Customer Reviews for

Escaping Reality: The Secret Life of Amy Bensen

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grade: A- This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has creat

Grade: A-

This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has created another spectacular novel. This book left me guessing with each turn of the
 page. Each situation gives you more to think about, and more to question, and more you are desperate to know! I found myself f...
Grade: A-

This book was outstanding. Lisa Renee Jones has created another spectacular novel. This book left me guessing with each turn of the
 page. Each situation gives you more to think about, and more to question, and more you are desperate to know! I found myself flipping
pages, reading until late in the night, just hoping to find out what happens next.

Don’t let the rich alpha male, and the girl with a troubled past make you think that this novel is anything like any other erotic, romance or
other new adult book you’ve read. It’s not, it’s different, and you need to pick it up.

Amy is a wonderfully well written character, with a great story, and Liam, wow, Liam is something else. I’d give this 5 stars, and then
give it 5 starts again. The sex is steamy, the story line is interesting, twists and turns, and keeps you on edge until the final page. This
novel is outstanding. I am already awaiting another book.

Even if you’re one of those people, like me, who’s not into the erotic romances, check this one out. Jones has got something on the
Fifty Shades and Crossfires, this book gives you equally good sex scenes but mixed with outstanding writing and a whole new mystery
and suspense element. I promise this won’t disappoint, this is one erotic novel that would make an outstanding movie, because its so
 well written and interesting I couldn’t put it down! :)

**I got an ARC from NetGalley for honest review!

posted by CiannaElizabeth on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.5 stars Before I start this review, let me apologize. This

3.5 stars




Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lis...
3.5 stars




Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lisa Renee Jones, LOL. 




Amy is on the run but from what, we don't know. Something happened when she was younger that left her family dead and her in danger. But she doesn't know why she's in danger and we don't either. After receiving a note from her "handler", she must pick up and move with nothing but what her handler supplies for her. She meets Liam on the plane from New York to Colorado and there is and instant chemistry. Amy tries hard to distance herself but Liam won't let her. 








I liked the mystery surrounding Amy. I'm not sure who can be trusted. I liked Amy although, she seems to be very wishy washy for someone who has survived on the run for so long. I LOVED Jared! I can't wait to find out more about him! I liked Amy and Jared together more than Amy and Liam. Liam can be sweet, but he's too domineering for me. I'm sure there is more to him, but it seems he just wants to throw money at things. Amy doesn't like that and feels like a kept woman. I kept flashing to Pretty Woman in my head, LOL. Meg....she is just a complete enigma. Nothing is as it seems in this book. Who can be trusted, who is real? I'm even starting to wonder if there is a real danger or if this is some elaborate plan. But from who and what's the point? This book has really got me thinking! If you like a brain teaser mixed in with good characters and story line, you'll like this book!




I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

posted by RedheadedBookworm on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    3.5 stars Before I start this review, let me apologize. This

    3.5 stars




    Before I start this review, let me apologize. This review may be all over the place because that's where this book left me. I'm still running scenarios in my head trying to figure out what's going on. So, if you can't make sense of this review, I blame Lisa Renee Jones, LOL. 




    Amy is on the run but from what, we don't know. Something happened when she was younger that left her family dead and her in danger. But she doesn't know why she's in danger and we don't either. After receiving a note from her "handler", she must pick up and move with nothing but what her handler supplies for her. She meets Liam on the plane from New York to Colorado and there is and instant chemistry. Amy tries hard to distance herself but Liam won't let her. 








    I liked the mystery surrounding Amy. I'm not sure who can be trusted. I liked Amy although, she seems to be very wishy washy for someone who has survived on the run for so long. I LOVED Jared! I can't wait to find out more about him! I liked Amy and Jared together more than Amy and Liam. Liam can be sweet, but he's too domineering for me. I'm sure there is more to him, but it seems he just wants to throw money at things. Amy doesn't like that and feels like a kept woman. I kept flashing to Pretty Woman in my head, LOL. Meg....she is just a complete enigma. Nothing is as it seems in this book. Who can be trusted, who is real? I'm even starting to wonder if there is a real danger or if this is some elaborate plan. But from who and what's the point? This book has really got me thinking! If you like a brain teaser mixed in with good characters and story line, you'll like this book!




    I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    A note on a bathroom mirror sends Amy fleeing New York. This isn’t the first time she’s abandoned her life in search of safety. Following her “handler’s” instructions, she heads for Denver. She meets Liam—a sexy passenger who asks few questions but allows her little freedom. They tumble into a tumultuous relationship. For a girl accustomed to being alone, Amy clings to the togetherness she gets with Liam…and how he makes the world go away. But her past could be dangerous for them both.

    The writing on this was fairly good and kept my attention with its fast-paced style. The love scenes are hot, hot. Liam is super sexy…most of the time. Amy is only mildly annoying as the narrator. A few things that irritated me about the author’s writing style. Namely, she rarely uses contractions, and Amy seems to spend the majority of the book telling us all the things she’s never ______ (felt, done, needed, etc).
    But my biggest issue with this story is that absolutely nothing is resolved. The book ends with a huge cliffhanger and even more questions than when it started (seriously, 95% of the questions that began on page one are still there on the last page). So, if you can’t stand cliffhangers, stay far away from this book. If you like serials and dig New Adult, grab this one…and then be prepared to salivate until October for book 2’s release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Beware of Cliffhanger! I received an advance reader edition of

    Beware of Cliffhanger!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Julie Patra Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    I am feeling lukewarm about this book. I would have to give it 3 out of 5 stars. There are a lot of things that I did not like about the book and a lot of things that I did like. One thing that I really did not like was the ending. I want to warn anyone who is thinking about reading this book that this is not a complete story. This book just kind of stops. If you dislike cliffhangers, then you need to just walk away....this will not be the right book choice for you.

