Customer Reviews for

Escaping Reality: The Secret Life of Amy Bensen

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grade: A- This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has creat

Grade: A-

This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has created another spectacular novel. This book left me guessing with each turn of the
 page. Each situation gives you more to think about, and more to question, and more you are desperate to know! I found myself f...
Grade: A-

This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has created another spectacular novel. This book left me guessing with each turn of the
 page. Each situation gives you more to think about, and more to question, and more you are desperate to know! I found myself flipping
pages, reading until late in the night, just hoping to find out what happens next.

Don’t let the rich alpha male, and the girl with a troubled past make you think that this novel is anything like any other erotic, romance or
other new adult book you’ve read. It’s not, it’s different, and you need to pick it up.

Amy is a wonderfully well written character, with a great story, and Liam, wow, Liam is something else. I’d give this 5 stars, and then
give it 5 starts again. The sex is steamy, the story line is interesting, twists and turns, and keeps you on edge until the final page. This
novel is outstanding. I am already awaiting another book.

Even if you’re one of those people, like me, who’s not into the erotic romances, check this one out. Jones has got something on the
Fifty Shades and Crossfires, this book gives you equally good sex scenes but mixed with outstanding writing and a whole new mystery
and suspense element. I promise this won’t disappoint, this is one erotic novel that would make an outstanding movie, because its so
 well written and interesting I couldn’t put it down! :)

**I got an ARC from NetGalley for honest review!

posted by CiannaElizabeth on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.5 stars Before I start this review, let me apologize. This

3.5 stars




Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lis...
3.5 stars




Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lisa Renee Jones, LOL. 




Amy is on the run but from what, we don't know. Something happened when she was younger that left her family dead and her in danger. But she doesn't know why she's in danger and we don't either. After receiving a note from her "handler", she must pick up and move with nothing but what her handler supplies for her. She meets Liam on the plane from New York to Colorado and there is and instant chemistry. Amy tries hard to distance herself but Liam won't let her. 








I liked the mystery surrounding Amy. I'm not sure who can be trusted. I liked Amy although, she seems to be very wishy washy for someone who has survived on the run for so long. I LOVED Jared! I can't wait to find out more about him! I liked Amy and Jared together more than Amy and Liam. Liam can be sweet, but he's too domineering for me. I'm sure there is more to him, but it seems he just wants to throw money at things. Amy doesn't like that and feels like a kept woman. I kept flashing to Pretty Woman in my head, LOL. Meg....she is just a complete enigma. Nothing is as it seems in this book. Who can be trusted, who is real? I'm even starting to wonder if there is a real danger or if this is some elaborate plan. But from who and what's the point? This book has really got me thinking! If you like a brain teaser mixed in with good characters and story line, you'll like this book!




I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

posted by RedheadedBookworm on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    3.5 stars Before I start this review, let me apologize. This

    3.5 stars




    Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lisa Renee Jones, LOL. 




    Amy is on the run but from what, we don't know. Something happened when she was younger that left her family dead and her in danger. But she doesn't know why she's in danger and we don't either. After receiving a note from her "handler", she must pick up and move with nothing but what her handler supplies for her. She meets Liam on the plane from New York to Colorado and there is and instant chemistry. Amy tries hard to distance herself but Liam won't let her. 








    I liked the mystery surrounding Amy. I'm not sure who can be trusted. I liked Amy although, she seems to be very wishy washy for someone who has survived on the run for so long. I LOVED Jared! I can't wait to find out more about him! I liked Amy and Jared together more than Amy and Liam. Liam can be sweet, but he's too domineering for me. I'm sure there is more to him, but it seems he just wants to throw money at things. Amy doesn't like that and feels like a kept woman. I kept flashing to Pretty Woman in my head, LOL. Meg....she is just a complete enigma. Nothing is as it seems in this book. Who can be trusted, who is real? I'm even starting to wonder if there is a real danger or if this is some elaborate plan. But from who and what's the point? This book has really got me thinking! If you like a brain teaser mixed in with good characters and story line, you'll like this book!




    I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grade: A- This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has creat

    Grade: A-

    This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has created another spectacular novel. This book left me guessing with each turn of the
     page. Each situation gives you more to think about, and more to question, and more you are desperate to know! I found myself flipping
    pages, reading until late in the night, just hoping to find out what happens next.

    Don’t let the rich alpha male, and the girl with a troubled past make you think that this novel is anything like any other erotic, romance or
    other new adult book you’ve read. It’s not, it’s different, and you need to pick it up.

