Customer Reviews for

Escape from Slavery: The True Story of My Ten Years in Captivity and My Journey to Freedom in America

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    This is a book everyone should read. Mr. Bok's story is as inspi

    This is a book everyone should read. Mr. Bok's story is as inspiring as it is incredible. I will never forget his father's words to his small son, words that would help him persevere through his ten years of slavery and eventually escape from his northern Sudanese captors: "You are never one, you are always two." Because of his faith in God, Mr. Bok knew he was never alone and was given the strength to risk everything by running from his captors and eventually settling in America thanks to the United Nations. Sudan is now two countries, but the conflict there is not over, and neither is the centuries-old practice of abducting children as slaves. As hard as it is to believe that slavery could still exist in the twenty-first century, Mr. Bok's story is proof that it does. The West must do all it can to stop this horrible, demeaning, and dehumanizing practice. But first we must be made aware of it. Thanks to Mr. Francis Bok, with assistance from Mr. Edward Tivnan, we now can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    A painful testament to modern-day slavery

    Mr. Bok begins his disturbing and moving testimony with the raid on his village market in his home country of Sudan by Arabs seeking to enslave the Christian black Africans of the Dinka tribe. The adults were slaughtered and the children taken for forced labor, to be the slaves of wealthy Muslim Arabs in the north. In May of 1986, at the age of only seven, he was forced into a lonely and painful servitude, separated from his family forever, during which he was subjected to beatings and unbelievable subjugation at the hands of his supremacist masters. After ten years of slavery and two failed attempts at escape he finally broke free, making his way to relative safety only to be imprisoned again for speaking the truth about his story and the horrors he witnessed. After spending seven months on a dirty prison floor he was released, warned not to speak of the issue again. Refusing to be silenced by the Sudanese government who sanctioned the widespread atrocities, with the help of God he fled to America in 1999 where he reluctantly but quickly became an iconic figure in disclosing the truth about the genocide in Sudan and fighting slavery around the world. His words depicting the little-known truth of this abomination, created by the Islamofascist movement in his home country that forcefully silences such disclosure, have touched a sensitive nerve here in the US where the reality of terror and the great threat of radical Islam has also been recently experienced. He has spoken at the White House and before the Senate, on television and radio, in front of audiences large and small, boldly telling his eye-opening story to all, facing and refuting his critics who attempt to cover up the disturbing truth of what has become known as the epitome of modern-day slavery, a horror once thought abolished forever. May his quest to one day return to a free Sudan be blessed and the mission of all anti-slavery groups be fulfilled. This book is an absolute must-read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    One Amazing Man

    Francis Bok wrote this story in a way that made it possible to enjoy reading about such a horrific time in his life, that it almost makes you feel guilty for liking it so much. He also writes with such detail that it made me feel like I was right there watching him and wanting to help him.This book was very hard to read, but I believe it was definitely worth it. I think anyone who can really handle the truth about the evil in our world should read this book for the knowledge and enlightenment you will gain. Francis Bok is such an Amazing man I respect him so much for now dedicating his life to help others in the same situation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    Up from Jihad

