Customer Reviews for

Escape

Average Rating 4.5
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I had read Stolen Innocence so I was somewhat familiar with FDLS and was curious to see another viewpoint on the group. This book was so well written and so intriguing that I couldn't put it down. This woman's strength and courage are amazing. I am now reading her follow up book Triumph-Life After the Cult.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Likes to read true stories about courageous people

    Once you start this book, you will not want to put it down! It is heart wrenching to read in some chapters just because of all the abuse she suffered in that world, but to know that she escaped this awful place makes you rejoice at the end. I have difficult time thinking that in this day and age, cults like that exist. Ms. Jessop's strength was amazing as she went through this ordeal...I do not think I could have survived what she did. God bless her...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Incredible read. Opens your eyes to how easily the human mind can be manipulated and how one woman stood against beliefs for her and her children. HIGHLY recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Eye opening

    A very honest telling of what goes on within polygamis relationships. You will be shocked to learn about firsthand experiences. You will find yourself rooting for Carolyn and her children through it all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    American Taliban Alive and Well

    'Escape' is an amazing eye opener into American Polygamy, and more spellbinding than a fictional thriller. Reading this book will leave you breathless and wondering why these women aren't running away by the thousands. Carolyn Jessop reveals what has been hidden for decades in the Mormon Fundamentalist lifesyle, paving the way for freedom from the oppression of these women and children. Put this AWESOME book at the top of your must read soon list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Wow

    What an awesome story of determination. Wow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great book

    This book was eye opening and well written. It was shocking, sad, joyful, amazing. I cried with her in book, and held my breath for her at times. Overall a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Not Mormon

    FLDS IS NOT THE MORMON RELIGION. Do not get them mixed up. They are totally different. I'm sorry for what she went through and hope everything is better for and her children.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Great book!

    Buy it! You wont regreat it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Loved this book

    Loved this book. Helps me understand how horrible these women are treated by this insane cult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Carolyn Jessop was born into a life of servitude and abuse as a

    Carolyn Jessop was born into a life of servitude and abuse as a member of the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, or FLDS. The FLDS had originally broken off from the mainstream LDS church to continue the practice of polygamy. However, things became more extreme as time went on, and things like abuse or women and children soon became the norm. Carolyn dreamed of going to college and even becoming a doctor, but soon after graduating high school she found herself becoming the 3rd wife of a powerful member of the community. She's soon caught up in a vicious cycle of abuse from her husband and her sister-wives. Carolyn finally does the unthinkable and escapes with her 8 children. Her fight for freedom manages to help not only her immediate family but also many young people who were caught up in the traumas of the FLDS as well.




    As a member of the mainstream LDS church, this was a book I was very interested in reading. It was amazing to see how twisted and corrupt things quickly became within the FLDS. I also found it frightening what these people had to go through, specifically the women. Men fared much better (at least until Warren Jeffs began exerting his power). Carolyn was very lucky in some respects as she was allowed to get an education, even if it wasn't in the field she wanted to study. This put her in a much better position when she finally got out. It also allowed her to see that life didn't have to be like this. Carolyn's biggest struggle for a long time was the strength of her beliefs. When she felt so strongly that the things she was taught were true, she struggled with thoughts of leaving. Eventually her unhappiness overcame this though, and she was able to see with more clarity.




    This book was interesting to me from the start, and I read it very quickly. I did understand a lot of the ideas presented as they seemed to be very twisted versions of many pieces of LDS doctrine, but some of it was definitely things I had never heard of before. I wanted to be able to help her and other members who try to escape as they really can have a bleak future ahead. While this was a sad book in some respects, it also felt full of hope as it showed that things could get better. The saddest part for me was the decisions of her daughter Betty. This book is very interesting, and it will give you insight into the minds of at least some women involved in things like this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Loved it could not put it down...

    This book was a fantastic read! It gives an informative look into the abuses and power struggles brought up by practicing polygamy. It showed not only the power control the men have but also among the many wives. And their fight for the mans attention and the hurt of one another in the process to get it. I was able to see not only the physical abuses but the absolute mind control. And to see Carolyns thoughts as she finally has had enough and makes the choice to run. Great read could not put it down very interesting to learn about the inside of this cult. Looking forward to reading her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    I was really interested in the subject of this book, but the aut

    I was really interested in the subject of this book, but the author's writing ability and style leave much to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Iinteresting

    Very interesting book with excellent story. Poorly written. Author could have used some expert help as sentence structure etc is poor and keeps the book from flowing properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Great story!!

    I was rooting for her all the way. What she had to go through all due to her parents religion. It is a shame that these pedophiles could not be stopped sooner. It was educational in as far as the Mormon church goes. God bless her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Couln't Put it Down!! This is an amazing story about how one mot

    Couln't Put it Down!! This is an amazing story about how one mother
    refused to allow her children to have to deal with the hardships and
    abuse that she did within the FLDS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great story

    I truely enjoyed reading this book. It was well writen and I had a hard time putting it down. It had a ery nice ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    This was a very informative and interesting story.

    I would recommend this book to others interested in understanding religious extremists. This book is sensitively written to assist us in understanding those still in the Fundamental Church of the Latter Day Saints (FDLS).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    This is a very sad story of how women can be mistreated in the p

    This is a very sad story of how women can be mistreated in the polygamy world. However, it gives hope to those who still live in that world. I love the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I could NOT put this book down. Knowing that this was a work of non-fiction made my skin crawl---I have nothing but admiration and respect for Carolyn Jessop. What a story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15