    Amy is a wonderfully well written character, with a great story, and Liam, wow, Liam is something else. I’d give this 5 stars, and then
    give it 5 starts again. The sex is steamy, the story line is interesting, twists and turns, and keeps you on edge until the final page. This
    novel is outstanding. I am already awaiting another book.

    Even if you’re one of those people, like me, who’s not into the erotic romances, check this one out. Jones has got something on the
    Fifty Shades and Crossfires, this book gives you equally good sex scenes but mixed with outstanding writing and a whole new mystery
    and suspense element. I promise this won’t disappoint, this is one erotic novel that would make an outstanding movie, because its so
     well written and interesting I couldn’t put it down! :)

    **I got an ARC from NetGalley for honest review!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Loved it! When is Chad's book "Forsaken" coming out???

    Loved it! When is Chad's book "Forsaken" coming out????  I can't wait!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    OMG, I did not see that coming, the ending is killing me. This w

    OMG, I did not see that coming, the ending is killing me. This was a great book, deserving of more than five stars, and it is not your typical poor girl meets rich man, has sex, marries and lives happily ever after, kind of book. Liam Stone, is a billionaire, brilliant, sexy and dark. Amy Bensen, is a beautiful woman, who has problems from her past, that keeps her from having friends or relationships. Every time she feels like the ghosts of her past are gone, they send her on the run again. She meets Liam, on her flight to a new life, and feels drawn to him. Once, Amy gets settled in to her new life, things seem off, for various reasons, but the relationship that has started between her and Liam, feels right. She wants to trust him, but doesn't know if she should or not. She has been on her own for so long and it would be nice to have someone to lean on. This book is loaded with twists and turns, suspense, and drama. Add to that the characters of Luke, Meg, Jared, her boss, and her handler, who can she trust? Be warned, you will not want to put this book down, and you will run out of pages before you run out of questions!! Cannot wait for the next book in this series, please hurry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    A note on a bathroom mirror sends Amy fleeing New York. This isn’t the first time she’s abandoned her life in search of safety. Following her “handler’s” instructions, she heads for Denver. She meets Liam—a sexy passenger who asks few questions but allows her little freedom. They tumble into a tumultuous relationship. For a girl accustomed to being alone, Amy clings to the togetherness she gets with Liam…and how he makes the world go away. But her past could be dangerous for them both.

    The writing on this was fairly good and kept my attention with its fast-paced style. The love scenes are hot, hot. Liam is super sexy…most of the time. Amy is only mildly annoying as the narrator. A few things that irritated me about the author’s writing style. Namely, she rarely uses contractions, and Amy seems to spend the majority of the book telling us all the things she’s never ______ (felt, done, needed, etc).
    But my biggest issue with this story is that absolutely nothing is resolved. The book ends with a huge cliffhanger and even more questions than when it started (seriously, 95% of the questions that began on page one are still there on the last page). So, if you can’t stand cliffhangers, stay far away from this book. If you like serials and dig New Adult, grab this one…and then be prepared to salivate until October for book 2’s release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Beware of Cliffhanger! I received an advance reader edition of

    Beware of Cliffhanger!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Julie Patra Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    I am feeling lukewarm about this book. I would have to give it 3 out of 5 stars. There are a lot of things that I did not like about the book and a lot of things that I did like. One thing that I really did not like was the ending. I want to warn anyone who is thinking about reading this book that this is not a complete story. This book just kind of stops. If you dislike cliffhangers, then you need to just walk away....this will not be the right book choice for you.

    Amy is in hiding at learns that she must immediately relocate. On the plane to her new location she meets Liam. Liam is attracted to Amy and starts wanting to protect her immediately. It turns out that Liam is not only one of the sexiest men on the planet, he is also a self made billionaire. Why is it in these books the Hero always has more money than he know what to do with AND seems to only be attracted to women who need a lot of help?!?!

    Amy is a woman who needs a lot of help. She is in hiding but is not sure who is hiding her. She is not sure of her instructions. She is really unsure of everything. She is afraid that Liam could be in danger if they grow close so she tries to leave him....but she does not try all that hard.

    I was glad to see that sex did not take over this book. It is a big part of the book and if you don't like to read sex scenes then you need to step away. Too often books become a string of loosely connected sex scenes with very little holding everything together. That was not the case with this book. There was a well developed plot....although nothing gets resolved the book just kind of stops.

