Customer Reviews for

Eric

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great Book

    Read this book in 8th grade and it changed my views on life.Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book that will make you laugh and cry.

    I read this book years ago and still remember the story line and the emotions that it brought forth. It's wonderfully written and I really enjoyed it. It makes you stand back and realize that the things that come to us in life shouldn't be taken for granted as you read about this boy and his stuggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Fantastic book

    Eric..was a classic we had to read in 8th grade,after I read the first chapter I eneded up being at least three chapters ahead of our class.I could not place this book down for I was captivated by this mans courage and deterinmation to live a normal life.I often thought how much I would of liked to of met Eric and thanked him for the impact he made on my life.Often we go thru life complaining of the lil things that disturb us or make us uncomfortable but these patients who suffer and their families who endure it,makes our every day problems seem almost neal.Eric was a book I will never forget and after almost 25 years I remember every thing in the book,Doris Lund opened up her life for us all to have a glimpse into it and I thank her for that bravery,I know Eric is looking down from the heavens and smiling knowing his disease has helped many others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    INSPIRING

    This book makes you appreciate life. Eric's story inspired and fascinated me. His strength and courage is something everyone should read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Touching, and book for your spirit

    I'm not a reader, i coud count all the books i've read with my fingers, but this one, was so AMAZING, beautifuly written, I read the spanish version of it and adored it... bought some english versions to give to some friends as presents, and they all loved it, this' a book that'll help you appreciate and value what life gives you, I've had it for about 10 years now, and still keep it as a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Unbelieveable

    I actually cried when I read this book. I would only recommend it to people who dont get upset easily because this is an upsetting book but very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Eric

    This book has stayed with me for 22 years. I read it over the summer (required reading)right before I started high school. I am now ordering it for my 11 year old to read over the summer. It is a powerful, heart wrenching book. A truly wonderful read. You will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    HEARTBRAKING

    i read this book and almost cried i will never forget this book it is great and i am so glad i read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Heart Breaking

    I liked this book. I had to read a biography for school and trust me I picked the right one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Eric

    I first read this book when I was a teenager. It made such a wonderful impression on me. I truly felt as if I was in Eric's struggle with him. It was the first book that made me cry. I am 36 years old now and can't wait for my three children to be ready to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Powerful

    This is one of the first books I ordered while in high school (I am now 37)and have read it several times since. I recently reordered the book because mine 'gave out' from so many people reading it. This heart wrenching and heart warming story of a young man's will to survive shows how one persons life affects so many. A must read anytime you need to find stregnth, because if Eric and his family and friends can endure what they went through, we can endure just about anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    NOT AS GOOD AS EXPECTED

    All my friends told me that this was an unforgettable book, yet I cannot even now even remember any of the main events. This book moves very slowly, and some parts just seemed to drag on and on forever. And my friends told me that I was going to cry my eyes out, didn't really happen. I didn't feel connected to Eric. Doris was always talking about HER doing Eric's remission that I knew more about her than Eric! But, I think that Eric is still someone to look up to for his 'not giving up' attitude. I would still reccomend this to someone for a summer reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    very memorable

    This was the first 'grown up' book I read as a kid. I'm now 37 and I've never forgotten it. I will definitely make the book available for my kids to read when they are old enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    VERY TOUCHING

    The touching story of Eric will remain in my heart forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    ERIC

    A few months ago my grandmother was diagnosed with cancer. I picked up this book at my high school. We had to find a book that was 'biology' related and then write a book report on it. This book has truly changed my life. I didnt know all the struggles that cancer patients had to go through. I didnt know about all the sickness, or all the drugs. This book has truly taught me not to take things for granted. EVER. Thank you Doris Lund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    Excellent Book

    I read this book when it was first published all those years ago, and it has stuck with me ever since. I remember how the song 'Beginnings' by Chicago was Eric's favorite song. Great, great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Best Book Ever!

    I read this book when I was a teen. 20 years later and I still remember it all! I am now looking to buy it for my 18yr old daughter to read. It touched me like no other story ever to this day. Wonderful written story about a true life experience. Written like no other. I saw the movie many years ago and wish I could see it again. Would be great if it was on VHS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    I Shed a Tear for Every Page I Turned

    Eric was an unforgettable book. It was tragic and the story of a dying boys life, but it had some amazing aspects to it. Eric taught me about values, and living life to the best of my abilities, even when I think the world has caved in on me. You can only make life as bad as you want it to be, and you have the power to make life as good as you want it to be. Eric taught us this. Eric taught us how life should be lived in a perfect world. I'm using Erics way of living in my own world now, while I battle with melanoma, a form of skin cancer. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes to shed tears while reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    This Book Changed My Life!!!

    I first read this book when I was in junior high. It immediately became one of my all time favorite books. Over the years I read it over and over. Every time wishing more that I had a chance to meet Eric. When I was in College I was strugling with what to do with my life. It was while I was reading Eric again that it struck me that I wanted to do something that helps people like him. I decided to go into Blood Banking. The decision is one that I will always remember Eric for. Then about four years ago I experienced Lukemia first hand. A dear family member was struck ill with the disease. We lost her to the battle. So now my career choice has even more meaning. Thank you to Mrs. Lund for sharing your son with us. Read this book. It is amazing. You wont be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Encouragement

    This book has encouraged me to live life every day, as if I'll never see my family or friends again. Because of this book, I am considering majoring in something having to do with people who have leukemia. It is a strong disease that can overpower you in a blink. I would like to meet anyone who might be as wonderful as Eric Lund was. I truly respect Doris Lund for writing this book, and being an example to me, and other people as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2