BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Esperanza Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes p

I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes place in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 1924. This book starts off with six-year-old Esperanza and her Papa lying on the ground, pressing their ears to the earth. Papa said that if you lay still enough, you could f...
I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes place in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 1924. This book starts off with six-year-old Esperanza and her Papa lying on the ground, pressing their ears to the earth. Papa said that if you lay still enough, you could feel its heart beating. He was right, Esperanza could her it.  All was well for Esperanza, she had a big house with servants for her every need, beautiful dresses and a family that loved her.  Things did not stay this way though. Six years later, two very large and sad tragedies occurred in a short period of time, which sent Esperanza and her mother to the United States in secrecy in search of work, something Esperanza had never done before. Esperanza found that instead of the fancy clothes she and her mother usually wore, she only had a few pieces of dirty clothing that had once belonged to someone else. Instead of a beautiful house, they shared a cabin without hot water with a family of five. They had each other and Esperanza learned that’s all she needed. In the winter months they put newspapers on the walls to keep the wind and winter cold out. Shortly after a big dust storm, Mama caught Valley Fever and became very sick. She has to be moved into a hospital and Esperanza became worried she will never see her again. She learns to work in the sheds with the older women to help pay for Mama’s medical bills.  Esperanza quickly discovers that Mexicans are discriminated against in the United States. The people they work for would gladly replace the Mexican workers with workers from Oklahoma, and they were willing to work for less money too. If she and the people around her lost their jobs, they wouldn’t have a place to live and no way to pay Mama’s medical bills. Soon a strike breaks out and the immigration program does not hesitate to remove any who are part of it and send them to Mexico, even if they have never been there before.  With so many obstacles to overcome Esperanza clings to the old life she had before leaving Mexico and thinks she is better than most of the people around her. I enjoyed the book, Esperanza Rising very much. It was a very interesting story and I learned a lot about Mexican discrimination. It taught me to be grateful for what I have around me because there are people who have less, but have greater minds like the people who worked in the Mexican labor camp. The mood changed a lot in the story and I enjoyed those ups and downs a lot, and I almost couldn’t put the book down. I would rate this book four stars out of five because I felt it was a little young for me, even though I still enjoyed it. I think it is a perfect book for girls ages nine to thirteen because Esperanza is twelve-years-old and has a young personality. I enjoyed reading Esperanza Rising and I hope people get as much out of it as I did. 

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Shelby Cyr's Book Review The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Mun

Shelby Cyr's Book Review
The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Munoz Ryan. The book is about a girl named Esperanza who is a very wealthy girl who lives in Mexico until her father passes away on their ranch. This leads to her family moving to California where they can onl...
Shelby Cyr's Book Review
The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Munoz Ryan. The book is about a girl named Esperanza who is a very wealthy girl who lives in Mexico until her father passes away on their ranch. This leads to her family moving to California where they can only get by working on a potato farm during the great depression. Their lives become very difficult and Esperanza's mother becomes very ill. During this time Esperanza feels the need to speak up for other immigrants who have come to work through the rough working conditions. The theme for this book is determination.
I liked this book because it made you feel as if you were making the change that Esperanza was working towards for the immigrants. I like that Esperanza was inspired to change the society, and the conditions immigrants have to deal with.
I learned throughout this book that even when times get rough you should still be inspired to make a change and better situations for people all around you. I learned that you need to have determination to make a positive difference.
I would recommend this book to girls of all ages because it has a very interesting and inspiring story line that open your eyes to different aspects of life. Esperanza Rising is a very well written book with a good story line.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes p

    I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes place in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 1924. This book starts off with six-year-old Esperanza and her Papa lying on the ground, pressing their ears to the earth. Papa said that if you lay still enough, you could feel its heart beating. He was right, Esperanza could her it.  All was well for Esperanza, she had a big house with servants for her every need, beautiful dresses and a family that loved her.  Things did not stay this way though. Six years later, two very large and sad tragedies occurred in a short period of time, which sent Esperanza and her mother to the United States in secrecy in search of work, something Esperanza had never done before. Esperanza found that instead of the fancy clothes she and her mother usually wore, she only had a few pieces of dirty clothing that had once belonged to someone else. Instead of a beautiful house, they shared a cabin without hot water with a family of five. They had each other and Esperanza learned that’s all she needed. In the winter months they put newspapers on the walls to keep the wind and winter cold out. Shortly after a big dust storm, Mama caught Valley Fever and became very sick. She has to be moved into a hospital and Esperanza became worried she will never see her again. She learns to work in the sheds with the older women to help pay for Mama’s medical bills.  Esperanza quickly discovers that Mexicans are discriminated against in the United States. The people they work for would gladly replace the Mexican workers with workers from Oklahoma, and they were willing to work for less money too. If she and the people around her lost their jobs, they wouldn’t have a place to live and no way to pay Mama’s medical bills. Soon a strike breaks out and the immigration program does not hesitate to remove any who are part of it and send them to Mexico, even if they have never been there before.  With so many obstacles to overcome Esperanza clings to the old life she had before leaving Mexico and thinks she is better than most of the people around her. I enjoyed the book, Esperanza Rising very much. It was a very interesting story and I learned a lot about Mexican discrimination. It taught me to be grateful for what I have around me because there are people who have less, but have greater minds like the people who worked in the Mexican labor camp. The mood changed a lot in the story and I enjoyed those ups and downs a lot, and I almost couldn’t put the book down. I would rate this book four stars out of five because I felt it was a little young for me, even though I still enjoyed it. I think it is a perfect book for girls ages nine to thirteen because Esperanza is twelve-years-old and has a young personality. I enjoyed reading Esperanza Rising and I hope people get as much out of it as I did. 