    I am sure that book 2 picks up where this one left off but I am not sure if I will pick that up or not right now. I will have to think about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Good Quote:  ¿Infinite possibilities in life. I am not sure I li

    Good Quote: 
    “Infinite possibilities in life. I am not sure I like that idea. How many people will I be before I die?”

    I often wonder if Lisa Renee Jones starts a book off thinking, “I really want something thrown at my head today.” Because, honestly, the past several books I’ve read of hers, when I have finished the book, the cliff hanger is so huge that I want to hurl something. I LOVE her books and that is the reason why, when they end, and so abruptly, I want more immediately. I’m an addict and I need another fix! This is ridiculous.

    But I digress.

    I very much enjoyed this book, as I have her others. This is a new series for her, and I am anxious to see where it goes.

    Again, I dislike summarizing a book when I feel that the given book description does this, so let’s skip ahead, shall we?

    The opening of this book was fantastic and drew me right in. I made several notes to that effect, but you read the first two pages and already you’re on a thrill ride. Also, I enjoy the name Liam, as I am a sucker for any kind of Celtic name. I want to meet my own Liam. He’s fun, in charge and you want to follow his every whim, even when it irks you.

    Amy is also a good character — she stands up for herself, though she’s running scared and she doesn’t really know why, aside from the belief that the person who was responsible for her parents’ deaths is after her. I want to know who the hell her mysterious benefactor is, and why he seems so creepy, even though she hasn’t formally met him yet… he creeps me out and he’s an almost imaginary character.

    One issue I did have with the book was that, towards the beginning, Amy is “baffled by the way a man I barely know manages to be silk on my raw nerves…” This is overstated. She thinks it again and again and again. I understand getting a point across but I thought it was a bit over the line of necessary when it came to this bit of plot point. Once she finally accepts it, its goes away and everyone is happy.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book! I want more, and I don’t mean to be overstating that, but it’s true. So, Ms Jones, thank you, once again, for a fantastic book that draws me in, captivates me and then abruptly ends, leaving me out in the cold, looking at my eReader in disbelief. Bravo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amy Benson is running. From whom, she doesn't know. Why,she does

    Amy Benson is running. From whom, she doesn't know. Why,she doesn't know. All she knows is when she sees a familiar symbol on a note telling her to get out of town, she leaves everything behind and gets on a plane.

    This novel is the first in an on-going series. The book's main character hops a plane in order to begin a new life. While waiting for her flight she meets Liam Stone. Liam is a wealthy architect and has his eyes set on Amy.

    Amy keeps her secrets close to her heart and has a hard time trusting anyone. That is until she meets Liam. Liam's charm and determination begin to inevitably break down Amy's barriers. Slowly Amy lets Liam in, but should she? She begins to wonder does Liam have an ulterior motive?

    ***WARNING*** THIS BOOK DOES END IN A CLIFFHANGER. You have now been forewarned.

    I enjoyed this book and really liked the style of writing. Although, I began to be bothered by Amy's should I, shouldn't I? Overall, I give this book four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that likes roma

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that likes romance with suspense. Amy is a mystery to herself, not to mention
    someone that no one gets to know until Liam comes along. She has lived part of her life always looking over her shoulder having to
    rely on an unknown source for her safety and that is a part of herself she has trouble letting go of. Becoming so dependent on trouble
    she always looks for the worst, and seems to find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I received a copy from NetGalley to give an honest review. Ratin

    I received a copy from NetGalley to give an honest review. Rating 3.5

    Wow what can I say about this book, well to me it felt like it was nothing but SEX, SEX, SEX, a small bit of mystery and more SEX! 

    "But just know that I have every intention of making you forget everything but what is feels like to have my tongue and my cock buried inside you!"
    I was really into Amy's dark past within the first few pages but when she meet Liam it seemed to just really lose the mysterious vibe I was getting from the book. It seemed to be more about sex than mystery. 
    I really didn't seem to get any answers to Amy and her past that she was running from.
    So you have this young woman Amy who is running from someone or something, what well you don't really know. While on the run she meets (insert hot sexy guy you want to screw) Liam, she knows she is suppose to keep to herself but yet she doesn't want to with Liam. He brings out something in her that she hasn't had in a while. Instead of telling him no and making it seem forceful she instead sleeps with him quickly. 
    Liam is a bit controlling and it drives me crazy but at the end there seems to be a reason why he seems so controlling to her. 
    Amy really has issues beyond anything I mean she has been able to live on her own for a while and she has been independent. But when Liam comes into her life it is like she doesn't know how to be independent anymore in a way. Yes she tells him she doesn't want his money, or tells herself this is a one time thing but she doesn't do anything about it and that makes me crazy.