    The cruelty that Francis Bok experienced at age seven defies civilized human conception. One day in 1986, his mother Marial sent him to Nyamlell¿s market from their Southern Sudan Dinka village of Gourion to sell eggs and peanuts. His father Pial Bol Buk had recently called Francis 'Muycharko' -- ¿like twelve men.¿ He would be successful and achieve something important. Eventually, his father¿s hope proved prophetic. But in 1986 Francis could count to no more than ten and still played alweth and Madallah -- Dinka hide-and-seek and cricket. His mother sent older friends to supervise his first independent market trip. The Catholic boy nicknamed Piol, for rain, that day lost his childhood and world to the murahaliin. After torching the nearby villages and slaying their inhabitants, 20 light-skinned Juur horsemen charged into Nyamlell. They severed the heads of all Dinka men with single sword strokes, left them rolling in the blood-soaked market dust and stole Piol¿s older friends Abuk, Kwol and Nyabol. A rifleman permanently silenced a crying girl with a bullet to her head. A swordsman more ¿mercifully¿ sliced off her sister¿s leg at the thigh like the branch of a small tree. Francis tried to flee. Terror squelched his cries. He was halted at gunpoint, grabbed and slung astride a small saddle, crafted specifically (as he later recognized) to carry abducted children, and ridden far north. After President Bush signed the toughened Sudan Peace Act on October 18, 2002, Americans became increasingly aware of Islamist Sudan¿s government support for mass enslavement and genocide of Southern Sudanese Christians and animists. But few have noted that Francis Bok¿s experience--and the ongoing Arab and Muslim genocide against 2 million Southern Sudanese Dinka--are merely modern manifestations of Islamic Jihad tradition established by Islamic jurists and rulers--from the Caliphs to the Ottomans, to current-day tyrants like Sudan¿s Hasan at-Turabi. ¿Jihad,¿ wrote Rashad Ali in Khilafah Magazine in December 2001, ¿is the removal of obstacles, by force if necessary, that stand between people and Islam.¿ He terms this violent Jihad the practical means of spreading Islam, and pronounces it compulsory to all Muslims. It is also, he writes, ¿continuous and will always be so.¿ Francis Bok recognized in his treatment a kind of systematic, institutionalized cruelty. He was beaten, forced to tend and sleep with animals, fed rotting meat, and cursed as a jedut¿maggot¿even after his master pressed a Muslim name and prayers upon him. Abdul Rahman ironically means ¿servant of the compassionate one.¿ But there was not one second of compassion during Bok¿s 10 years of captivity, although he was one of the lucky ones. He many times tried to escape, and failed. His penalties were mere beatings. Other Dinka escapees routinely lost their limbs when recaptured. Giemma Abdullah threatened the same; Bok didn¿t believe him, until he saw other Dinkas, limbless. Finally, at 17, Francis Bok took the cows one morning, and from the road near their grazing area ran all the way to Mutari. After further privations and imprisonments, Bok finally hid in a truck en route to ed-Da¿ein, fled to Khartoum, to Cairo, and as a refugee, in 1999, to the U.S. He landed in the U.S. poor, illiterate, and 20. But as Bok quite naturally also admits, he was like all Jihad's victims, unaware of the institution¿s name, much less its history. During 10 long years of enslavement by Giemma Abdullah in Kerio, Bok learned soon enough that the Arabic word abeed carried three meanings--slave,¿ ¿black¿ and ¿filth.¿ Half his lifetime among Muslims taught him that they considered themselves better than Southern Sudanese infidels. But this hardly educated him on the jihad institution to which his 20th century captors and masters subjected him. He did not recognize himself as an inferior, non-Muslim dhimmi. As Bok later learned, however, the privations he suffered track those exper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    A Heart piercing story

    Excellent read, with a lesson even more powerful than expressed in the Title. This book waste no time in capturing your heart with its passionate detail and moving message. It is filled with unimaginable hurdles that were conquered through faith and persistance. A modern day hero's tale. My heart was truly pounding as I read each chapter, especially the early chapters set in Africa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Inspiring!!

    As I go through the internet search I come across this title of a book that I have read through and found motivational, given the fact that it was a first hand experience of the writer I find it motivational and inspiring to read through. I'm a Kenyan Luo by tribe I have a lot of interest on measures of ending the conflict in Southern Sudan, I feel so close to Sudanese people and I look forward to working as a missionary, humanitarian aid worker or whatever area and oppoertunity that God will lead me to serve the people of Sudan and alleviate their suffering. I'm inspired by the determination of Sudanese people mainly from the South to carry on with live despite hardships...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Moving and Inspiring!

    I ran into this book at a local store this weekend. I saw the word slavery and looked at the person on the front cover and was surprised that the picture was not medieval but one of a modern looking young gentleman. I went on to buy the book which I read with heightened interest within five hors. I admire Francis¿ strong will and determination for a better life for his people and his pursuit for peace in his country. I am Kenyan. A luo to be precise. Our tribe migrated from the Sudan about 500 years ago in the wake of war and famine. As I read this book, I noticed that some of the Dinka names are ours which means that I may be a descendant of a Dinka. I am therefore shocked and appalled at what is going on at my old home. I don¿t know why my country never publicized this war while I was growing up. (I was twelve in 1986). Lorraine Kombudo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Wow!!!

    Not only did I get to meet Muycharko in one man, Piol, but I sobbed internally reading this book. I couldnt believe how quickly I grazed through it cause as soon as you begin you cannot let go. Please read this book at a cost even if you beleive slavery should exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1