Customer Reviews for

Esperanza Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes p

I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes place in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 1924. This book starts off with six-year-old Esperanza and her Papa lying on the ground, pressing their ears to the earth. Papa said that if you lay still enough, you could f...
I read the book, Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan. It takes place in Aguascalientes, Mexico, 1924. This book starts off with six-year-old Esperanza and her Papa lying on the ground, pressing their ears to the earth. Papa said that if you lay still enough, you could feel its heart beating. He was right, Esperanza could her it.  All was well for Esperanza, she had a big house with servants for her every need, beautiful dresses and a family that loved her.  Things did not stay this way though. Six years later, two very large and sad tragedies occurred in a short period of time, which sent Esperanza and her mother to the United States in secrecy in search of work, something Esperanza had never done before. Esperanza found that instead of the fancy clothes she and her mother usually wore, she only had a few pieces of dirty clothing that had once belonged to someone else. Instead of a beautiful house, they shared a cabin without hot water with a family of five. They had each other and Esperanza learned that’s all she needed. In the winter months they put newspapers on the walls to keep the wind and winter cold out. Shortly after a big dust storm, Mama caught Valley Fever and became very sick. She has to be moved into a hospital and Esperanza became worried she will never see her again. She learns to work in the sheds with the older women to help pay for Mama’s medical bills.  Esperanza quickly discovers that Mexicans are discriminated against in the United States. The people they work for would gladly replace the Mexican workers with workers from Oklahoma, and they were willing to work for less money too. If she and the people around her lost their jobs, they wouldn’t have a place to live and no way to pay Mama’s medical bills. Soon a strike breaks out and the immigration program does not hesitate to remove any who are part of it and send them to Mexico, even if they have never been there before.  With so many obstacles to overcome Esperanza clings to the old life she had before leaving Mexico and thinks she is better than most of the people around her. I enjoyed the book, Esperanza Rising very much. It was a very interesting story and I learned a lot about Mexican discrimination. It taught me to be grateful for what I have around me because there are people who have less, but have greater minds like the people who worked in the Mexican labor camp. The mood changed a lot in the story and I enjoyed those ups and downs a lot, and I almost couldn’t put the book down. I would rate this book four stars out of five because I felt it was a little young for me, even though I still enjoyed it. I think it is a perfect book for girls ages nine to thirteen because Esperanza is twelve-years-old and has a young personality. I enjoyed reading Esperanza Rising and I hope people get as much out of it as I did. 

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Shelby Cyr's Book Review The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Mun

Shelby Cyr's Book Review
The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Munoz Ryan. The book is about a girl named Esperanza who is a very wealthy girl who lives in Mexico until her father passes away on their ranch. This leads to her family moving to California where they can onl...
Shelby Cyr's Book Review
The book Esperanza Rising is by Pam Munoz Ryan. The book is about a girl named Esperanza who is a very wealthy girl who lives in Mexico until her father passes away on their ranch. This leads to her family moving to California where they can only get by working on a potato farm during the great depression. Their lives become very difficult and Esperanza's mother becomes very ill. During this time Esperanza feels the need to speak up for other immigrants who have come to work through the rough working conditions. The theme for this book is determination.
I liked this book because it made you feel as if you were making the change that Esperanza was working towards for the immigrants. I like that Esperanza was inspired to change the society, and the conditions immigrants have to deal with.
I learned throughout this book that even when times get rough you should still be inspired to make a change and better situations for people all around you. I learned that you need to have determination to make a positive difference.
I would recommend this book to girls of all ages because it has a very interesting and inspiring story line that open your eyes to different aspects of life. Esperanza Rising is a very well written book with a good story line.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Bad book

    I hate this book its so stupid. GE made me read a 3rd grader book for a 6th grade class. Burn it. I still hve to read it though :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    To Spoiler allert

    Omg i have tp do the same thing the stuiped UDHR thing. My teacher said that the UDHR was meant for 11th graders. I mean SERIOSLY. And the state wonders why we are so " dumb" i mean SERIOSLY. Jeez. If they are gunna mak us do 11 th grade stuff then why just make kindergardenrs read twilight. BTW the UDHR stuff is easy but stiiiil like dont call us dumb if you dont even get what the thing is talking about. Btw i am a girl and 10 also thats funny. What school u go to we might know each other. But i hate state cause they mak us do stuff like that. I already read twilight, the hunger games, divergent, isurgent, alligent, soon to be reading the book thief. I understand most of the words if not all. I probebly have a z for a reading level. BYE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Boring

    Esperanza feels like she is a queen but later she works in the fields . I dont think the author wrote a good book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Horrible

    It was terrible.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Terrible

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    This book is not good news

    This book is insanely bad. I have to read it in school and I want to fall asleep.Don't read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Pitiful

    Ah, yes. Another Pitty-me book. Esperanza was a spoiled-rotten brat from Mexico, who's father died, so she had to border-hop to the US, and couldn't even work a broom right. A pitiful, un full filling book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    bad book

    this book was just plain bad. its dull and booring and drags on and on and on. and even though she turns poor she still soesnt like being around other poor people. i had to read this as a reading assignment in school and i couldnt wait until i could just finish it and never see it again

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    (Snoring)

    i thought this book was dull and boring. the cover looked so good, but when i read it i had a hard time concintrating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Esperanza Rising

