Customer Reviews for

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, Amazing, So Amazingly Awesome!!!

This book is five stars all the way! My langauge arts teachers read this aloud to us at school and I absolutely loved it! Very quirky, funny and well written, with expertly dropped hints and clues for readers to puzzle out on their own.
When seventh grader Kyle Keeley ...
This book is five stars all the way! My langauge arts teachers read this aloud to us at school and I absolutely loved it! Very quirky, funny and well written, with expertly dropped hints and clues for readers to puzzle out on their own.
When seventh grader Kyle Keeley hears about the new library opening up in his hometown of Alexandria, Ohio, he is not very impressed. In fact, he decides not to enter the library lock-in essay contest at all- until his best friend Akimi mentions that Luigi Lemoncello, Kyle's favorite game creator, is behind the new library. Then, Kyle hurries to scramble up an essay to win the contest. The contest: the twelve students who write the best essays get to spend the night in Mr. Lemoncello's library. And when Kyle and Akimi are two of the twelve students selected, they're in for an adventure worthy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and A Night In the Muesum. Because when they wake up, the doors out of the library are locked. What follows is a super fun contest of wits, as Kyle, Akimi, and ten other seventh graders scramble to find the clues and piece them together to try and find the way out of the library.
I think the best part of reading this book was afterward we had a skype session with the author! We had a contest in my class similar to the contest in the book: We had to write an essay saying why we should be able to talk to the author. Twelve students were selected to be pulled out of class to Skype with Chris Grabenstein himself! I was pleasantly surprised to be selected as one of the students to talk to Mr. Grabenstein as I am a huge fan of this book! I would recommend this to anyone, especially fans of reading mystery books! Even if you don't think you will like it, just pick it up and try!

posted by 1620608 on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I luv it

I read this book because my teacher read it to us and i thought it was really funny. :)

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Amazing, Amazing, So Amazingly Awesome!!!

    This book is five stars all the way! My langauge arts teachers read this aloud to us at school and I absolutely loved it! Very quirky, funny and well written, with expertly dropped hints and clues for readers to puzzle out on their own.
    When seventh grader Kyle Keeley hears about the new library opening up in his hometown of Alexandria, Ohio, he is not very impressed. In fact, he decides not to enter the library lock-in essay contest at all- until his best friend Akimi mentions that Luigi Lemoncello, Kyle's favorite game creator, is behind the new library. Then, Kyle hurries to scramble up an essay to win the contest. The contest: the twelve students who write the best essays get to spend the night in Mr. Lemoncello's library. And when Kyle and Akimi are two of the twelve students selected, they're in for an adventure worthy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and A Night In the Muesum. Because when they wake up, the doors out of the library are locked. What follows is a super fun contest of wits, as Kyle, Akimi, and ten other seventh graders scramble to find the clues and piece them together to try and find the way out of the library.
    I think the best part of reading this book was afterward we had a skype session with the author! We had a contest in my class similar to the contest in the book: We had to write an essay saying why we should be able to talk to the author. Twelve students were selected to be pulled out of class to Skype with Chris Grabenstein himself! I was pleasantly surprised to be selected as one of the students to talk to Mr. Grabenstein as I am a huge fan of this book! I would recommend this to anyone, especially fans of reading mystery books! Even if you don't think you will like it, just pick it up and try!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Amazing!

    If you liked the story 'The Candymakers', and if you just happen to have a love for books, then this amazing story is for you.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    My teachers reading this aloud to us and it is soooooo good!

    You should definitely read this

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Awesome book!

    Great book with lots of suspense!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Chris Grabenstein has done it again. This book is aimed at young

    Chris Grabenstein has done it again. This book is aimed at younger readers (YA in library jargon) yet the books works at all levels for an adult reader. Mr. Lemoncello has built and designed a library for the children of his hometown. Working with books and technology it is a very unique place. There are holograms and a "wonder dome", flat screen tvs and computers. When there is a challenge for the 7th grade class to be the first to visit the library a small group wins time in the library. The twist is that they can get in, but it is much harder to get out. The one who does win also gets some amazing prizes.

    Kyle Keeley enters and wins along with several other 7th graders. There are puzzles and scavenger hunts and a very strict set of rules.

    I loved this book and plan on reading it again soon. The first time through i was hurrying to follow the clues so need to spend some time savoring the writing that defines Chris Grabenstein.

    Much as I love his Ceepak books I must admit, I also look forward to his books for younger readers almost as much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    To sooooo good

    I am a game lover not a book lover

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Looks Good!

    OMG! This looks so good!<3:);)

    ~Cameron

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I haven't read this yet, but his other books are amazing and ful

    I haven't read this yet, but his other books are amazing and full of details and awesome events, so I bet this'll be awesome as well. Plus, he's been writing this for a while and even had contests in which people could be characters in his book. The contest was two years ago, so he must have been writing it very detailed and with really good mysteries to figure out.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Mr lemoncellos libary

    It is like a night in a musem but better

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Awesomme

    I am reading it right now for a book club at a library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an AMAZING book and didnt want to put it down. I totally hope that there will be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    FIVE STARS

    This book was very fun and intresting. I loved it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Anonymous

    I LOVE this book. I would defenetely recomend it to any one who like libraries, reading , and board/video games . It kept me to the edge of my seat and I wished I could make myself ink and go to that library it sounds like the kind of place I would never want to leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    5 STAR BOOK MUST READ!

    Great book if you like night at the museum and charlie and the chocolate factory. Good for young readers that love adventure and mystery books! I think it was great book that i read in a quick 1 day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Love

    I love this book d my friend loves it too. You should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    SUNSHINE STATE BOOK

    I REALLY WANT TRY THIS BUT I HAVE TO READ ANOTHER THOUSAND BOOKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    You would think its bad...

    I luv this book SO much! Except it's ten freakin' bucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Best Book Ever!

    Best Book Ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Awesome

    I have not read it, but I will next month for my library's Book Worms Book Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    _

    one of the most creative books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2