BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Island III: Escape

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Amazing

    Perfect for all ages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Best Book

    Island: Book 3: Escape by Gordon Korman was his third and last book of his island trilogy. It is a great adventure story . I chose it because I love adventure stories like this.
    This story takes place in a more modern time. The main characters in this novel were Luke, Ian, Will, Charla, J.J. and Lyssa. They are stranded on a deserted, uncharted island in the middle of the ocean. They are out looking for rescue but instead get unwanted visitors that they don't want to encounter. It could mean life or death. Trying to escape was their only thought or just being rescued, whatever could happen to get them out of there. Finally, an opportunity appears that would end up in a way that was very unexpected. The theme of this book is "teamwork can go a long way".
    I like all of the characters in the book. I like J.J. because he thinks the whole thing is a hoax. He's pretty comical throughout the story. The rest of the characters are very tough-skinned. They are very strong, mentally and physically. The ending is the best ending that I've ever read in a novel. I was very surprised. It was a very unexpected and suspenseful ending. I could not stop reading it and the pages just flew by. I learned that teamwork can help you a lot. It can keep you mentally sane so you can survive if you are in a situation like that. Friendship is the same way. I definitely cannot give this compelling story a bad comment at all. It was a very well rounded, entertaining story. The book was very time consuming.
    This book, and the books prior to it in the series, was the best books I've ever read. I think anyone would love this story, especially people that like adventure and suspense stories. I give this novel its highest rating, five stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Kid appropriate?

    Plz tell me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Best book in the series!

    Omg! This is the book in the series when they get the bullet out of wills leg, JJ gets kidnapped, and the kids get rescued by the army more stuff happens but to find that stuff out, read the book!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Wow!

    I loved these books!!! They were amazing! When I finished the third book, I put it down in total disappointment that it was over. I can most relate to Ian, always being the youngest, and a total know-it-all. But my favorite character was always Luke. My favorite part was when he did the surgery on Will and fainted afterwards. But the whole series was so good. I think anyone could enjoy these books. I know adults who love them. Korman did a great job with these, building up a feeling for all the characters. All six kids were probably changed for life by that experience, even the oh so immature J.J. when he went with the smugglers. The whole scenario was great. I recommend this series to anyone who likes adventure and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    People who like a good mystery would definitely like this book. The name of this fiction book is Escape by Gordan Korman. It is the third book in Korman's 'Island series.' Escape is about six kids stranded on a desert island near Guam. They each did something bad to get themselves sent half way across the world. The story started on day 16 trapped on the island which is near Guam. The main characters take a bullet out of Will's leg and they find an atomic bomb. They do not run into any big problems except that they're trapped on a desert island. My favorite person is will because he went crazy and is lazy like me. I could relate to Will and Lyssa because my sister and I fight but not as bad as Will and Lyssa did in all three of Korman's books. I have never done anything like the characters in this book. My connection is text-to-self. The characters being trapped on the desert island reminded me of when I was trapped in my car, and the alarm was going off. My favorite part is when Luke did surgery on Will's leg. I did not have a least favorite part of he book. If I could change one thing I would change Rat-face leaving the boat. People who are ages 8-14 would like this fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    The Conclusion

    The last book of the Island trilogy does not disappoint! With ruthless smugglers and an atomic bomb thrown into the mix, the six castaways have even more trouble to deal with. Will's gunshot wound is getting steadily worse, with no rescue in sight. It will take a potentially deadly plan and some great teamwork if the castaways are to ever escape the island! Full of humor, suspense, and realistic characters, with a heartstopping climax and an awesome ending. Gordon Korman did a great job of wrapping this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Excellent Book!!

    The whole series of this book is GREAT!! I reccomend it for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    A GREAT book

    I abseloutly LOVED this book. All loose ends were being closed up, and the detail was just amazing. Each character had a different personality that you could relate with. All of the characters matured more, even JJ, in his little adventure with the smugglers. A GREAT book, i recommend it highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    This book was AWESOME

    Island, Book Three In this book, the smugglers are closing in on the kids, Luke, Charla, Will, Lyssa, J.J., and Ian. The kids aren¿t alone on their desert island. They need to escape before their enemies find out they¿re on the island. They send out S.O.S. signals, but it doesn¿t help. They are stranded on an uncharted island. Will they be saved in time? Will they be captured? Read the book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    An OUTSTANDING Book!!!

    I encourage you to follow the story of four kids in their adventure of being shipwrecked on a deserted island, or so they thought that is was deserted...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Island: Escape Gives a Wave of Excitment

    I read all three Island books and thougt they were amazing. Gordon Korman has grabed the reader from the begining and brought them to a world of tention and excitment. The characters are all so diffrent making the plot as if it was written from one of the victems veiw. If I were in charge of the Newbery Award I would give it to the Island triogy without hesitation. And if I were a director I would put millons of dollors to make this book into a movie and to see it.(Not kidding!)I would recomend it to anyone who is ready for a LOT of time taken up by reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    An AWESOME Adventurous series

    Everyone must read this book!You dont know what is going to happen next.I did'nt like to read as much as i do now.I read the first book then I read the second and I loved those so much that I read the third book in 2 days.It is so interesting.I want the other series to.I hope Gordon Korman makes a lot of these series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    This is the best

    I read all three island books in 1 day. i couldnt put it down. the end was funny. Read all three books. you wont be able to put it down. Trust me:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Best book I've ever read!

    This book is awsome! I read it in 1 day1 I was so excited to see what would happen. The relationship between them all is amazing! And when J.J. hears his dad on the on the phone crying about knowing that he's ok and when they all get rescued made me get all choked up! These books are awesome and they have real life problems in it. Gordon Korman certainly dosn't sugar coat the ruffness of the island. I can't express just how much I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    Breath taking

    It was really breath taking in the first, second, and third book of the Island. I have the all of the three books and I read them every day. I wish there was more about the Island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2001

    Awsome!

    All Right! I have been waiting for this book to come out for so long! Yes! I can't wait to get it. Too bad this one is the last book of the Island books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2