time. It does a great job of filling that gap where Harry Potter used to sit :o) I love the characters, and the creativity of the story. It's got all of the classic elements: farm boy turned hero, romance, adventure, villains, and sidekicks... Chris Paolini is an imaginative writer with impressive skills, considering he started writing this when he was 15. I will definitely read the rest of the series.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A fabulous peice of artwork!

    Christopher Paolini is truley an artist. A , once, ordinary boy travels through a miraculous, life threatening journey that changes his life forever! Whoever is looking for a adventurous read, Eragon is the book for you! Eragon is truley a gripping read, as well as the rest of the Inheritance cycle.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this Book!

    This Book is so good! I have read it almost 10 times and never geet tired of it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Eragon, the first to a great series

    The book Eragon is a fast moving adventure book of dragons and there riders, immortal evil kings, magic, dwarves and elves. There is only one word for this book "awesome". I recommend this book to everyone.
    This book starts out when an average farm boy Eragon is hunting in a mysterious mountain range called the Spine. He finds a blue rock that turns out to be a dragon egg. The egg hatches and he names the dragon Sapheria. It is soon after when two mysterious cloaked strangers show up and start asking questions about the egg, a death occurs. He is forced to flee his home with a mysterious story teller named Brom to hunt down the strangers. If you want to know more read the book!
    Overall this is one of the best books I have ever read, I give it a five out of five stars.
    There are no bad aspects of this books. It is adventurous and suspenseful read it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun for kids, enjoyable for the parents who read to them

    I have read this twice now and really enjoyed the series. I've also had friends read it aloud to their kids, with a good deal of discussion and sharing because of it. The story delves into the mythology of Europe, with an unusually kind, Buddhist like Dragon, typically gruff elder/teacher, a life-changing tragedy, and the young male who is searching for meaning in his life. There are a lot of things that are very common in this story, but it is paced well and uses language to engage rather than distract. It is a new classic, and should be on the life list of anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Wow!

    Eragon is a fantastic and mystical adventure.Perfect for Harry Potter and Percy Jackson fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Eragons is one of the best books I have ever read. It is the per

    Eragons is one of the best books I have ever read. It is the perfect blend of fantasy and adventure. The main character (Eragon) is a boy who starts out as a farm hand and suddenly becomes a dragon rider. He then goes on an adventure to find out more about how to be a dragon rider. There are many suprises that will keep you enticed in the book. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Eragon

    BEST BOOK IN THE WHOLE WORLD! That is all that needs to be said. :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Eragonfans

    If you are not sure about buying eragon because of some bad reviews, don't listen to those. Those people probably had different expectations than you would have. If you keep your expectations lower than theirs then you will be more amazed and hooked on to the book than you would.
    If you ask me..... i recommend this book to everyone over the age of 10 or 11 because of vilence but it really is a great book. I posted a review on the 1st and look how many times i said it was good..... 3 times...... This is a great book.
    There are plenty of good reviews also, look for the good ones and if they really are so manu bad ones, read a book that people who bought this also bought. Also take note that the author was fiftwen when he wrote Eragon and look at the book now!
    Go ERAGON!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I liked alot alot alot it was one of the best books I've ever read. I loved it









    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    Full of action, adventure and exitement, this book keeps you turning pages. Full of detail and descreption, you feel as if you are there. I wish i could give this book more than five stars!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    A very good book.

    Paolini writes reasonably well. He adds some interesting ideas to fantasy writing, such as the idea that the energy used for magic must be derived from the user. While the plot of a poor farm boy rising against an evil king is used quite often, it is still workable and takes an interesting course in Eragon. His characters are complex, multifaceted people and don¿t always follow a predictable role. Brom, Eragon¿s mentor, loses to Eragon in a sparring match relatively early in the book. From that point on, Brom only improves on Eragon slightly, mentally and physically, but is a constant companion and acts like a father to Eragon rather than a teacher. Eragon also befriends a boy, Murtagh, who is a few years older than Eragon. Murtagh is an interesting character who always helps Eragon and is merciless to his enemies. He is exactly as skilled as Eragon at sparring and prefers to keep his past a secret. This added complexity is common to many characters in Eragon. <BR/> Paolini is descriptive throughout the book. His consistent use of figurative language painted a vivid picture in my mind. He writes in the style of many noted fantasy authors, such as J.R.R. Tolkien. In addition, a great deal of the Ancient Language, which controls magic and is spoken by the elves, seems to be reminiscent of the language of Tolkien¿s elves. I found that the names often define a person or a place; Teirm is a tiered port city, Helgrind is the focus of a barbaric religion, etc.<BR/> Eragon is a very compelling read. Occasionally there was a section that seemed like a segment of a children¿s book rather than teen or young adult fiction, but overall, Eragon is well written, descriptive, enthralling, and entertaining. I recommend this book for any lover of fantasy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    [INSERT HEADLINE HERE]

    ¿The fable of dragon riders.¿ Told by a wise man, once only thought of as a silly storyteller. The beginning of a tale, that would change the fate of the world. Eragon, a poor farm boy with no parents or siblings, only his uncle and his cousin Roran left in his family. Eragon finds what he thinks is only a stone, which would be so much more. When he takes it into town and tries to sell it for meat to last the winter but no one dares buy it. But the next night the stone hatched, revealing a baby dragon. And the stone was also an egg. With this, it attracts the empire. While Eragon was in town, the empire burns down his home and kills his family. This starts the epic, plot twisted filled journey that takes Eragon across his entire continent trying to find the men who killed the last members of his family.<BR/><BR/> The characters, themselves seem normal enough. Eragon, a perfect protagist. He wouldn't steal from a baby, if he was starving. He always tries to do the right thing and almost rips his own hand off when he can't. As he grows older, in time he gains cunning, the ability to think things through. But not with some training and role model from Brom. The old man himself is highly intelligent, quick thinking, and is usually seen saving Eragon's life multiple times. When Brom is no longer 'available,' a new character is introduced, Murtagh. He hides many secrets, but that does not interfere with his protagist attitude. Having a shadowy past makes him very interesting to watch and see the reason behind his decisions.<BR/><BR/> Eragon is a book that one will enjoy from the second they finish the first page. The reader will be enticed by the fantastical vocabulary of the author. With plot twists and very interesting characters that seem to have always something to hide, this book will drive you insane with curiosity. No doubt in my mind that you will not only love this book, want to go out and buy a three different copies just for an excuse to reread it over and over again. You'll shed tears of joy when you hear about Eldest the sequel to Eragon. You will be entrapped by this fascinating fanasty, bewildered by how a powerful book can change you. Unimaginable joy, you will be a mad page turner for the tale of Eragon, the dragon rider.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Amazing!

    Honestly i think th book is better than the movie. I think this because the book inclludes more detail and if you read the book first then watch the movie you will be very dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Just saying

    I am just saying that the acient language is based off Celtic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Spoiler alert

    Brom is Eragons father and Arya becomes a Dragon Rider.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 160