Customer Reviews for

Escape

Average Rating 4.5
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I had read Stolen Innocence so I was somewhat familiar with FDLS and was curious to see another viewpoint on the group. This book was so well written and so intriguing that I couldn't put it down. This woman's strength and courage are amazing. I am now reading her follow up book Triumph-Life After the Cult.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Likes to read true stories about courageous people

    Once you start this book, you will not want to put it down! It is heart wrenching to read in some chapters just because of all the abuse she suffered in that world, but to know that she escaped this awful place makes you rejoice at the end. I have difficult time thinking that in this day and age, cults like that exist. Ms. Jessop's strength was amazing as she went through this ordeal...I do not think I could have survived what she did. God bless her...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Incredible read. Opens your eyes to how easily the human mind can be manipulated and how one woman stood against beliefs for her and her children. HIGHLY recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    American Taliban Alive and Well

    'Escape' is an amazing eye opener into American Polygamy, and more spellbinding than a fictional thriller. Reading this book will leave you breathless and wondering why these women aren't running away by the thousands. Carolyn Jessop reveals what has been hidden for decades in the Mormon Fundamentalist lifesyle, paving the way for freedom from the oppression of these women and children. Put this AWESOME book at the top of your must read soon list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Amazing Read

    I could not put this book down; Carolyn Jessop's story was so very inspiring and empowering. This is a subject I have always been interested in, and the detail in this book offered incredible insight into the FLDS culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Wow

    What an awesome story of determination. Wow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Great book!

    Buy it! You wont regreat it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Thank you!

    Carolyn, you are a personal heroine to me.
    Bless you.
    I can't remember the last time a story hit my heart like yours.
    I came from a long line of abuse, and want you to know, you speak for all of us.

    I've done a lot of healing, but the light you shed here was pure therapy.

    You held your head as high as you possibly could.
    What an example and inspiration.
    You are now part of my world.

    You people complaining about sentence structure... Go suck a rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Escape

    Excellent. I am drawn to all books on this subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    This book is absolutely fascinating and I couldn't put it down.

    This book is absolutely fascinating and I couldn't put it down.  It was such an expose' of the relationships between the women and the treatment of them and their children.  I found myself worrying for Carolyn and her children and some of the other women as well.  Carolyn has such courage!  It's an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Interesting and inspiring!

    A well-written book that provides an insider's perspective on life in the FLDS. I was intrigued by the stories of life inside and waited in suspense to read her courageous flight from the tortuous life she and children endured in the community. I think anyone would dind her bravery and motherhood motivating and worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Incredible!!!

    I found it a bit slow in the beginning but as i continued I was compelled to continue. What an incredibly shocking life style. How convenient the "Freedom of Religion" is to those who use it to manipulate and abuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Loved this book

    Loved this book. Helps me understand how horrible these women are treated by this insane cult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Carolyn Jessop was born into a life of servitude and abuse as a

    Carolyn Jessop was born into a life of servitude and abuse as a member of the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, or FLDS. The FLDS had originally broken off from the mainstream LDS church to continue the practice of polygamy. However, things became more extreme as time went on, and things like abuse or women and children soon became the norm. Carolyn dreamed of going to college and even becoming a doctor, but soon after graduating high school she found herself becoming the 3rd wife of a powerful member of the community. She's soon caught up in a vicious cycle of abuse from her husband and her sister-wives. Carolyn finally does the unthinkable and escapes with her 8 children. Her fight for freedom manages to help not only her immediate family but also many young people who were caught up in the traumas of the FLDS as well.




    As a member of the mainstream LDS church, this was a book I was very interested in reading. It was amazing to see how twisted and corrupt things quickly became within the FLDS. I also found it frightening what these people had to go through, specifically the women. Men fared much better (at least until Warren Jeffs began exerting his power). Carolyn was very lucky in some respects as she was allowed to get an education, even if it wasn't in the field she wanted to study. This put her in a much better position when she finally got out. It also allowed her to see that life didn't have to be like this. Carolyn's biggest struggle for a long time was the strength of her beliefs. When she felt so strongly that the things she was taught were true, she struggled with thoughts of leaving. Eventually her unhappiness overcame this though, and she was able to see with more clarity.




    This book was interesting to me from the start, and I read it very quickly. I did understand a lot of the ideas presented as they seemed to be very twisted versions of many pieces of LDS doctrine, but some of it was definitely things I had never heard of before. I wanted to be able to help her and other members who try to escape as they really can have a bleak future ahead. While this was a sad book in some respects, it also felt full of hope as it showed that things could get better. The saddest part for me was the decisions of her daughter Betty. This book is very interesting, and it will give you insight into the minds of at least some women involved in things like this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Great story!!

    I was rooting for her all the way. What she had to go through all due to her parents religion. It is a shame that these pedophiles could not be stopped sooner. It was educational in as far as the Mormon church goes. God bless her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Couln't Put it Down!! This is an amazing story about how one mot

    Couln't Put it Down!! This is an amazing story about how one mother
    refused to allow her children to have to deal with the hardships and
    abuse that she did within the FLDS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great story

    I truely enjoyed reading this book. It was well writen and I had a hard time putting it down. It had a ery nice ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    This is a very sad story of how women can be mistreated in the p

    This is a very sad story of how women can be mistreated in the polygamy world. However, it gives hope to those who still live in that world. I love the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    5 stars!!

    What a crazy and amazing story! Carolyn is a survivor and this book details all of the unbelievable nonsense she went through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievable and Inspiring

    "'Escape' by Carolyn Jessop is the true account of one woman's life in the FLDS (Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints), a radically conservative polygamist sect of the Mormon church - and the story of how she eventually escaped with her eight children. Carolyn relates what her life was like growing up in the FLDS, and through her experience we see how drastically the church changed once power shifted from prophet to prophet - and how it became unbearable under the leadership of Warren Jeffs. By this time, Carolyn had already been married and become a mother; when she was eighteen years old, she became the fourth wife of Merril Jessop - a man more than twice her own age. ..."

    For full review, please visit me (Les Livres) on Blogger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10