Customer Reviews for

Escape to Big Fork Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Escape to Big Fork Lake by Mary L. Ball is a wonderful story of

    Escape to Big Fork Lake by Mary L. Ball is a wonderful story of love between a man and a woman, the love of God for everyone, and a gripping mystery. Sam Blacker loses her job, daily fights off the advances of a drunken neighbor, and is just generally unhappy. Out of the blue she receives an inheritance from a friend that she met once a year for lunch and conversation. Sam loves living in the big city but after a brutal attack by the neighbor, she decides to accept the inheritance which requires her to move the the small town of Big Fork Lake, Alabama, become the owner of an inn, and live there for one year. At the end of the year she can stay and run the inn or sell the inn and leave. Very shortly after moving into the apartment that is part of the inn, Sam meets Noah Frye and he awakens desires of the heart that Sam had hidden for a long time. Noah is a Christian but Sam decides that she can live with that. Things are going well when she discovers a dead body in one of the cabins. She is arrested for murder and nearly everyone in the town but Noah believes that she is guilty. At this same time, Sam is beginning to feel the pull of God on her heart.




    The author did an excellent job developing the plot, characters, dialogue, and describing the scenes. The book was a combination of a great romance story and a very intriguing mystery. I was quite surprised when the murderer was revealed for I thought that another person was guilty of the crime. One thing that I really liked about the story was the treatment by the author of the love between Sam and Noah. She showed that Christians face temptations of the flesh just the same as non Christians but they deal with the temptations in a very different way. Many authors write a Christian romance but the man and woman seem more like brother and sister. I do not want to give away the ending so will not reveal how the love affair turns out or who committed the murder and why.




    I highly recommend this book to anyone who like a very good romance and a mystery that keeps one guessing.




    A big thank you to the author, Mary L. Ball, for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This book has everything from drama, murder, mystery, love. What

    This book has everything from drama, murder, mystery, love. What more can you ask for?




    I found myself loving the characters and so happy for Sam to get out of the big city and start a new life in Big Fork Lake, Alabama. She has to prove herself to some people in town but it doesn't take long to catch the eye of Noah. This is exactly the type of book I love to read where there is love, drama and mystery all mixed in all together. I think Mary L. Ball is an AWESOME writer and I look forward to reading more of her work. I think this book deserves more than 5 stars!








    *Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Samatha has had bad luck . She is mother and grandmother are de

    Samatha has had bad luck . She is mother and grandmother are dead and she is running out of money. She has been in a bad relationship and don't know what to do. A good friend (Bo) who was like a uncle, dies and leaves her with a business and a place to excape. She takes off to a place unknowed. It is filled with mystery and suspense. When I started reading it and couldn't put it down. It tell us of God's love and that he is here for us.Samatha (Sam)meet and fall in love with Noah. It tell of trust and obedience to God. Sam gives her life to God I would highly recommend reading this book . It tell of God's love and that he is always here for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    By Tifferz Sam is in for a life change when she is down on her

    By Tifferz
    Sam is in for a life change when she is down on her luck she gets the break she needs. This inspiration romance that is filled with mystery and suspense had me hooked till the last word was read. I truly felt this story was well thought out and had a message of Gods love for each and everyone of his children. It was nice to watch Sam and Noah relationship grow. Noah learning to trust and Sam having someone love her no matter what. I also liked watching Sam come to know Jesus. Ms. Ball did an awesome with putting in some of the unexpected to this story. A great story that will leave you happy!

    I have to agreed with everything Tifferz said about the book. She wrote just the words I would use to review this book. I enjoyed the book from start to finish and loved the way that the author got Sam to believe in God and trust her life with him. She became a Christian as Noah had wished for and prayed. Bo, is the man who had insight to how to get Sam to come and seek the Lord in her way by always telling her readings from the Bible that she could hold onto. And when he passed on Bo, gave Sam his Inn that was in Big Fork Lake to live and run and seek peace into her life.

    I want to share the letter Bo, wrote to Sam;

    Dearest Sam,
    By now, you are aware that I am gone. There is no need to cry for me. I just wanted you to know you have been a good friend. I realize we only saw each other once a year, but I enjoyed your company very much.
    It's time now, Sam, for me to go be with the Lord and see my sweet Elaine again. We will be together forever more and I sure have missed her.

