Customer Reviews for

Eragon/Eldest Boxed Set

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Book Ever

Eragon was the best book ever because it was packed with magic and action. The book was written by Christopher Paolini, at age 19 when he became a New York Times best selling author. He was home schooled all his life and graduated high school at age 15. Eragon is the fi...
Eragon was the best book ever because it was packed with magic and action. The book was written by Christopher Paolini, at age 19 when he became a New York Times best selling author. He was home schooled all his life and graduated high school at age 15. Eragon is the first book in the Inheritance series and Eragon finds out a dangerous secret. As Eragon travels to the Varden with Brom he finds things out about himself he never thought possible, he meets people that could help him very much or they could kill him just as easily. If you read this book I¿m sure you would like it. I think this book teaches people to be careful, and watchful at all times. So read this book because it is the BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

posted by 819274 on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't believe the hype

I read both books in this series, expecting them to improve based on the glowing reviews of Eragon. However, the stories have paper thin plots and card board cut out characters. This is a paint by numbers story and possibly the worst I've ever read in my life. I don't u...
I read both books in this series, expecting them to improve based on the glowing reviews of Eragon. However, the stories have paper thin plots and card board cut out characters. This is a paint by numbers story and possibly the worst I've ever read in my life. I don't usually write unfavorable reviews, but if I can encourage one person to save themselves from this, then it was worth it. Shame on you Knopf!

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Ever

    Eragon was the best book ever because it was packed with magic and action. The book was written by Christopher Paolini, at age 19 when he became a New York Times best selling author. He was home schooled all his life and graduated high school at age 15. Eragon is the first book in the Inheritance series and Eragon finds out a dangerous secret. As Eragon travels to the Varden with Brom he finds things out about himself he never thought possible, he meets people that could help him very much or they could kill him just as easily. If you read this book I¿m sure you would like it. I think this book teaches people to be careful, and watchful at all times. So read this book because it is the BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Paolini Grows With Each New Book

    Since his first book, "Eragon," in the newly titled "Inheritance Saga"--it was supposed to be a trilogy, but a new book is now in the works--Christopher Paolini seems to be getting his "sea legs." The fun but very derivative first novel--well-written, but nothing special--has evolved into a riveting, compelling series.

    Paolini's characters have fleshed out, grown up, and become more varied and less "Lord of the Rings" meets Anne McCaffrey. Paolini has now found his own voice, and it is a beautiful thing indeed.

    I went from shaking my head in "Eragon" each time I met a derivative character, easily recognized from either Tolkien or McCaffrey, to not being able to put the books down. They are fairly long, but I wanted them longer, because I didn't want the story to end.

    When the author announced at the end of the third novel in the series that the trilogy had been scrapped to make room for another novel, the announcement was met with as much joy as I have when Bernard Cornwell comes out with a new book, or Sharon Kay Penman, or Robert Jordan--still waiting for the posthumous book ending his "Wheel of Time" series. Yes, Christopher Paolini can now claim a place with the exceptional writers of our day, and given the man's youth, we can only watch him grow even more in the coming years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping.

    Let me first say that the books are extremely better than the movie. This series may be pointed towards a young adult crowd, but it is great for anyone that enjoys a great imagination and story line. Once you get to know the characters it's hard to put the book down. Lots of action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    I Agree!!

    I recently read the reveiw that debated against this seris being plagerism. I just wanted to say that I Agree 100% That person made an excellent point saying that most people think the same of elves and dwarves. And also for the person who said " I like the book, but not really" please make up your mind. It's a do or you don't situation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    The new Lord of the Rings

    These books are very well written, and very well placed throughout. The characters are touching and unforgettable, and the many fantasy creatures boost what you could only imagine. The only problem is the fact that there are some plot points that seem like a rip off, of Star Wars Episode IV and V. Other then that, these are novels that should not be pushed aside as just another lengthy bore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Don't believe the hype

    I read both books in this series, expecting them to improve based on the glowing reviews of Eragon. However, the stories have paper thin plots and card board cut out characters. This is a paint by numbers story and possibly the worst I've ever read in my life. I don't usually write unfavorable reviews, but if I can encourage one person to save themselves from this, then it was worth it. Shame on you Knopf!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    format not as advertised

    This is a comment on the format of this publication...NOT its content (which is a very good read). The term "Boxed Set" implies a box containing more than one book. There is no box involved here (other than the box the book was mailed in) and there is only one volume--containing both Eragon and Eldest between its covers. Not what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sort of an awesome book, sorta not

    I've read all of the books in this series. I read the first two when I was younger, before I saw the Star Wars movies & read & saw the Lord of the Rings movies. Initially, I thought these were some of the best books I'd ever read, but after I saw Star Wars, I lost respect, & after I read & saw the Lord of the Rings, I thought these books were silly & a load of junk. But after a few years, I decided to reread them, & found that despite these similarities, I still liked the books, though not quite as much as before. I'd definitely recommend these books to anyone; just don't get too irked when something seems like it's lifted from another story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    OMG!!!

    I love this series. everyone should read these books. the movies are okay to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    If you loved the movie you must read the books. I wasn't expecting much, but what I did find, was one of the greatest books I have ever read. Christopher Paolini takes you on the journey with Eragon, how he goes from a farm boy and grows into a Dragon Rider. I have been recommending The Inheritance Cycle to anyone that will listen. I just hope that Christopher Paolini will keep writing of Eragon's journey.

