Customer Reviews for

Ernie's Ark

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I could not put this book down. Each story, though connected, stands on its own and draws you further and further into the town of Abbott Falls. Kudos to the small Portland Me bookstore that helped me discover Monica Wood!

posted by 6367446 on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not happy about the language...

I was really enjoying the first chapter. Then, as soon as I started chapter two, the g-d word started. I can put up with a LOT, as far as language, but that one I CANNOT abide. There is no reason for it. I wish BN would warn the readers about language, as some of us...
I was really enjoying the first chapter. Then, as soon as I started chapter two, the g-d word started. I can put up with a LOT, as far as language, but that one I CANNOT abide. There is no reason for it. I wish BN would warn the readers about language, as some of us are sensitive to it and do not want to spend good money supporting disrespectful garbage like that. I am VERY disappointed.

posted by Grace_The_Gardener on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down. Each story, though connected, stands on its own and draws you further and further into the town of Abbott Falls. Kudos to the small Portland Me bookstore that helped me discover Monica Wood!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Not happy about the language...

    I was really enjoying the first chapter. Then, as soon as I started chapter two, the g-d word started. I can put up with a LOT, as far as language, but that one I CANNOT abide. There is no reason for it. I wish BN would warn the readers about language, as some of us are sensitive to it and do not want to spend good money supporting disrespectful garbage like that. I am VERY disappointed.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Just couldn't get into it

    I started this book and really lost the story line of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good, quick read

    I am not usually a fan of short stories, but the way these stories are all interwoven makes it and excellent, interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Check it out!

    This was a very moving, different book. Not at all what I expected, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. A quick read because it is hard to stop. Each chapter opens more interest in the characters. I may just have to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    This was a really great read. Highly recommend!!

    This was a really great read. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I've only read Ernie's Ark, the first story in this collection,

    I've only read Ernie's Ark, the first story in this collection, but it was a charming, enjoyable selection! I would purchase the book for first story alone! Then, if the other stories are as entertaining, what a bargain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I found it very hard to finish this book. I didn't realize that

    I found it very hard to finish this book. I didn't realize that the chapters were "short stories". When I finally got into a chapter, it would end and it seemed another book seem to begin. I always finish any book I start and I finished this one, but it took awhile. I have read over 15 books this summer and this was the most disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book

    I will be looking for more from Monica Wood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Interesting & Different

    This book really draws you in & holds you in it's
    grip. Very touching and also humorous.
    Wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    A really good read

    A kalideascope of characters around a single event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book

    I am a sucker for short stores and really liked this one as all of the stories were set in the same city/state and the characters were intertwined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    I liked this book

    It was interesting to see how different people reacted to the plant shutdown and how their lives interacted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Recommend it for light reading

    A good light book but I would have liked it better if it had been a little longer. Think the author could have expanded on the book. A touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Enjoyed to the end

    I picked this up because it was the Daily Find but really enjoyed it when I got into reading it. A story about a strike at a paper mill in Maine, it is interesting to follow all the different characters in the book and how their lives are intertwined. Not a long book but Wood is able to draw the reader in and keep them interested in all the characters, in how their lives are affected by the mill strike and the reactions of the other characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Worth Reading!

    This is a thought provoking, yet easy read. Ms Wood calls us to pay attention to all of our relatinships, regardless of the circumstances which we may or may not be able to do something about. I will read Ernie's Ark again; I highly recommend it study groups of any kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Excellent!

    This was, to me, a hard-to-put down little book! It does "preach" a little but is very subtle and has some good "lessons" in it that can apply to other things that just the ark that Ernie built in his back yard. A very moving novelette. It's a keeper and one I'll read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Great stand-alone stories, linked just enough so each one fleshe

    Great stand-alone stories, linked just enough so each one fleshes out the plot and characters of the others. Very enjoyable collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Nice, quick read

    Enjoyed the story of the town. Some of the characters were a bit flat though, but a nice before bed read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Difficult to put down.

    I love how the narration changes voice with each selection bringing new depth to the characters. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3