Customer Reviews for

Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Companion to a Wonderful Series

I am in love with this. The artwork is stunning and is the perfect book to further feed Inheritance Cycle fans' imaginations.
Many reviews of this book say it is time wasted when Christopher should be writing the fourth installment of his series, but I disagree. Writi...
I am in love with this. The artwork is stunning and is the perfect book to further feed Inheritance Cycle fans' imaginations.
Many reviews of this book say it is time wasted when Christopher should be writing the fourth installment of his series, but I disagree. Writing the final book is easier said than done and I rather imagine he needed something to do during some inevitable writer's block sessions. I too am anxiously awaiting the final book but that does not mean THIS one is a waste of time. It is extremely fascinating and highly recommended just for fun.

posted by 2285001 on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

WHAT?

What is going on? First Mr. Paolini fakes us out by making the series a set of four books rather than a trilogy. I guess thats okay but what bugs me is WHY IS HE WASTING HIS TIME WITH A 32 PAGE "GUIDE" WHEN ALL WE WANT IS THE NEXT BOOK? I just do not understand the logi...
What is going on? First Mr. Paolini fakes us out by making the series a set of four books rather than a trilogy. I guess thats okay but what bugs me is WHY IS HE WASTING HIS TIME WITH A 32 PAGE "GUIDE" WHEN ALL WE WANT IS THE NEXT BOOK? I just do not understand the logic in this.

posted by i-ReadLotsOfBooks on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT?

    What is going on? First Mr. Paolini fakes us out by making the series a set of four books rather than a trilogy. I guess thats okay but what bugs me is WHY IS HE WASTING HIS TIME WITH A 32 PAGE "GUIDE" WHEN ALL WE WANT IS THE NEXT BOOK? I just do not understand the logic in this.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    Beautiful Companion to a Wonderful Series

    I am in love with this. The artwork is stunning and is the perfect book to further feed Inheritance Cycle fans' imaginations.
    Many reviews of this book say it is time wasted when Christopher should be writing the fourth installment of his series, but I disagree. Writing the final book is easier said than done and I rather imagine he needed something to do during some inevitable writer's block sessions. I too am anxiously awaiting the final book but that does not mean THIS one is a waste of time. It is extremely fascinating and highly recommended just for fun.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    View of an Inheritance Fan

    I have not bought this yet, but I have looked at it in person and I would love to own it. As not only do I find these books to be fun to look at and read, but because I am a HUGE Inheritance fan. And for those that said this is a waste of time and for Paolini to write faster really need to show a little respect. Writing a good book, or a good series at that which the Inheritance Cycle is, takes TIME. If you want the fourth book to be everything you were hoping for and to be a great read like the first three you need to be patient. I'd love to read the fourth book now, but I also know that writing takes time. And to say that Paolini tricked us by turning it into a Cycle after it was a Trilogy is a bit bold. I'm quite happy it's one book longer as that means I get another chance to read about these fantastic characters and it also spikes my curiosity as to all the things Paolini couldn't fit into three long books. If you are a true Inheritance Fan, you will understand the hard work Paolini is doing and wait patiently like the rest of us.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition to the Series

    I bought this for my 14-15 year old niece for Christmas. She is a huge Eragon fan. Needless to say she was thrilled! It will be a great addition to her Christopher Paolini collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An adult's view of Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia

    Beautifully written and illustrated! The book contains beautiful drawings, things to touch, see and feel in order to help the young reader to better understand and visualize Christopher Paolini's fantasy world of Alagaesia, written as seen through Eragon's eyes. "Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia" is also very informative and helps the young reader to both identify with and learn about the unusual people and characters dwelling within Alagaesia. This book is a marvelous companion to the book, "Eragon", and is a must for any young reader who wants to experience Eragon's Alagaesia beyond simply reading the book or seeing the movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    Some say Paolini shouldn't have written this and concentrated on the fourth book, but it helps understand what happens in various locations (ex. Ellesmera, Farthen Dur). The picture of Farthen Dur helped me the most!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Eragon's Alagaesia

    If you have read Christopher Paolini's other books about Eragon and Alagaesia, then this is a must to add to your collection. I can't wait for his next book to be out later this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Excellent addition to the Inheritance Cycle

    I have all the books and must say that anyone who likes those books will love this. This book descibes more in detail some of the things that people want to know more about. This book is a great addition to anyones collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    Great for younger Eragon fans (like the little brother of the one who read it and talked about it)

    This is a fun book for ERagon fans. I don't think there is much new knowledge you gain from it. I gave it to my 8 year old for Christmas. He loved it. I originally bought it for my 13 year old who loves the Eragon books, but decided it was too young for him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    This is a beautiful book. My grandsons were thrilled with it.

    I purchased 2 of these books, one for each of my grandsons who are Paolini fans. The book is beautiful and detailed. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    A well done companion book

    I purchased this book as a gift for a friend. I was so very pleased with the graphics and the contents - all the "hands on" applications within is great. It puts a face to many characters to make the story seem more real. My friend was so thrilled all she could say was, "this is so awesome!".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good referance book

    good book to use for and in referance to his other 3 books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Could have been better, but still worth having

    I was hoping that the writing and information would include a large amount of material that was not covered in the books. I was disappointed to find that most of the information was nothing that I didn't already know from reading the books. However, the artwork is great to have and the fold-outs and other extra items help make this book worth having. If you are a fan of the series then I would say that you should definitely purchase this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    searching for the end

    Fun, but where is the rest of the story. How long do we have to wait on news about the end of the story. I read them all on a suggestion of my son and now I have waited over a year to finish the story. please

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2