Customer Reviews for

Escaping the Giant Wave

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Great read!

    Escaping the Giant Wave was a nice quick read. I really enjoyed the descriptive details on what it was like to encounter an earthquake. The plot in the story was really nice and easy to follow, so much so that I really had trouble putting the book down. I recommend this book to someone who is looking for a realistic fiction story with a great journey. Escaping the Giant Wave is about a family who decides to go on a trip to the coast of Oregon. The main character Kyle, a sixth grade boy, runs into trouble at the very beginning of the story. He discovers that the school bully, Daren, and his family would be joining them on their vacation. This is just a small problem on the list of things that go wrong on his trip. If you are up for an adventure, and want to hear more about Kyle's vacation gone wrong, Escaping the Giant wave is the one for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    soccer chic loves it!!!

    Omg!!! i totally loved this book u have to read it if u havent yet!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    i loved this book and any book by this author i read this book in 48 hours

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Escaping the Giant Wave / book review

    This book Has 147 pages. The genre of this story is realistic fiction. This story takes place in the Oregon coast. Escaping the Giant wave is a great story. It¿s about Kyle who is thirteen years old and his eight year old sister Beebee. Kyle and his family are going on a vacation to the Oregon coast. While Bee bee and Kyle were left alone in a hotel. There was a earthquake. Kyle and bee bee have to fight there way through fire and smoke. Kyle remembers seeing a sign that said. ¿When ever a earth quake tsunamis can follow with in seconds so go as far up hill as possible.¿ So Kyle and Bee bee go to the top of the hill. They meat these elderly couple Norm and Josie they help bee bee and Kyle some of the way to escaping the giant wave. Can Kyle and beebee escape the giant wave or not? The main characters are Kyle and bee bee. My favorite part was when Kyle and bee bee had to fight there way through the smoke and fire. Because they saved Darren Hudson life even though there worst enemies. Darren was unconscious in the fire. I recommend this book because it is a great survival story it shows how brave Kyle was being for bee bee and himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    kids review

    Escaping the Giant Wave has 147 pages and the genre is nonfiction. This story is about a boy named Kyle and sister named Beebee. Their Mom and Dad work for a big real estate company that has a big meeting in Oregon. Kyle and his family went to the hotel and they where expected to have reservation but the hotel was full and the people that worked at the hotel sent them to an older hotel that is going to be knocked down soon. That night Kyle¿s mom and dad went on a business cruise for the night. Kyle needs to watch Beebee for the night. A giant earthquake hit and then a fire started. My favorite part of the story is when Kyle and Beebee go in the woods and ride out the wave. This is my favorite part because it is cool that a tsunami is right under them. I would recommend this book to people that like nonfiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Escaping the Giant Wave

    I would like to recommend the book Escaping the Giant Wave by Peg Kehret. The genre of this book is realistic fiction. Escaping the Giant Wave takes place on the Oregon coast. This book tells a story about a 13 year old boy in 6th grade named Kyle and his 8 year old sister, BeeBee. Kyle thought that he would be going on their dream vacation when their dad wins salesman of the year. During their vacation an earthquake hits and sets their hotel on fire. Not short after the earthquake, a tsunami strikes. They have to run up hill to escape. My favorite part in this book is when Kyle and BeeBee were watching the tsunami hit. They are sitting with an elderly couple up hill so the tsunami won¿t hit them. The elderly couples names are Norm and Josie. There was a bench on the top of the hill they were on. Norm, Josie and BeeBee sat on the bench while Kyle sat on the grass. Josie put her arm around BeeBee, and BeeBee rested her head against her. I like this part because it shows how kind Josie is. After the tsunami hit Norm said ¿We can¿t stay here, we must go farther inland. Quickly!¿ I also like this part because it is suspenseful. You don¿t know if another wave is going to hit or not. When I was reading this book I felt like I was actually with Kyle and BeeBee running away from the tsunami. This is a great book. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. It is not a very long book. It is 147 pages long. You should definitely read Escaping the Giant Wave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Escaping the Giant Wave

    My Book Review My book review is about Escaping the Giant Wave, by Peg Kehret. This story takes place in Oregon. The main characters are John, Lily, and Jack. This story is about John that gets beaten up every day at school and he takes a vacation to Oregon, but he doesn¿t know that Jack is going too. The reason why John and Lily are going because there parents are on a business trip for their work. Then they find out that a 5 star hotel is open named the Elegant Impress. It was open until the earthquake hit! John and Lily¿s Parents were on a cruise ship for business paper work leaving John and Lily to survive. One of my favorite scenes was when John, Lily, and Jack were in the hotel when there was an earthquake. One of the other scenes was when there was a fire in the building and the kids were still inside. These are my favorite parts because they were the only 2 scenes that got my attention and surprised me. I would recommend this book because it is a good read, not to long, and doesn¿t have a lot of hard words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Escaping The Giant Wave

    I recommend the book ¿Escaping the Giant Wave¿ by Peg Kehret. The genre is realistic fiction and has 150 pages. The setting is in the state of Kansas and Oregon. This is a story about a family going on vacation, which is also a business trip. The characters are the four people of the Davidson family. They are Kyle, Beebee, and their parents. Daren Hazelton is a bully who goes to the same vacation. Their parents have to attend meetings on a boat while the children stay in the motel that was near the ocean, alone. While they are by themselves, a tsunami happens after an earthquake starts a fire in their motel. One of my favorite scenes is when they try to carry Daren Hazelton down the motel stairs during the fire. Daren was always hurting Kyle and Beebee and being a brat even in their school. He still couldn¿t acknowledge how brave Kyle and his sister were to help him get out of the burning hotel. I really liked this part because they saved Daren¿s life even though he was a bully to them. From reading this book, I found out that you can realize how good Kyle and Beebee were about listening to lessons learned about tornadoes. They used this knowledge to save them selves from the tsunami which destroyed the motel where they had been. I learned what I should do in case we have a tornado, fire, earthquake or tsunami. I recommend this book because you can learn from Kyle and Beebee about how to deal with bullies and how to deal with natural disasters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    The giant wave is awsome

    The book I am reading is Escaping the Giant Wave written by Peg Karhart. I think this book deserves four stars because it is exciting, makes sense and it could really happen. This book is about a family who wins a trip to the Oregon coast. As the parents relax on a cruise, the two kids fight to survive through many existing and dangerous events. The ending is surprising and cool. One of the major events in this story is a fire starts in the hotel. I¿d recommend this book to people who like excitement because this book makes you want to turn each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1