    You learn so much more than the movie, what has happened to Eragon and Saphira, what they have gone thru, the happiness, sadness all that they have experienced. You feel like you are right there with them all, with the exact details that Christopher Paolini puts in the books. You cry with them, you laugh them, and you enjoy the whole experience. And I can't beleive I am even saying this, but it is better than the Harry Potter books. And I am a number 1 fan of the Harry Potter books and movies.

    I just read from Eragon, Eldest to Brisingr I couldn't put them down. I couldn't even think of picking up another book, I had to continue with Eragon and Saphira on there journey. I didn't even need to take a break, like I have done with other series. Once you start to read, that is all you can think about until you are able to pick up the book again and read more into the adventures.

    I just highly recommend this book to anyone, that loved the movie Eragon, loves dragons, or loves swords, knights, magic, elves and dwarfs.

    I can't wait to get the fourth book of the Inheritance Cycle. I need more.......That is how wonderful these books are. I can't believe that Christopher Paolini started to write these when he was 15. He is an amazing writer. The details are wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    I have not read an author in a long time who is so into his charactor(s); and I do not mean just one, but all! Eragon, Eldest, read smoothly and kept my interest throughout without losing the thought and trend of the story, however, I felt that Paolini struggled a little trying to get his thought together at the beginning of Brisingr. ..all in all,, EXCELLENT READING and I am very much looking forward to the fourth book publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    Eragon Eldest box set

    Eragon and Eldest are one of the BEST books I have ever read. Eragon describes the background of the thrilling series to come. Eragon ended so well that you wanted to continue to read the next book in the series. Eldest talks about how Eragon continues his Dragon Rider training, again Christopher Paolini ends the book in a tragic cliff hanger and made all his fans wait another year to get the newest book. Thanks to Barnes and Noble and their quick delivering service I had Brisingr as quick as possible. Now Paolini is one of the best writers but Barnes and Noble is the best seller of his books and many other things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    Awesome Story read it

    I found these books incredibly breataking. It kept me always wondering what was to come next. I recommend this to anyone who loves dragons and magic. absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AWSOME

    This is a great series. It is good for fantisizing our world and a great way to unwind. MY FAVORITE BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    to u who think this is plagarism

    some people out there fail to realize that elves are strong and tall, dwarfs are short stout and love stone and beer. eragon, eldest, and bringer are not copying any other book because it is a universal belief that elves are beautiful strong and tall and what i said about dwarfs. many other fantasy writers and just people who like the subject think so. i play world of warcraft and their characters are of similar description as those in these books, yet there is no comment against them. so i say what is your argument against some one who shares the beliefs of other on things that are said to be non-existent?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Good, but not perfect

    This series was good...i admit there are rip-offs from Stars Wars and LOTR, but many of it is original. I admit that there are flat characters 'Arya, Eragon'...but some characters are well rounded 'Murtagh, Roran'. Its not as good as Harry Potter, but overally its good. I admit its not perfect..but I am eagerly awaiting Brisingr, and I am counting the days. Read this book...but 'esp' if you are of LotR or StarWars fan...keep in mind its not perfect. Try and focus on the story itself, and try not to compare it. I loved this series, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Awsome

    I think the books are amazing and I don't really care if people think he copied someone else's work. And I don't like the stories because of how old the writer is either its because I love books about dragons and magic,etc.. Thats all I can really say because kids might read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    People really need to recognize plagarism

    I've read both Eragon and Eldest, and I have to say, this is the closest to plagarism a book can get without being illegal. The plot is almost exactly like that of the original Star Wars movies, and the world, Alagaesia, is practically stolen from Tolkien. Elves are beautiful, noble, wise, drawves are stout, hardworking, ect... there is a point when archetypal becomes stereotypical, and where stereotypical becomes a blatant lack of imagination or originality of any form. Had Mr. Paolini had to actually publish his work in the usual way, it would have been rejected without a backward glance. Please, folks... don't be blinded by his age... read real fantasy, like Lord of the Rings, Dragon Riders of Pern, heck, read the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer... all of those books are closer to true, genuine fantasy than this book will ever be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    SNORE!

    The first one I thought was okay. A little rip-offish on lord of the rings, but I've never been attatched to that series so it didn't bug me. I thought that it would be the lead into a great series though. Boy was I wrong!!! Eldest was just worse!!! It was incredibly boring and predictable. It was so stupid too, with the whole 'I don't want to kill the ants now'. Sheesh! I felt like I was trapped with a vegan who was trying to convince me not to drink milk or eat honey and would not shut up about it! And it just frustrated me sooooo much how Eragon was so incredibly stupid with that girl elf Aya or something I don't remember I read it a year ago and I've done my best to forget about it. But anyway, it was just like, dude she doesn't like you stop acting like an idiot. Such a waste of time and money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    CRAZY about these books

    My cousins tried and tried to get me interested in these books and when i looked at Eragon in the store i wasn't really into it.In need for a book i decided to try it. When i started to read it i got hooked on the magic and excitment. Now i have read both books several times and am waiting for the third book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11