    Amy is in hiding at learns that she must immediately relocate. On the plane to her new location she meets Liam. Liam is attracted to Amy and starts wanting to protect her immediately. It turns out that Liam is not only one of the sexiest men on the planet, he is also a self made billionaire. Why is it in these books the Hero always has more money than he know what to do with AND seems to only be attracted to women who need a lot of help?!?!

    Amy is a woman who needs a lot of help. She is in hiding but is not sure who is hiding her. She is not sure of her instructions. She is really unsure of everything. She is afraid that Liam could be in danger if they grow close so she tries to leave him....but she does not try all that hard.

    I was glad to see that sex did not take over this book. It is a big part of the book and if you don't like to read sex scenes then you need to step away. Too often books become a string of loosely connected sex scenes with very little holding everything together. That was not the case with this book. There was a well developed plot....although nothing gets resolved the book just kind of stops.

    I am sure that book 2 picks up where this one left off but I am not sure if I will pick that up or not right now. I will have to think about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I received a copy from NetGalley to give an honest review. Ratin

    I received a copy from NetGalley to give an honest review. Rating 3.5

    Wow what can I say about this book, well to me it felt like it was nothing but SEX, SEX, SEX, a small bit of mystery and more SEX! 

    "But just know that I have every intention of making you forget everything but what is feels like to have my tongue and my cock buried inside you!"
    I was really into Amy's dark past within the first few pages but when she meet Liam it seemed to just really lose the mysterious vibe I was getting from the book. It seemed to be more about sex than mystery. 
    I really didn't seem to get any answers to Amy and her past that she was running from.
    So you have this young woman Amy who is running from someone or something, what well you don't really know. While on the run she meets (insert hot sexy guy you want to screw) Liam, she knows she is suppose to keep to herself but yet she doesn't want to with Liam. He brings out something in her that she hasn't had in a while. Instead of telling him no and making it seem forceful she instead sleeps with him quickly. 
    Liam is a bit controlling and it drives me crazy but at the end there seems to be a reason why he seems so controlling to her. 
    Amy really has issues beyond anything I mean she has been able to live on her own for a while and she has been independent. But when Liam comes into her life it is like she doesn't know how to be independent anymore in a way. Yes she tells him she doesn't want his money, or tells herself this is a one time thing but she doesn't do anything about it and that makes me crazy.

    With everything that was going on in her life why didn't she attempt to dig for more answers? Why didn't she try to be more demanding on getting answers from people? Yes, she is suppose to be in the background but be a detective do some research, more than just a little bit. 
    Oh and the repeating that Liam kept saying about sharks swimming and baby over and over within the story I just kept wanting to skip over it. But there is not only that repeating from Liam but some from Amy that could have been cut back a bit. 

    With the way the ending was left I do want to read book two in this series as I had questions that I wanted to answers to. I want to know who is Jared, Amy's handler, Liam, Meg. What is her past all about? Will she even get answers or forever be kept in the dark?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    I really liked the idea of the story. There were a few things t

    I really liked the idea of the story. There were a few things that made it only a 3 star. I was leaning towards 4 stars, but in the end I went with 3 stars. The main character Amy felt scattered, and weak to me. Liam felt almost too dominate. I don't like how as the reader I still don't have a clear idea to why she's on the run, and why she waits so long before deciding to look for answers. I'm looking forward to the next book. I hope the main characters grow, and we have a better understanding of why they act the way they do. Right now I feel like I only see the surface of these characters. I really enjoyed the who mystery aspect of the story, I just want more inside details. Looking forward to future books by this author and I plan to finish this series. I have hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you're looking for a book that's hot and spicy, 'Escaping Rea

    If you're looking for a book that's hot and spicy, 'Escaping Reality' has huge lashings of it. From suspense to erotically enticing scenes, this book steams you up in more ways than one. 

    Amy is running from a post that she doesn't appear to remember. She's brave, sassy, but caves in to her obvious desire for Liam. And, to be honest, who could blame her. She's a likable character who has flaws. She trusts too easily and is emotionally soft.

    And Liam, Liam is the type of character that you wouldn't mind doing things for, if he requested it, including licking his tattoo. Haha, some of you may be saying, 'not in a million years', but I would (just saying). He appealed to me because although he was possessive and did have moments when I thought he had reverted back into a caveman, I still loved him. He had an awful past that I think I've only seen a glimpse of, but he wasn't vigilante, even if there were times I wanted to slap him about the head and tell him not to be so bossy. That edge of violence that I've read in some books wasn't there. Well, I haven't read anything like that in this first book. Despite what a lot of people may think, being around someone who hits is not romantic. It can be terrifying, sickening and as uncomfortable as hell (I speak from experience) regardless of the reason why it occurred in the first place. Yeah, and he definitely has Dominant traits and he has secrets.

    Anyway, I really liked the writing style of this book. I wouldn't say that the book was action-packed, but there was enough going on to keep me highly entertained. I did have a bit of a problem though. It was a bit of a stretch to say this was New Adult. The main characters were 31 and 24. It was borderline adult. New Adult to me means that ALL the main characters are late teen or early twenties. Amy was New Adult (barely), but Liam was an adult and there's no getting away from that.

    For those of you looking for a clean New Adult book to read, sadly this book won't be for you. It is a light read though and has a touch of mystery to hook you into Amy and Liam's story. Although 'frustrated' could be a key word for those of you who want to know everything by the end of the book. Luckily, I'm one of those readers who like mystery and cliffhangers as long as it is executed well.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes general fiction and doesn't mind erotically charged scenes.  

    Book review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1