    This book would be good for anybody who likes stories with annoying little girls, but beside that I truly think that a guy wouldn¿t want to read it. In my opinion, the book was boring. The main character in the story was really annoying and a crybaby. The main character (Esperanza) is really childish about everything. She can¿t handle her problems. Every time she doesn¿t get something her way, she gets all mad or begins to cry. It¿s Esperanza¿s parents fault for her behavior because they always called her a princess, they had always spoiled her and let her act the way she wanted. The thing I hated most about her is that when she was around poor people she felt to condescending to them, even when she was already poor too. This story first takes place in Aguascalientes Mexico. After Esperanza¿s dad dies, they leave to California to basically start a new life. Esperanza¿s mom gets a job and Esperanza baby-sits while everybody goes to work.. Esperanza sometimes feels left out with other girls because she doesn¿t know English. The best thing Esperanza did in the book was when her mom was in the hospital and she got herself a job to help pay the hospital bills. This book could have been better, like if they put more action or drama into the book. The name of the chapters were weird too because a lot of chapters don¿t even have anything to do with the names. Also the book was based on Mexican people and it only had a couple words written in Spanish. If they were going to add Spanish to it, then they should have put the whole Spanish parts not only a couple of words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    very boring book

    this book was sooo very uninteresting and very dull. i would NOT recommend it to anyone. it was one of those books required for us to read in school. u know how those almost always aren't usually good. i hated this book so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    this book stinks

    Esperanza was a good book because it would kinda keep you in it.I didn't really like this book.It was extremly poor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Worst Book Ever

    I had to read this book in Language Arts. This is possibly the worst book i have ever read. Its so boring and the characters are awful, especially Esperanza, who i really wanted to slap. Don't read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    TAP HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Can u b my friend....i need 2 chat with some one.....im super bord

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Gsgs

    BAD BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    *SPOILER ALERT* Review from a ten-year old boy reading this bo

    *SPOILER ALERT*

    Review from a ten-year old boy reading this book for the Common Core Curriculum in New York State partnered with the unit on the Unified Declaration of Human Rights(UDHR is not a developmentally appropriate reading level for 10 year old students):

    "I mean really, in the first chapter someone that the main character loves dies. I mean, come on, that is pretty stupid. Then her uncle burns down her house, they have to move away from her grandmother, her mother gets sick with a near fatal disease called valley fever which inflames the lungs and causes them to deflate and collapse. She has to work in the valley that she lives in and she has to stay away from her mom for months on end so that her mom doesn't catch any other diseases. Strikers make her work deadly by putting rattlesnakes in the harvests and other deadly things like brown recluses, rabid animals, bee hives, hornets nest, wasp nest, even sticks of dynamite. Sticks of Dynamite!

    Oh, yeah, and only in the last chapter something good finally happens. Her grandmother comes and her mom gets well. The book made me feel really upset, nearly as upset as Bridge to Terabithia. All I learned from the book was the different harvest seasons. It really annoys me that we have to read books that are always sad with people the characters love dying for school. It makes me feel depressed like I am in the story and someone I love is going to die soon. "

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad

    O.M.G. Hart warming NOT! Worst ev-er

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Terrible book unless in 1st grade

    Esperanza Rising is a terrible book unless you are in the first grade. Esperanza rising is a great book for young children who are just learning how to read. If read young, this book will expand children's knowledge of life for Mexican immigrants.
    The book begins with Esperanza being a rich snob living on a ranch in Mexico. Her father is brutally ed by bandits and her house is burned down. The story continues where Esperanza has to flee to America with her mother and begin a new life there. She has many trials in America. Many of which are simple tasks like sweeping, cooking, tending children and changing diapers. Esperanza is a dull character that sulks in her misery.
    Another main character is Miguel. He is like the hero in the Marvel comic books always saying the right things. Miguel is the kind of fictional boy you just fall in love with. He is very patient and kind. Miguel puts up with Esperanza for far too long. He makes you feel sympathy towards the snob Esperanza. Even though, toward the end of the book Esperanza lightens up a little bit, after she learns how to "live life". She is still a selfish brat. Esperanza is comparable to a cousin of mine. She is the kind of cousin that drives you insane. She expects others to do everything for her, and constantly jumping in front of a camera. She is much like Esperanza in the book except there were no cameras for Esperanza to get in front of.
    Children who are just learning to read should read this book because it will introduce them to the better working conditions boycott, and help them learn to read. Pam Munoz Ryan should have focused the story more on the better working conditions boycott verses one little . This would enhance the story greatly. Pam Munoz Ryan touches upon the working conditions when speaking about Maria and her mother (and other people in the camp that Esperanza lives in), but should write about it more often.
    The setting bounces around a lot. The setting is not very clear and Pam Munoz Ryan does a horrific job describing it. If you are a young child that hasn't read many books the setting might seem crystal clear, California and a ranch in Mexico, but the descriptions of the buildings and other surroundings are nearly impossible to find.
    The book even though it is short, drags on and on. Pam Munoz Ryan has awful word choice. She should have not given the definition of commonly used Spanish words like burrito and fiesta and taco. She writes like a third grader. Over all Esperanza Rising is a horrendous book. After reading Esperanza Rising I felt like an illiterate first grader. The beginning of the book was very short and the end was much too long. If given the choice I would never read Esperanza Rising again. I would however recommend this book to children learning how to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1