Customer Reviews for

Erak's Ransom (Ranger's Apprentice Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(495)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and still awesome

This is the most recent book in this series (at least released in America) and it is just as good as the other 6 books in the series. It jumps back a tad from book 6 for the reason that there is a year or two that are missed between books 5 and 6. This book focuses on...
This is the most recent book in this series (at least released in America) and it is just as good as the other 6 books in the series. It jumps back a tad from book 6 for the reason that there is a year or two that are missed between books 5 and 6. This book focuses on Will's transformation from apprentice to a true ranger. He doesn't believe that he is ready for this big step and not ready to leave Halt. Through the book he learns that while he may still have things to learn he can do just fine on his own.

The characters in this book are just as vibrant as in the rest of the books. I picked this book up in the airport because I knew the other six books were awesome... I was not disappointed!

posted by Lover-of-Books on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Erak

It has Oberjarl Erak in it. Need I say more? Ps read this before book 5!

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 661 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Will

    Wanna cookie? Fresh from the oven!?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    I love these books!

    Overall I love the books I read ,but these are my favorite ones yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Awsome book

    Greatexcitement and super fun book cant put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Ranger fan

    I loved this book! I loved all the vilonce in the book, mostly when someone gets shot in the gut with a grey-shafted arrow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Alessandra

    If only they would listen to us...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK

    It has suspense, action, wit, and my favorite part, different points of view so you can see the story from multiple perspectives. I really liked this book and you will too, though I recommend you read books 1-6 first, or this one could be a little tough to understand, as it references the other books

    10/10

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is a marculous work of ingenuity and creativity. It is sure to draw the reader into a different world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Flamestar to scourge

    No its not me. People tend to post as me and or use our clan name. Im sorry if the inposter caused trouble. Tell me where they r and ill sort it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Book

    Really good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book Takes Place Before #5

    This book takes us back before books 5 & 6. Erak gets captured and this brings the gang to the hot barren land of Arrida. I found it odd because if you don¿t read the authors note you would never know that it takes place before book 5. I didn¿t realize this until halfway through. The new characters introduced in this book are amazing and one of the parts I liked the best in the series happens in this book. This was a really quick and very worthwhile read. Any Ranger¿s Apprentice fan should continue on reading the series as it keeps getting better and better. Can¿t wait to read book 8.

    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    GET THIS THING Caleb Barrow

    I say you get this and the rest of the series type (The Rangers appertice on top picks ) so get this garbage okay. PEACE OUT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Hella Fresh

    Hella fresh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Different points of view.. and combat

    2 of the best things that can happen

    DID HAPPEN
    PLUS WILL SAVED THE DAY (>'_')> {KIRBY!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Warriors

    By erin hunter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

    If you have any questions about the rp, post them here and i'll get back to you ASAP?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Eraks ransom

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Awesome book!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Should be book 5

    This happens before book five and after book four



    :)
    :(
    ;)
    ;(
    :D
    :C
    :-)
    :-(
    ;-)
    ;-(

    I like smiley faces. Click yes if you do to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    COOL

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    This is not a book to disappoint. After skipping ahead to Will's

    This is not a book to disappoint. After skipping ahead to Will's years as a full Ranger, this is a well-needed addition to the series as it covers the insecurities of a young man facing the daunting steps from constant mentor-apprentice companionship to walking solo. We as readers are drawn in by prospect of an unknown future, and the doubts that we are truly ready for it. As we understand the depth of Will’s emotions and reservations, we travel with him as he proves to himself that he is ready to join the ranks of the Rangers.




    John Flanagan also brings back familiar and loveable characters. The new Oberjarl Erak, leader of the Skandians, is captured and held for ransom. Its ally, the kingdom of Araluen, sends its finest to retrieve him from the deserts of Arrida: Will, his mentor Halt, his friends Horace, Gilan, and Cassandra, and Erak’s helmsman Svengal. With this band, there is no lack of bravery, guts, and wise-cracking quips. And there is certainly no absence of side-wrenching laughter from readers.




    Four years later and I still read this book. John Flanagan continues to do a marvelous job with developing his characters and enhancing the world of "The Ranger's Apprentice." It’s a must read, and the series would never be the same without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 661 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34