    With everything that was going on in her life why didn't she attempt to dig for more answers? Why didn't she try to be more demanding on getting answers from people? Yes, she is suppose to be in the background but be a detective do some research, more than just a little bit. 
    Oh and the repeating that Liam kept saying about sharks swimming and baby over and over within the story I just kept wanting to skip over it. But there is not only that repeating from Liam but some from Amy that could have been cut back a bit. 

    With the way the ending was left I do want to read book two in this series as I had questions that I wanted to answers to. I want to know who is Jared, Amy's handler, Liam, Meg. What is her past all about? Will she even get answers or forever be kept in the dark?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    It really took me a lot of effort to finish the book. Since I'm

    It really took me a lot of effort to finish the book. Since I'm doing school, reading, and blogging, I really dreaded the time to read. I even feared I will not finish reading this one since you know, I'm furious. That part where I was really pulling my hair out, where she's met Jared and something she said that "something" pulls her to him. I don't know. Whatever that is, well it started there. I'm confused. Sorry! I just. UGH. This is freaking annoying. I might clear my mind if I read the second book. It's one holy I-don't-know-how-to-write-the-review-about-this-book kind of feeling. My gods it's really disturbing as hell. But another part of me wants to love it. And I want to hug the 'me' who wants to love it! Damn it. OK I FREAKING LOVE IT! I SUPER DUPER LOVE IT. OMYGOSH I'M GONNA CRY.

    Though that part, I was sort of liking the last part. Somewhere where Liam came back from wherever he went. The spice just lifted the crap out of there and that's where I decided to just continue on with the second book. And voila. Whatever. I thought I was liking the beginning but you know, the scowl grew on my face and it's not coming on a pure bliss. BUT YOU SEE. THERE'S A WHOLE LOT OF EMOTIONS IN THERE. I MIGHT NOT WANT THE BEGINNING BUT OMYGOSH I NEED MY HEA. I FREAKING NEED TO CONSOLE MY DISTRAUGHT EMOTIONS, BUILD A HIGHER WALL AND HIDE BEHIND IT. MIGHT AS WELL KEEP MYSELF BURIED INSIDE THE SECOND BOOK. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HE DID. WHAT SHE DID. WHATEVER WHO DID WHAT. I DONT FREAKING CARE. I NEED BOOK 2!! Okay. I'm being weird. I was really disappointed. But the idea, that I can't turn down. Though, it's not unique as I expect it to be, Lisa managed to build a story. She's got the talent. And when an author builds a story, it freaking amazes me, I might throw them edible confetti. I'm that appreciative. *peace*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great Romanic Suspense

    A great Romanic Suspense Contemporary, New Adult, New York City & Denver



    Amy Benson has been on the run for the past six years, since she was 18 years old. Then she was known as Lara and a tragedy and a dark secret forced her to change her identity and go into hiding. Just as she is finally starting to believe she has been forgotten the past comes back with a vengeance to punish and send her running yet again.

    On a plane dealing with the devastating fact of having to start over yet again Amy meets Liam Stone, a billionaire that is reclusive, brilliant and famous as a prodigy architect. A man that knows what he wants when he sets eyes on it and goes after it with everything he has. Now what he wants is Amy and he will not take no for an answer. He sweeps her into an affair that is both passionate and has the ability of taking her to her erotic limits. Liam demands everything Amy has and will accept nothing less. He is determined to possess her and make her want to be possessed. Amy starts wondering if she is too effected by the tragedy to really know if he wants more than she should give. It is also starting to look like Liam is a lot more than meets the eye.


    This is great suspense story that will keep the readers on the edge of their seats as with every page they turn they find out more of what is going on. It also builds the suspense as more characters are introduced and each seems to be hiding something. Amy has to figure out just what is going on and the reader gets taken along on a ride that proves to be as wild as they could ever hope for. This is one book that starts off fast and doesn’t slow down for a single moment. This is one story that lovers of romantic suspense should not miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WOW, that is how I feel, I have been on an emotional roller coas

