BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

ESSENCE

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Visuals

I'm so happy with this subscription. I am a print subscriber so the digital version is free on the NC. I absolutely love the vivid colors and the fact that the magazine is formatted properly and is actually readable. I LOVE having this available on my Nook Color!

posted by mocha2009 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

iPad ? :(

Please make available for ipad !!! I love this magazine

posted by Nook-iPad_User on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome Visuals

    I'm so happy with this subscription. I am a print subscriber so the digital version is free on the NC. I absolutely love the vivid colors and the fact that the magazine is formatted properly and is actually readable. I LOVE having this available on my Nook Color!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    This 1 star is not for Essence since I've had a subscription for

    This 1 star is not for Essence since I've had a subscription for almost 30yrs and think it's the greatest magazine. It is not good on the NOOK, it doesn't save your place and the worse you can't enlarge the font so it's a serious eye strain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Yay! Essence is finally on the Nook.

    I love Essence magazine and the fact that print subscribers can get the online verison free is Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Access

    I am having difficulty accessing Otobers edition on my nook. BnN has no idea how to get September's or November's magazine. Frustrated!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Highly Recommended- you will love the books!

    All the ebooks and eMagazines I have ordered are great! My problem is with my nook video which was ordered on Aug.29,2014.It doesn't play on my LePan Table. I hope this problem will clear up, so I can rent more videos soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Essence

    Great color and details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Always a great read!!

    Great fashion and beauty advice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Stay inspired!

    From what you are wearing your physical and financial health, Essence delivers. This has been my go to publication as a Black woman. I now always have my Essence with me...on my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Long Time Reader

    I love Essence. I've been reading it for as long as I can remember, thanks to my mom and grandmother, and now I don't have to "borrow" my mom's magazines anymore, I can carry them on my Nook! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I love that this magazine subscriptions is free when already hav

    I love that this magazine subscriptions is free when already have the print subscriber. Need more magazines the same way!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    <3

    <3 <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great magazine

    I love this magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    hi

    love , love , love .....so happy to have this mag on nook ! pleASE GET MORE afro american magazines...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I was elated when essence magazine was available on the nook.This allows me to not have to carry the magazine around to the hair dresser,doctor etc,and i dont have to worry about throwing them out or finding somewhere to stack them.When i was a young girl i was always interested in reading a magazine that adorned the face of color,and essence did that for me.The makeup the stars,ideas and so much more about people of color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Happy

    My fav mag wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Essence & Nook

    I'm loving the combination of receiving my paper and electronic mag. Thanks B&N :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!

    Love my subscription to Essence on my nook. I can take it anywhere and read it anywhere. I don't have to worry about leaving it somewhere. It is awesome. I love my nook and I love my Essence. I am hooked. Now if I could just get Jet on Nook I would be overwhelmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Love it

    I love the way Essence Magazine looks on my Nook Color. I've been wondering when you guys were going to get on board and, finally, it's here. Thanks Essence and B&N! Keep up the good work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    I was gonna cancel my subscription BUT I'm not ANYMORE!! I'm keeping it!!!

    I'm always on the go and when I make it home, I'd see my magazine on the table and just didnt have enough time to read it. I decided that I would just go ahead and cancel my subscription b/c I was just a waste. BUT NOW!!!, OH NOW!!!! Its available for my NOOK COLOR????? I will be KEEPING it!!!!!!!!! Thank you soooo much for giving us the option of having it on our e-readers. Now, where I GO, my ESSENCE goes!!!! I read it at lunch, I read it while I'm getting my nails done, I READ IT!!!!! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Terri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10