BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 445 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling, psychological, and even humorous work

    I have found that many, if not most, readers like to dismiss Poe as a shallow, simplistic, and even disturbed horror writer whose work possesses little or no merit for the sophisticated reader beyond that of Poe's literary status. Unfortunately, this conception has gained widespread acceptance (thanks in no part to the Vincent Price "remakes" of several of Poe's most famous stories), but, fortunately, this conception is simply untrue.

    Poe's poetry demonstrates his mastery of form, technique, language, and the use of classical themes, besides thrilling the reader. Recurring themes include the nature of death and the afterlife, fear, beauty, truth/reality, and even love. This volume provides readers with a decent overview of Poe's poetic work and includes such classics as "Ulalume: A Ballad," "The Raven," "To Helen," and "The Bells."

    Although Poe desired first to be known as a poet, his prose constitutes his best work. This volume includes an excellent sampling of Poe's short stories, which range from Gothic tales of terror to psychological thrillers to mysteries to tales of insanity and obsession to biting parodies and comical works. Beyond his skillful use of terror in his stories, Poe delves into his characters' minds, revealing the worst in Man and demonstrating how depraved we truly are. More specifically, his stories address troubling questions concerning human thought, emotion, and condition, and the consequences of overwhelming fear, obsession, and the thirst for revenge, among other things.

    This volume also includes Poe's single novella, The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym.

    Overall, this is excellent, thought-provoking material that provides for a thrilling, enjoyable, and occasionally hilarious read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    POSITIVELY THRILLING!

    This book contains every poem and tale written by the great Edgar Allan Poe...tales are positively chilling to the bone...poetry written about death and pain, but it touches the soul...Sing praises to the work of Edgar Allan Poe FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great compilation book

    A great compilation book with the best works of Poe. Convenient and practical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Poe Poe

    Over all, i recommend reading this book, i have read about half of it when i'm in between books or want to ready a short story at night. but i recommend all to read a bit of poe !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an Awesome Collection

    This is an awesome collection to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Poe works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insight for aspiring authors

    His poems give you thrills, but his short stories provoke intense thought. This book is by no means a casual or lighthearted read; I consider it a must-have for the bookshelf of any writer who wants to gain some literary perspective and learn by example how to put real depth and density into his writing. Poe is the standard those kinds of authors must live up to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    horror beond imagination

    an outstanding book for young adults and others including the classics such as The Raven,Hop-Frog,The Black Cat ,The Pit and the Pendulum, and the Tell-Tale Heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wonderful an very teaching. Best poet ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Wonderful

    Great read evey time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A waste of time. Joke haha

    I like this because my sis has told me about this and i have herd good stories from this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Recommended!

    It is informational about Poe and has a ton of his writings. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good book

    Why would you post that over and over again people actually look at these good book love poe

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    headline

    reivew text

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Love this book!

    I am happy to keep it in my Nook!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Simply fantastic

    An amazing compilation of Poe's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    I love all the storys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh yeah!

    Hey! It is Poe - what isn't to love?!! It has all my favorites... The Raven, Masque of the Red Death, Pit & Pendulum... and some I had all but forgotten and find enjoyable all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forever a Fan

    Besides that this book has every Poe must read, there is nothing else to say. Poe's work speaks for itself. I can, however, tell you which are my favorite stories:
    The Gold Bug
    The Black Cat
    The Murders in the Rue Morgue
    The Pit and the Pendulum
    The Cask of Amontillado

    POEMS:
    The Raven (of course)
    A Dream Within A Dream

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tales and Poems Essential Poe Reading

    Like the previous Barnes and Noble publications on Poe, this is a wonderful addition for enthusiasts of this author's work. Right from the start there is a brief, two page summary of Poe and his life followed by an intriguing, more thorough examination of the world he lived in. In the final pages of this volume there are informative endnotes regarding various texts along with sections about different media inspired by Poe's works, comments and questions, and suggested further readings. The one detraction is the introduction by Benjamin F. Fisher which attempts to be scholarly in its examination of Poe and his works but, unfortunately, fails miserably in such efforts, being little more than a long winded diatribe. Had it not been for Fisher's awkward attempts at erudation I would have given a full five stars to this otherwise fine offering. This is still a worthy tome to add to one's collection. (liquidgee@comcast.net)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Truly a masterpiece!

    I first started reading Poe when I was about 12. His stories and poems are unforgettable. My absolute favorite is Annabell Lee. This is required reading for any and all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23