Customer Reviews for

Espresso Tales (44 Scotland Street Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Espresso Tales follows the lives of Edinburgh residents, including a dog.

After reading the first of the series, 44 Scotland Street, I wanted to continue with the second book, Espresso Tales. Alexander McCall Smith has created characters, including a dog, with unique personalities, problems, goals, motivations; he presents each with a dilemm...
After reading the first of the series, 44 Scotland Street, I wanted to continue with the second book, Espresso Tales. Alexander McCall Smith has created characters, including a dog, with unique personalities, problems, goals, motivations; he presents each with a dilemma that requires philosophical and moral thinking before making a decision. Lives intertwine, and the reader wanting each interaction to turn out right even though life is not that way. Little Bertie, age 6, continues to deal with his mother Irene, and to fit in at school; in this book, he makes progress thanks to his father's help. Pat helps Matthew do better in his gallery business; however, at the end of the book, she has caused a potential problem for her roommate Bruce. Pat's delightful neighbor Domenica makes a life changing decision that will involve travel and a dangerous anthropological study. Lou, the espresso bar owner, may unite with the love of her life. Now I want to continue with book 3 of the 44 Scotand Street Series.

posted by tapbelle on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is not a mystery

The first in series was unsatisfactory and reviews to this and first chapter same

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Espresso Tales follows the lives of Edinburgh residents, including a dog.

    After reading the first of the series, 44 Scotland Street, I wanted to continue with the second book, Espresso Tales. Alexander McCall Smith has created characters, including a dog, with unique personalities, problems, goals, motivations; he presents each with a dilemma that requires philosophical and moral thinking before making a decision. Lives intertwine, and the reader wanting each interaction to turn out right even though life is not that way. Little Bertie, age 6, continues to deal with his mother Irene, and to fit in at school; in this book, he makes progress thanks to his father's help. Pat helps Matthew do better in his gallery business; however, at the end of the book, she has caused a potential problem for her roommate Bruce. Pat's delightful neighbor Domenica makes a life changing decision that will involve travel and a dangerous anthropological study. Lou, the espresso bar owner, may unite with the love of her life. Now I want to continue with book 3 of the 44 Scotand Street Series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Even better than "No.1 Ladies Detective Agency"

    Smith has an amazing talent for verbalizing the thoughts going through the minds of his characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Fun- amusing - worth sharing

    Something to share excerpts from and read over and over again. Real life characters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    This is not a mystery

    The first in series was unsatisfactory and reviews to this and first chapter same

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Selected Poems and Songs by Robert Burns

    Is excellent, thorough and comprehensive on this poetic genious. My most favorite book in my E-book library. I regret I cannot share with my Dad who has passed, except through heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Zach

    Appears behind pat and tirelessly slashes and hacks at him with his swords

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Kidnapper

    Walks in and grabs the girl then quickly ties her up and takes her to dark res.1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Urgent

    A woman is giving birth at labor urgent first res. Oh no!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Hdis

    Hfjd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Fire Queen Shadow

    Hello? Hi pat! I ssmile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Ivory

    She glances around, sitting cross-legged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Emily

    Wendy Etho will b back tomorrow ad im gonma have a celebration for my bf coming back. It will b at life after life res 3. Ur invited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Pat

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    The girl

    Comes in and looks at pat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Tyler

    "Post Ads at warriors series and percy jackson series cause im locked out at both. Also post ads at blood of olympus."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Wendy

    Watches

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    I hope there are more books in this series

    I'm a huge fan of the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series but didn't enjoy his other Scotland series as well so I was not in a hurry to read the first book in this series. I love the characters in this series and hope that the author does a follow up book. It's fun to follow the lives of very disparate characters who have little in common beyond a home address or the residents at that address.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Not what I expected

    Although somewhat charming this book is extremely wordy. Like books out of the past century it uses as many large words as possible to sound 'learned' and has much material about the psychology of children as deemed intelligent by parents of young children by their parents---usually mothers.
    I guess it's fine for some but definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Testing...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Velvetstar to Horseclan

    (Setting this up now...)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3