Customer Reviews for

Essential Oils for Beginners: The Guide to Get Started with Essential Oils and Aromatherapy

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Did you know that the best place to test new oils is on the sole

    Did you know that the best place to test new oils is on the soles of your feet because this is the least sensitive part of your body? I didn’t! This is one of the things you learn besides how to use oils as home remedies in this book! Some of the oil recipes published here make better cleansers than brand names AND they smell better! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Essential Oils for Beginners is a fantastic resource for anyone

    Essential Oils for Beginners is a fantastic resource for anyone looking to replace chemical-laced home, health and beauty products with natural alternatives. This book offers a glossary of dozens of essential oils with descriptions of their proper applications and contains several chapters of natural treatments for common ailments such as muscle pain, upset stomach, and dandruff. This book is a simple, yet powerful stockpile of home remedies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    This book, separated into two parts, provides a great introducti

    This book, separated into two parts, provides a great introduction into the world of essential oils. The first part tells the interesting history of oils and also contains a very helpful FAQ section. The most valuable part of the book, however, is the second section. This section includes a reference guide to various oils that will be very useful when working with oils. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Other books may have instructions on how to use and blend essent

    Other books may have instructions on how to use and blend essential oils, but this is an absolutely thorough exploration of usage, blending techniques and recipes. Essential Oils for Beginners goes so far as to explain the chemical make-up of many oils and how they act on the body. This is very helpful for therapeutic applications and aromatherapy. The book also lists the oils and their properties, along with how they are used for sprays, rubs and tea. Many of the recipes will save money by replacing store bought items. The history of the use of essential oils in a variety of ancient cultures makes this book timely, informative and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    This book contains instructions for blending and using essential

    This book contains instructions for blending and using essential oils. It has a thorough guide on what to look for when shopping for oils and how to blend them to retain their usefulness. I liked the section on what different essential oils can do, so you can look up what you can do with stuff you already have. The “recipe” section covers things like household cleaners, bug spray, and treatment for illnesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    For the novice essential oil user, this book is truly a revelati

    For the novice essential oil user, this book is truly a revelation. This book offered a simple approach to the historical and practical application of essential oils. The author successfully described how the subtle, aromatic and volatile liquids extracted from the flowers, seeds, leaves, stems, bark and roots of herbs, bushes, shrubs and trees through distillation have been deemed far more than just highly concentrated plant extracts by many cultures throughout history. I was surprised and intrigued by how these essential oils are highly valued for their remarkable properties as aromatic herbs cosmetics and powerful medicinal qualities. I was also amazed to discover that there are over three hundred oils used by professional practitioners to treat a variety of illnesses. Before reading this book, I was only mildly familiar with essential oils. I honestly had no idea just how amazing these powerful oils were. I can’t wait to start experimenting with a little alchemy of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    If you are like me and have an interest in essential oils but do

    If you are like me and have an interest in essential oils but don’t know where to start, this is the book for you. Includes a history of oils and lots of great information on how to use and blend them. Each oil is described in detail so that you know the best use for each. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

     In my search for information on aromatherapy, I decided to chec

     In my search for information on aromatherapy, I decided to check out this book.
    I was pleasantly surprised at the in depth thought and information that this book provided. As a novice looking for homeopathic solutions to a few health problems,
    I found Essential Oils for Beginners to be a good read and an excellent source of historical and scientific information.
    I would highly recommend it to anyone just starting out on the journey to better health using holistic approaches. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Great book with many recipes for personal hygiene products along

    Great book with many recipes for personal hygiene products along with household cleaning supplies all made from essential oils! This is an incredibly informative book to keep around the house especially if you are not afraid to experiment. It includes a very educational dictionary listing a variety of essential oils and their primary uses along with their origin and history. The only suggestion to make this book better is more pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    This is a great book! It is very easy to read and straight to th

    This is a great book! It is very easy to read and straight to the point. If you are looking for alternatives
    to taking over the counter medications for some of your day to day ailments, then I highly suggest
    getting this book as a resource.  It goes through the available oils and tells you what you can use
    them for. Just that simple!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I bought this book because I use essential oils when making home

    I bought this book because I use essential oils when making homemade soap. Along with clear and helpful tips, it provides a complete encyclopedia of oils, listing their description, uses and what they blend well with. Recipes are included, such as one for a stimulating rosemary-mint shampoo. And the beginning has some fun facts, like that essential oils were used in ancient Greece by surgeons to prevent gladiators from succumbing to infection. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the health benefits of essential oils.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Interested in well-being via nature? Essential oils are a great

    Interested in well-being via nature? Essential oils are a great way to do it, and Essential Oils for Beginners is a fantastic guide. It explains the history and methods of extraction of the oils, the difference and importance of grades of oils, easy to read instructions on blending your own oils and some fantastic recipes for health and beauty products. This is a book that will stay accessible on your shelf because you will use it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    It turns out that Wolfsbane and Belladonna aren¿t only useful in

    It turns out that Wolfsbane and Belladonna aren’t only useful in Hogwarts’ potions class; Essential Oils for Beginners explains the safe and practical application of hundreds of natural medicines, including these notorious nightshades.  Need to sooth an angry insect bite?  Apply geranium oil.  Hoping to avoid acetaminophen for your headache?  Try wintergreen.  Essential oils are even a great way to create natural cleaning products.  This book’s clear introduction followed by a cookbook-like guide will leave you confident in the use of essential oils.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    If you have ever been curious about essential oils or aromathera

    If you have ever been curious about essential oils or aromatherapy, this book is great place to start. It gives you a thorough background
    on what essential oils are, how and why they work, as well as some history of their use. In addition, you get specific information on
    sixty-six of the more commonly used oils, along with recipes for specific uses and tips on doing so safely. This book is a great
    investment in your family's well-being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Essential Oil for Beginners is a great book for someone who want

    Essential Oil for Beginners is a great book for someone who wants to experiment with oils to help ailments, use for cosmetics, home and garden or enhance their well-being. With nearly 70 essential oils defined, readers will find out where to get essential oils, how to store and use them, as well as blending techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    From treating what ails you to cleaning and disinfecting your ho

    From treating what ails you to cleaning and disinfecting your home, Essentials Oils for Beginners, is a comprehensive guide to the world’s favorite essential oils. Starting with the fascinating history of essential oils and aromatherapy to providing recommended resources including links to retailer websites, you will be effectively educated about the wide variety of essential oils along with their uses, blending and application methods. I learned what I wanted to know and then some by reading Essential Oils for Beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    Essential oils are great to use in place of unnatural remedies.

    Essential oils are great to use in place of unnatural remedies. This book allows one to learn how essential oils came to be, how they work and what exactly you can use them for. It’s a great book for a person to read once and also keep referring back to. The book maps about an abundance of different essential oils and their practical uses. I found it very useful! I’m excited to get to the store and pick up some essential oils! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1