Customer Reviews for

Escape

Average Rating 3.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Review the book

When I check the reader reviews of a book, I expect to read a review of the book. I do not want to read more complaints about the price of Nook books. I know people are unhappy about the price of Nook books. Fine! Complain! But please do it in another venue and leave th...
When I check the reader reviews of a book, I expect to read a review of the book. I do not want to read more complaints about the price of Nook books. I know people are unhappy about the price of Nook books. Fine! Complain! But please do it in another venue and leave the review space for reviews of the book.

posted by NorafanCA on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Review the book

    When I check the reader reviews of a book, I expect to read a review of the book. I do not want to read more complaints about the price of Nook books. I know people are unhappy about the price of Nook books. Fine! Complain! But please do it in another venue and leave the review space for reviews of the book.

    34 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As with all of Barbara Delinsky tales, the characters are the heart and soul of the novel

    Thirty two years old Emily Aulenbach seems to be living a good life in New York. She loves her husband James deeply and is employed as a lawyer at a prestigious firm where she is highly regarded and her spouse will soon be a partner in his firm. Emily constantly reminds herself she is fortunate. Still as she keeps saying how lucky she is, she goes home and packs. Emily drives away not stopping until she reaches Bell Harbor, New Hampshire.--------------

    A decade ago while at college, she spends a wonderful summer there and became close friends with her Vicki Bell and her brother Jude whom she had a torrid relationship with until he cheated on her. Emily left; severing all ties with the Bell siblings. Now she tries to heal the wounds she caused Vickie. She is staying at Vicki's bed and breakfast while deciding about the rest of her life. She knows what she no longer wants to do, which is returning to the sterile, risk free and friendless life she had in NYC. However, James remains adamant about becoming a partner; a position hetoiled to achieve for years. Their marriage appears doomed.-------------------

    As with all of Barbara Delinsky tales, the characters are the heart and soul of the novel. Escape is no different as gutsy Emily holds the tale together with her desperate flight from Manhattan though she loves and adores James. Fans will root for the couple to find a way to stay together, but it looks doubtful as neither side has room for compromise. Although the climax is simple and realistic, this is a poignant look at lifestyles.--------------

    Harriet Klausner

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BOOK?

    Sadly, I tried to get an idea of what others think about this book and 11 of the 12 reviews were about the price. We get it! If you think it's too expensive, then don't but the book! Quit wasting my time and let us use this venue for its intended purpose.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could you walk away from the perfect life you thought you had created?

    Emily can't take another day of answering the phone, sitting in her cubicle, worrying about whether she is doing the right thing by her clients or if the dream she has been chasing has crumbled in her hands. She loves her husband but suspects he may be cheating on her, likes being a lawyer, but hates the type she is practicing and adores her parents but is tired of worrying that she is a disappointment to them.

    One day she decides she has had enough and drives away in her husband's car to figure out if the past is what is stopping her from loving the present and unable to work on a future. Emily reconnects with her college friend, which is yet another relationship she stopped nurturing and finds she cannot live without. But going back to a place that provided peace in the past and calm during the storm may turn out to be a nightmare if the reason she left this little slice of heaven shows up. Everyone has a secret they hold close to their heart and this one broke Emily's heart and she is not looking to repeat any mistakes when the man she is married to has fulfilled her expectations but keeping this secret from her husband is as sinful as the ones she is accusing him of.

    At some point Emily is going to have to face her husband and family, which is not going to be easy. She has to tell them why she ran away but still can't decide when she will be home or how she is going to mesh the life she wants with the life she has and still be able to afford to have a baby.

    The reward for Emily is the joy she receives every time she walks into The Rescue and sees all the animals that have faced much pain and misery than working too many hours and not getting enough sleep.

    Life is never the problem it is living the life that does you in. I bought this book with no idea what it was about because any Barbara Delinsky is a must buy on my list and never question that it will be great. However, this particulate book comes in a time when my life is a mess and what I want more than anything is to go someplace that will stop the craziness and calm my stress. The main character is like every other woman who does not want to throw the life she has away, she wants to make it work and just cannot figure out how. Her husband has his ideas, her parents another and work is what you do to pay for the life you have. This story will hit everyone that reads it regardless of your age because at some point we all want to hit the button that gets us off the bus and lets us walk for a while.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Great Delinsky

    This is by far one of my most favorite novels by her.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dull & Predictible

    If you enjoy the kind of drivel that Danielle Steele writes, then you will probably enjoy this book. If you prefer original plot lines and multiple-dimensional characters, then I recommend you find something else.

    I bought this as a mindless vacation read, and struggled to finish reading it because it was so mind-numbingly boring.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    It was O.k.

    The impression I got was the here were 2 hard working individuals and one wakes up suddenly unhappy with the life they created one day- thinking there must be more to the meaning of life. Very Eat, Pray, Love to me. I couldn't help but feel that Emily was a bit spoiled - even though she was made to have a difficult relationship with her father - and I can't even fathom just getting up and "running away " one day and my spouse being sort of ok with that.
    Aside from being chock full of grammatical and spelling errors, I found the story line to be fairly predictable and at times annoying in it's simplicity.
    This was my first work by Delinsky and it may very well be my last!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Escape From Complaining

    I would like to read a book review to learn about the book rather than Nook purchasers complaining about prices! Save it and go to another site, you are abusing this one. Review a book or get out!

