BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Escape

Average Rating 3.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Review the book

When I check the reader reviews of a book, I expect to read a review of the book. I do not want to read more complaints about the price of Nook books. I know people are unhappy about the price of Nook books. Fine! Complain! But please do it in another venue and leave th...
When I check the reader reviews of a book, I expect to read a review of the book. I do not want to read more complaints about the price of Nook books. I know people are unhappy about the price of Nook books. Fine! Complain! But please do it in another venue and leave the review space for reviews of the book.

posted by NorafanCA on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Really enjoyable

    This book was so easy to get into and so hard to put down. It made me think about the importance of slowing down or taking a break to figure out what is most important. Highly recommend if you like this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    One of her best

    If you like Delinsky, this isne of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    I thought this book was really good. The characters were fun, funny and really caught you up in their lives. Career, life and love issues all in one book, who could not be interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A good story line, interesting characters and I did not want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Take Me Away

    I have never read a Barbara Delinsky novel prior to this but from the minute I saw the cover and read an excerpt I was drawn to it.

    I think at one point or another everyone searches for an escape from their busy life. An escape from work, family, technology, friends, obligations. An escape from the reality of the real world.
    And the promise of escapefrom all of my daily routines were no exception- in fact it drew me to it in the first place.
    This was a great read! I will definitely read more of her novels..kept me up way to late reading, but worth it :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Interesting novel

    Barbara Delinsky is one of my favorite authors. I haven't finished Escape but I am enjoying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Painful

    I tried this book was painful to get thriugh. Generally love the author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    BookHounds

    Who hasn't thought about tossing everything and just running away? This story starts out simply enough with a Emily, a corporate lawyer in New York, realizing her life isn't what she thought it would be. She loves her husband and like being a lawyer, but finds herself more on the side of those she is supposed to be defending her client against. Emily decides she has had enough and simply walks out--on everything. She ends up driving until she discovers herself in a familiar setting where her best friend from college, Vicky Bell, lives and runs a bed and breakfast. She settles into a routine, helping Vicky out and volunteering at an animal shelter.

    There the story becomes a legal drama and something happens that I wasn't expecting. Yes, I did expect her to meet Jude, the guy who broke her heart and Vicky's brother, but I never expected the part where she comes to the defense of the B&B's baker, Lee. This is where the story really goes into legal thriller as she helps Lee defend herself against evil relatives in order to keep an inheritance. There were parts of the book where I though the plot was not going anywhere and then this drama unfolds and becomes a page turner. The last part of the book is worth sticking around for. Overall, a good summer read with a bit of drama and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    sick of people complaining about the prices!!!

    almost every e-book that i try to get a reader review about i see too many entries about the price of the book. i am getting sick and tired of it. i want to hear about the book, not about the price and i don't think this is the place to complain about it. if you don't like the prices don't buy it!! go to the library and save this space for those who wish to give there review on the book

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    (The problem has been resolved at Horseclan........ so I guess i

    (The problem has been resolved at Horseclan........ so I guess i don't need anything anymore!)

    (I was so surprised, yesterday I was at the library, and I found this book!!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    willowstar padded in, tail flicking.

    willowstar padded in, tail flicking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Escape

    Four star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Spottedpine

    Da<_>mnit.. i forgot about that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Mistyrose

    Well, Honestly, Darkwing, cause Stormflower broke the warrior code, and as in the books, would be scorned and not trusted. Its up to you though. And i had Sedge fall to give you a reason to appoint a new deputy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Great book.

    Highly recommend. Great charscters.exviting story. Hard to put down even two hours past bedime. Barbara DElinsky has become my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Chestnut

    -runs in panting-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Good read

    Barbara Delinsky keeps you interested in reading this from the very beginning. I did not was to put it down until I finished it. Good book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There have been times in my life when I wished I had a redo butt

    There have been times in my life when I wished I had a redo button. Circumstances of my life were not quite as I had envisioned. Such was the case with Emily Aulenbach.
    Synopsis:
    On the surface, Emily had a good life, married to a man she loves, nice home, nice car, decent salaries. But, Emily was unhappy with her life. Her job is very demanding, leaving little time for anything else. While cell phones, laptops, and other technology allow for constant connectivity, Emily feels alone and very much disconnected. This feeling leads Emily to her decision to &quot;escape&quot;. Emily's escape takes her to a place from her youth, and a more carefree time in her life.
    My Thoughts:
    Escape is the perfect book to while sitting in your favorite chair, with beverage and a snack. Emily's journey to find herself is very compassionate and at times a bit heart rending. Barbara Delinsky does an excellent job of developing her characters in this book. I found myself envisioning scenes of the story play out before me as I read. At times, I felt as if I was eavesdropping on private conversations of the characters. The characters are both believable and empathetic. The story line is evenly paced with just enough intrigue to keep my interest, but not so much that I was unable to sleep at night.
    Escape reminds its readers of the importance to &quot;escape&quot; from our own lives from time to time. Taking time for ourselves and reevaluating our priorities may be difficult in our fast paced, technology driven lives. However, taking time to reduce our stress levels and reconnect to what is really important in our lives is a necessary reality . By Celeste Thomas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Malley

    You know SHADE how matches light the FLAME

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    FABLAS ESCAPE REDONE CHAPTER ONE

    I raise my arms in defense. Crouching in a corner pleading. Tears stream down my face. I hear my own scrams and hear the slaps. I raise my hands and sit up. My chest heaves and my black hair sticks to my forhead. My undershirt is soaked with a cold sweat. I gasp. That dream......couldve been real......sure seemed real.......has been real.......but it wasnt this time. I pace the cool floors longing to share a bed with someone. Tonight I need a human presence near. My older sister Blihah( Biillie) would scoff and never let me in. seven year old Spade kicks. Callie is four amd someimes wets the bed and between her and a two year old girl( Carli) there is no room. I wish maybe for a second to fit in baby Peaches crib. I wish my favorite big sister Sunshine was still living here. But shs not. Her resourseful savings got her to college amd a job with nice clothes and high society. She got out of this he.llhlole. The rest of us bettef be as lucky . I think shrewdly. I pad down the stairs quietly. My socks muffle my footsteps. Ive decided sleeping with my brothers Barett amd Tucker wont do so instead i creep to the window seat in the living room. I see my mother has already left for work even though its so early in the morning the sun isnt even up. Work is the only place she can go. To escape my father. The reason she had so my children to protect herself. He wont be abusive if shes pegnant. He learned when I was born.
    I had a twin. Her name was Scarlett. We were both born deformed. I lived.....but with scars from it.I would be considered attractve with dark long waves and green eyes and an olivey skin. Like Dad. Yet this is how I imagine my dead twin whp I never knew due to her untimely death only mere days after birhth pretty amd unscathed. Unlike me with those many scars on my face and stomach and so forth. And the bruises of angry hands. Yet the most painful scars I bear are invisible. They are inside. A horrible hurt. They dont go away you know..
    Sl i am going to escape this place with my family. So stick arpund.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8