    WOW, that is how I feel, I have been on an emotional roller coaster while reading this book. And the cliff hanger is gonna eat me up, hope I can wait for book 2. This story had me at the very first page and kept me there till the end. Amy has to run again, when will her life be normal? Not any time soon. While running to a new city she meets Liam Stone on the airplane and the electricity between them scares her. She thinks she has to run from him. But does she really want too? He is sexy, gorgeous, controlling, filthy rich, and brilliant and she has to stay away from him to not bring him into her new life and the people chasing her. Has he found out who she is and does she really know who he is? This is the first for me by Lisa Renee Jones and I LOVED it. Looking forward to read more from her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Holy Crap! I've never had a book keep me on my toes and dissecti

    Holy Crap! I've never had a book keep me on my toes and dissecting every convo like this one did. I hate what Amy is going through and spent the entire time reading trying to play detective and figure out who is good and who is bad. And the twist at the end completely threw me for a loop and made me 99.9% desperate for the next book. (Which is out NOW, and I am going to devour it as soon as I am done writing this review. ;) I loved all the characters and the storyline is Ah-Mazing! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, what can I say. This book had me from the start with wonder

    Wow, what can I say. This book had me from the start with wondering what is Amy running from, who can she trust when meeting new people while she has to pick up and leave again and so many other questions. Things started to pick up and just when I think some of my questions are going to start to get answered, BAM, the book ends.

    I will definitely be checking out the 2nd book when it comes out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    This was an amazing book that sucked me right in and there was n

    This was an amazing book that sucked me right in and there was no escaping from it.

    It moved along at a fantastic pace, has characters that grab you and no matter what you can't help but to love them but at the same time you have to wonder about them, and a story that will keep you entertained from the very first word till the very last word.

    I cannot wait to read more from the fantasic writing of Lisa Renee Jones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones I love all of Lisa's books,

    Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones
    I love all of Lisa's books, and this one is no different. I loved it just as much as the others. When Amy and Liam come together the story ignites into this great story where he takes her on a passionate romance ride. He protects her and keeps her safe. This is a must read. Lisa Renee Jones is a brilliant writer and i just love her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Amy has spent her life running from danger, never able to truly

    Amy has spent her life running from danger, never able to truly settle in one place before she’s moved somewhere new. Her life is finally stable until she gets a message to leave New York immediately and head straight for the airport. Amy ends up on a flight next to Liam and he comforts her in ways she never thought possible. Liam is determined to do what is necessary to keep Amy in his life and Amy finally allows herself to open up emotionally and physically knowing it comes at a risk. However Amy soon learns that things aren’t adding up and she’s devastated when she believes Liam has betrayed her but in order to learn the truth she has to start at the beginning. Who can you trust if you don’t know who to believe? I read “Escaping Reality” in one sitting and I cannot wait for the next book in the series. It ends with a cliffhanger and a lot of unanswered questions but definitely leaves you wanting more. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read filled with mystery, romance and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I don't think there is any way for me convey exactly how excelle

    I don't think there is any way for me convey exactly how excellent I think this book is.  I absolutely loved it.  So much so that I have a nasty book hangover at work today because I couldn't put it down and only got 3 hours of sleep last night, or this morning, depending how you look at it.  I haven't found a book from Lisa Renee Jones that I haven't liked because she always has very good story lines and characters.  However, the character of Amy Bensen, WOW!  She is a young woman who has been dealt a bad hand in life.  She is alone and in hiding and struggling to survive without knowing who she can trust or even exactly what or who she is running from.  She just knows running is her only way of surviving.  When her life comes crashing down around her again and she has to run she meets several people in her new location that throw her for a loop.  Once again she doesn't know who to trust.  She starts to get close to someone that she finally feels safe with but she fears she is putting him in danger.  She needs to walk away but she can't.  She is so tired of running and being alone.  She decides that she has to face her past and share her problem but things just don't seem to work out the way she hopes before she's running again.  The mystery and suspense in this book is amazing.  I can't wait for Infinite Possibilities so that maybe it will reveal what actually happened in Amy's life and who she can truly trust in the end.  That is, if she lives through confronting her past and the secrets that are hidden there.      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    I really liked the idea of the story. There were a few things t

    I really liked the idea of the story. There were a few things that made it only a 3 star. I was leaning towards 4 stars, but in the end I went with 3 stars. The main character Amy felt scattered, and weak to me. Liam felt almost too dominate. I don't like how as the reader I still don't have a clear idea to why she's on the run, and why she waits so long before deciding to look for answers. I'm looking forward to the next book. I hope the main characters grow, and we have a better understanding of why they act the way they do. Right now I feel like I only see the surface of these characters. I really enjoyed the who mystery aspect of the story, I just want more inside details. Looking forward to future books by this author and I plan to finish this series. I have hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3