    You, my dear Sam, need a stable home and a life with the Lord. I have given you the home. Just try it for a year.
    If you don't like Big Fork Lake, you have my blessings to move on.

    As for the Lord, Sam, you know what I have always tried to tell you. He is with you no matter where you go. You just have to give him a chance and open your heart.

    The inn has guests who come every year and town folk that stop by for sandwiches and desserts. It's nothing fancy, but it has kept me going and a part of my life for as long as I care to remember.

    My home is yours now, to do with as you please after the first year. It's my hope that within this year you will find that you like Big Fork Lake and make it your home.

    You will meet the girls who work there and my friend Noah.

    Anne Doyle is older like me. She is a bit snappy at times, but I've never believed she means to be.

    Belle McBride hasn't been out of high school but a few years. She's a hardworking girl who has found the inner peace we all need at times.

    Then there's Noah Frye. I have known him all his life and he is like a son to me. I like to think that maybe I have helped him to become the fine man he is. I hope you two can become friends.

    Sam, trust the Lord, and things will work out.

    Love to you my friend,
    Bo Winston

    I was crying while I read this letter to Sam from Bo. It touched my heart. I do believe that this was well written in the matter of getting Sam to give the Lord a chance and become a Christian. It is my hope that Mary L. Ball keeps writing more books because they are very inspirational. It is a good read for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Mary Ball Published By: M.B. Age Recommended: YA Revi



    Author: Mary Ball
    Published By: M.B.
    Age Recommended: YA
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 5

    Review:

    "Escape to Big Fork Lake" by Mary Ball was very unique and believable read...dealings with human problems from a christian perspective. This authors' story was very well layed out by the work of a good dialog that was able to give us a 'Christian romance' ...with plenty of adventure that will only keep the reader interested in the read. I found all of the characters all well caught up in dealing with the social as well as economic pressures of our present society.

    "Escape to Big Fork Lake" gives the reader a very easy read that flowed well presenting the reader with a well told story. You will have to read this novel to find out what happens to Sam as she travels and locates in Big Fork Lake.

    The novel starts in Atlanta,Georgia with Samantha Blacker(Sam) as she referred to be called...now unemployed after loosing her job at the bookstore, about to lose her apartment...and being stalked by a ex boyfriend. Sam wanting out of this situation and was able to realize that a change was needed in her life..and that's when God steps in and with the help from her friend Bo...there will be a decision for Sam to make...Now, this is where I say you must pick up the wonderful christian read to find out just what is in store for Sam. Even though Sam doesn't really know God yet... will there be something special for her? Will she accept Christ in her life?

    If you are looking for a good clean christian romance... you have come to the right place...for "Escape to Big Fork Lake" and yes I would definitely recommend this excellent read to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Samantha Blacker can¿t imagine living any where but the big city

    Samantha Blacker can’t imagine living any where but the big city. But she’s lost her job and she’s being stalked by a neighbor who she dated only briefly.

    A chance once a year meeting with a gentleman named Bo, who she thought attended the restaurant convention as a supplier, leaves her inheriting his inn. She’s convinced herself she’ll only stay for the year required in the will until she finds the place at Big Fork Lake very much to her liking.

    And one other thing she is finding she likes very much is Noah Frye. They get off to a rocky start but their love grows. Sam is reluctant to trust the Lord as Bo always told her to but Noah is willing to show her the way.

    Sam learns to strengthen that trust when it becomes obvious someone is trying to do her harm. Noah vows to stay by her side and but she fears she’ll lose him if she’ll have to leave the place she’s grown to love.

    I really enjoyed this novel. I was definitely worried things might not turn out well for Sam, but she’s a fighter. Mary Ball did a superior job with the suspense and the descriptive painting of the surroundings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    A great read-Escape to Big Fork lake

    Samantha Blacker suffers from bouts of bad luck, finally escaping to something better.(she thinks) In addition to Romance & mayhem this novel shows how faith can support in times of trouble. It's a great blend of entertainment and integrity as Sam unravels her newest set of problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1