BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Erak's Ransom (Ranger's Apprentice Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 653 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(498)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and still awesome

This is the most recent book in this series (at least released in America) and it is just as good as the other 6 books in the series. It jumps back a tad from book 6 for the reason that there is a year or two that are missed between books 5 and 6. This book focuses on...
This is the most recent book in this series (at least released in America) and it is just as good as the other 6 books in the series. It jumps back a tad from book 6 for the reason that there is a year or two that are missed between books 5 and 6. This book focuses on Will's transformation from apprentice to a true ranger. He doesn't believe that he is ready for this big step and not ready to leave Halt. Through the book he learns that while he may still have things to learn he can do just fine on his own.

The characters in this book are just as vibrant as in the rest of the books. I picked this book up in the airport because I knew the other six books were awesome... I was not disappointed!

posted by Lover-of-Books on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Erak

It has Oberjarl Erak in it. Need I say more? Ps read this before book 5!

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    My 11 year old son who is an above average reader has absolutely loved this entire series. He has finesd all 7 books in leass than 2 month. He has already started reading book 8 and has book 9. he wants the entire series. Highly recommend for all young people. My son can't put them down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    in this book the oberjarl which is basically the king of scandia

    in this book the oberjarl which is basically the king of scandia is kidnapped by people in the desert. so will halt horace princess cassandra gilan and svengal to pay the ransom but it goes bad and erak is kidnapped by a differnent tribe so they have to cross the desert to find him. i liked the fact that it wasnt just that he was kidnapped once but twice and they have to go through all that trouble just to get him back. i didnt like some of the parts that were boring because i kept dozing off. i also do recomend it because it is pretty funny and a really exciting series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Should be book 5

    This happens before book five and after book four



    :)
    :(
    ;)
    ;(
    :D
    :C
    :-)
    :-(
    ;-)
    ;-(

    I like smiley faces. Click yes if you do to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Real confusing

    It says after an uneasy truce. The truce happended after he got the silver oak leaf. And now he's an apprentice again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    The missing link

    As pointed out by the author this take place between books 4 and 5 abd tells the story of his graduation. A smaller story but good none the less. Since I read books 5 & 6 already I knew everyone would come out ok but still a nice tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    A great series

    I have enjoyed each of the books in the Ranger's Apprentice series (currently on Number 10) and have enjoyed them. I appreciate the interaction between characters, especially the way the author treats the female characters. These are books I would highly recommend to young adult readers, yet I find them entertaining as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful - The best of them all!!

    If you have not yet read book 5 STOP and read this book as stated in the authors note he went back an d closed the gap between two important events this book really meets its expectations. In this book many interesting things happen including a marriage between the legendary ranger who led the forces to victory after the first encounter with Morgarath...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Out of place

    a great book. but followers of the series will agree that this book should of came two books ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Erak's Ransom by John Flanagan

    Erak's ransom was one of the best books that I have ever read. Even though the beginning is a little slow, if your patient, you will get to the action packed parts right away. This book has a lot and twists and turns so it keeps your heart racing. This is the 7th book of the series so don't read it unless you have read the other books. If you want to learn more about the adventures inside Erak's Ransom, you will have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Only love, trust, friendship, and courage will decide the day.

    "Erak's Ransom" describes in detail the events that took place between "The Battle for Skandia" (book #4) and "The Sorcerer of the North" (book #5). In "The Battle for Skandia," Will is an apprentice. Suddenly, in "The Sorcerer of the North" he is a full-fledged Ranger. In this book, John Flanagan strives to describe what happened to his characters in-between those monumental periods.

    The storyline of this book was very well constructed to allow the reader to understand the conflicting emotions and trials that an apprentice Ranger experiences just before they earn the right to graduate to a fully-fledged Ranger. Emotions flow deeply in the story as trusted and loved friends are lost and deep fears of incompetence force beloved characters to "rise to the occasion" and find a way to succeed despite their internal doubts. Only love, trust, friendship, and courage will decide the day in "Erak's Ransom."

    The Ranger Apprentice series is a well written series that flows through the experiences of lives of adults and teens alike that strive to find their place in a complicated world that promises happiness only through great moral bearing. Character development is deeply established while the storyline evolves over the series. Youth, young adults, and adults all will enjoy the action packed flow of the events as Will and his friends learn what makes a person more than just a simple title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Setting change from previous books

    I liked the setting change from the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Great read!

    Great read for young readers or those young at heart. Looking forward to the series continuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book in the series (READ BEFORE BOOKS 5 & 6)

    This is another great book about all the favorite characters. I just hate that is was out of order so you knew that they all would survive. Overall, great adventure!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Flanagan Never Misses!

    Will and Halt return again to find a new challenge. This story continues the series and cast of familiar character but allows the reader to explore a new land. If you liked the other books in this series you will also enjoy this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Exciting Read

    This book is an excellent addition to the Ranger's series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6