BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Escape (Butch Karp Series #20)

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Oh No! Not This Same Old Plot

    How many more writers are going to beat the heck out of this topic? Got as far as the first chapter. Found another book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A book too far. Unpickupable. 100 pages too long.

    This time Marlene is not involved until the denouement and the tale suffers from her absence.
    The plot is barely believable and the criminals are criminally and laughably over the top. Dime novel escapes and rugged manly virtues ascribed to the heroes; a certain flightiness and bravura to Lucy without the normal leavening of introspection and self awareness.

    Tannenbaum has done a 'Burton' with this millstone and has given his sententious preachiness full throttle. I felt like I needed a brain rinse. I have experienced the same thing from a variety of authors ...Alistair Maclean via James Patterson to Clive Cussler. John Sandford seems to have avoided it so far.
    Thank you for a good two decade ride Mr Tannenbaum. Now go and reinvent yourself because you know deep down that this book is a blot on your writing landscape.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Continued good reading

    Like the continuing story of the family. It is good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    great escapism

    saturday afternoon, rainy and chores are done...great characters, family dynamics in the middle of action adventure - good guys vs bad guys and they are really bad guys......loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    EXCELLENT

    Tannenbaum's books never disappoint me. This one was a real "could not put down" until finished book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Karp family is starting to get a bit boring

    Tanenbaum's newest offering proves that you can have too much of a good thing. The main benefit of this book is, I think, to Robert Tanenbaum's bank account. Marlene is taking on terrorism again with her father, kids and the denizens of New York's underground. These plot themes become increasingly improbable and leave me looking forward to this month's new release from Lee Child. I think I've just read my last book by this author unless Barnes & Noble chooses to start stocking his earliest offerings again.
    If you're looking for something escapist which will take you a while to plod through this is a good book. But it's definitely not literature (doesn't even pretend to be), it's not a compelling adventure and the characters are increasingly difficult to identify with or have empathy for.
    Read John Lescroart instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Another Excellent Book

    Robert Tanenbaum will most certainly please his fans once again. I am anxiously awaiting the next adventure of Butch Karp and clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Crazy cast of characters discovered all over NY. Mental health needs to get out more.

    This book was a fun book in so far as the characters,and I do mean
    characters,that make up the "fun" part of the book. It was very topical
    in dealing with Post menaupausal disease and how is used as a defense
    against murder and as an insanity plea. (you may recall the Houston housewife who used this defense). The District Attorney and his
    family have appeared in other Tanenbaum books and they provide the reader
    with a wealth of side and sub plots and other machinations, that keeps the story moving in a very enjoyable pace. As horrible as the central
    issue is, the murder of three young children by a distraught mother, the
    crime is dealt with in a very professional manner and the principals are
    very reaalistically protrayed. I highly recommend this book. It is a quick read. Some very interesting issues and some very surprising and
    unexpected developments occur along the crooked path to justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Tanenbaum has created the perfect summer thriller.

    Tanenbaum has created the perfect summer thriller. A shadowy WASPish group, together with an even more shadowy Islamic terrorist cell conspire to change the world as we know it. Aided by former Harlem gangsters and a Chechen amazon warrior the plan cannot fail. Of course on the othe rside we have the courageous District Attorney Butch Karp, and his private eye wife Marlene and their twins, his daughter Lucy, an undercover translator, his memory-impaired father-in-law and a baker who survived the Nazi death camps to produce the 'finest cherry cheese coffee cake in the five boroughs.' If that weren't enough they are aided by a couple of saints-one Christian and the other Muslim. In spite of the fact it sounds a bit like Mom and Dad Save the World, and the outcome is never in doubt, it is cleverly plotted and thoroughly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    fast-paced thriller

    New York District Attorney Butch knows the world is watching because whenever a mother kills their young, the homicide becomes headline news. The mother in this case, NYU Political Science Professor Jessica Campbell has some notoriety for her protests starting in 2001 with chaining herself and her three year old daughter Hillary to the gates of Trinity Church. Her defense for killing her three preadolescent kids (Hillary, Chelsea and Benjamin) is the God order insanity plea that he directed her to 'send her three children to Him'. Karp has to prove she knew what she was doing in spite of her claim and the public¿s general belief that the murdering of an offspring denotes insanity.--------------- At the same Butch mounts the prosecution¿s case, Islamic terrorist The Sheik has trained an American jihadist unit all willing to die for Allah to deliver a major terrorist attack on Manhattan that would cripple the global economy. Butch his still somewhat shook wife Marlene Ciampi, their daughter Lucy and a few other dedicated people try to prevent the planned tragedy. ------------ ESCAPE is a fast-paced thriller that obviously moves on two subplots with the connection tenuous through the Professor¿s admiration of Islamic extremists willing to suicide for their belief in Allah. The legal case re the prosecution challenging the defense¿s insanity plea is well done, fun to follow and fits the role of Butch. On the other hand a band of superheroes led by Butch and Marlene against dedicated terrorists seems off kilter as one wonders where NYPD, Homeland Security, and the Defense Department are with so much at stake. Still this is an exciting tale if you let your imagination accept a DA and his team as professional field counterterrorists.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Dirty Warren Rules!

    The last few RKT novels have been disappointing to me. Escape has been a long, tedious challenge. So many times I picked up the book and wondered if I could take any more of the seemingly endless background discussions of characters and their history, etc. The real low here is the low profile given Marlene who, to me, has been the driving force of this series. Without Marlene's antics this novel falls flat on it's face. Even Dirty Warren gets more face time here (how much of DW's gibberish is the reader expected to withstand?). Based upon the last few novels this series has run out of steam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1