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay Read

    I listened to this on audio and just could not get into it. Started off strong - woman needing to escape chaotic NYC life - but it struggled from there. The book was kind of repetitive. The story line with Leigh was interesting but definitely just a side story. Read some of Delinsky's other books like Family Tree or While My Sister Sleeps instead of this one.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    good book

    I just read 2 chapters and liked it, If the whole book is as good as the beginning then it willbe terrific,

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Recommend

    I usually like most of Barbara Delinsky's books but this is not one of my favorite ones. It wasn't as interesting as some of her other books that I have read. I would recommend it but not one of her better ones.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Not

    I have always loved her books but not this one. The whole story bored me. Cannot wait for next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blahhh

    I have read half of the book, just want to finish it because I pay for it. SO far, boring characters, same old escape story... Nothing exciting happening (petting cats, and NYC lawyer believing a coyote live in her, yeah right). Boring.... If its gonna get better???

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Worth reading

    I experianced this as an audiobook and really enjoyed it. The characters are well developed and the reader truly experiances their emotions and understands the struggles and growth each goes through even if they don't act/react typically.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Very enjoyable read

    I have always enjoyed Barbara Delinsky's writing and this novel was no exception it was a great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Thought provoking.

    This book can be tough going at times; it is not a quick read. When you finish, you have something to think about. It is one of those books you appreciate more after reading, than during the reading process. Regarding Nook. If price is your issue, use the library or go to second hand book stores. If your friend has a Nook, you can share books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Does life ever bring you to a point, that you are ready to escape? Then this is a must read for you!

    Have you ever woken up in a cold sweat thinking you're stuck in a life you don't want? Did you ever consider disappearing - leaving family, friends, even a spouse - ditching everything you've ever known and starting over again? Maybe, just maybe, even returning to an old lover?

    That's how Emily Aulenbach begins the story of her escape: escape from a workaholic husband she rarely sees, an overpriced New York City apartment that never feels like home, a job where profits, not people are the priority. She doesn't plan her escape; she just walks out of her cubicle, gets behind the wheel of her husband's BMW, shuts off her BlackBerry, and drives away.

    The one thing she can't escape is her past. Lately she's been getting letters from Jude, the fiercely independent man she loved in college. She thought they were soul mates, until she caught him cheating on her. Now she finds herself heading north, toward the New Hampshire town where she and Jude fell in love a decade ago. She doesn't care if she's making another wrong turn. She just knows she needs a new destination.

    My Review:

    In the latest novel by Barbara Delinsky, Escape, is the story we all wish for at different times in our life. Those times where everything reaches a boiling point and we feel completely overwhelmed. Emily acts on those feelings when the law firm she works for has her working more for the benefit of companies instead of the victims in the latest lawsuit over the health effects of drinking water. Feeling more empathy for the victims, she simply gets up and walks away after a very powerful conversation with a woman whose baby is going to have health problems for the rest of its life.

    She and her husband, James have been trying to have a baby for quite some time, and now their love life revolves around an ovulation clock instead of desire and need. When her and James studied law in school, their goals were to make a difference in the lives of people they would work for, but this isn't working for her. James is busy working to make partner this year and she never sees him anymore since he is working nights and weekends now.

    So getting in her husbands BMW, she heads to Bell Valley, a place where she has found peace back in her early childhood, where her best friend Vicki, still lives with her husband Rob, running the Red Fox Inn. Emily hasn't maintained contact with Vicki because she's been striving for success but now feels an overwhelming pull to come back to Bell Valley, back to old friends, back to the woods that can once again heal what's broken in her heart and in her life.

    I received this book compliments of Doubleday Publishers for my honest review and LOVED it. I spent the day reading it when my family gave me a day to myself. It had a healing effect on me as well because I got the opportunity to take a virtual vacation from my own life. I got to feel the calming presence of the walk in the deep, dark woods that Emily takes and sat by the bubbling brook listening to the sounds of the water. I can relate because I personally have felt that pressure of life come to the boiling point but this provides a safe outlet to see where a journey like that might lead. The conclusion of the story is beautiful! Rating this one a must read, I can easily say it earns a 5 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Barbara Delinsky ESCAPE Loved it...THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON- loved it!

    Escape is a very good book, and truly worth buying. All of the people griping about prices, don't do it here. This is for the true book lovers who want to see what others have to say. Anyhow, ESCAPE did just that, it allowed me to escape from my "hard nosed job" and all of society today. It was a great book that I highly recommend. THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON is a shockingly good book for a new author. I loved all the twists and surprising ending. Romance, intrigue, danger, love - perfect book to ESCAPE from life. Two of the better books I have read this summer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    GREATTTTT!!!!

    I loved ever minute of it. Its a good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Boring Book by this Author

    This book was so boring and the main character was so self-absorbed that I could barely finish it. How nice of her to just take off from her job and leave her husband! He was too nice about the whole thing. Predictable and nothing exciting happened, other than the Lee situation, which wasn't really that great.

    I was disappointed because I have read many of her books - and they were all very good.

    I will give her another chance with her next one. If you are a Delinksy fan, pass on this one and read: The Secret Between Us, While My Sister Sleeps and Not My Daughter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8