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book....History Teachers A Must Read

    Esperanza is young girl of wealth and privilege in Mexico, but after her father is murdered on their family ranch. Esperanza and her mother flee to California, there they must work on a potato farm during the great depression. Life is hard and Esperanza mother become ill and Esperanza must speak up for the immigrant workers and their work conditions.

    This book also contains a slight mix of Spanish words and/or phases that are also translated and easy to comprehend. History teacher could collaborate with English/Language Arts teachers when reading this book, because the setting is during the American Great Depression and the Dust Bowl Era.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Y

    I remember reading this in 5th grade. It was so good. Recomend it highly. Just as a reminder... is this historical fiction? Please review when read. PLEASE!!!!!!!

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awesome book

    This is such an AMAZING book!!!!!!!! SO GET THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW!!! It talks about a 13 year old girl named Esperanza,and how her life was perfect! She had A LOT if servents! ( as u can see she's rich!) She also lived in Mexico, her dad had all the money! But in the 1930's, women can't own houses & land! ( just remmember that) So, something goes wrong!(i am not going to tell what happend) And they have to move to California! Then she becomes a servent! Now u have to read the rest of the book to know what has happend in the book! :) :) :)

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Shelby Cyr's Book Review The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Mun

    Shelby Cyr's Book Review
    The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Munoz Ryan. The book is about a girl named Esperanza who is a very wealthy girl who lives in Mexico until her father passes away on their ranch. This leads to her family moving to California where they can only get by working on a potato farm during the great depression. Their lives become very difficult and Esperanza's mother becomes very ill. During this time Esperanza feels the need to speak up for other immigrants who have come to work through the rough working conditions. The theme for this book is determination.
    I liked this book because it made you feel as if you were making the change that Esperanza was working towards for the immigrants. I like that Esperanza was inspired to change the society, and the conditions immigrants have to deal with.
    I learned throughout this book that even when times get rough you should still be inspired to make a change and better situations for people all around you. I learned that you need to have determination to make a positive difference.
    I would recommend this book to girls of all ages because it has a very interesting and inspiring story line that open your eyes to different aspects of life. Esperanza Rising is a very well written book with a good story line.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Such a great book! Couldn't put it down! I would recommend this

    Such a great book! Couldn't put it down! I would recommend this book for people of all ages.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Soe

    It is awesome even for the people who hate books will love it

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Amazing

    Love this book great for all ages

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful story!

    I usually just read current YA titles, but when it was referred to in another book I read...I had to read it. A lot of my friends read ER during junior high, but I never did and I'm sorry I missed it for so long. This is a great book. I felt like I was reading a part of my history that I didn't even consider or know about. It totally reminded me of stories my relatives share at family gatherings.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Crazy

    If you haven't read this yet, you NEED some medical help.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Buy this book!

    I loved this book because you just get to know the girl so well. You really put yourself in her shoes. After reading that book, I felt inspired to do more! This book is great for all ages! ( also look up the book " Out of My Mind" while you are at it.) I would guess that almost everyone will LOVE this book!

    Sincerely,
    Book-A-Holic13

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    Im reading this book in school and its soo good!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Really great

    I read this for 6th grade and quite honestly it was interesting and had a pinch of sadness. Im not saying it isnt fantastic, it is, but not for kids under maybe 12 or 11. It can turn a non reader into a book worm. At least get the sample.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good book

    Sooo good

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Esperanza rising ia really good book

    I love esperanza rising in a way it ikind of sad but things get better and it turns out to be a really good book! It is also exiteing an a little bit scary so if your looking for a book like this i highly recamend it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This is great book

    Anyone who doesnt like it is a complete idiot

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    <3

    I remember reading this in fourth grade cried at the end. But didnt want it to end:(

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Oops did not finish.

    As i was saying it has happynes,tradgety,struggles, and romance. Everything u need for a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    GOOOOOOOD

    Its real good highly recommend. I would say a strong hearted determined book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Good for some

    This book was not that interesting to me. Mainly because i am not a fan of historical fiction and mostly prefer books like The Girl Who Could Fly and Call Me Hope. But, if you do like historical fiction , then you would probably love this story. It has a tiny bit of romance, life lessons, and a fantastic plot, but as i said before, it was mostly borring for me and did not make me want to read on. If you choose to read it i hope you like it more than i did!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23