Customer Reviews for

Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent but not as good as her Classic Italian Cook Book

The publishers have glommed both Classic I and Classic II together and tried to "health-ify" the recipes (e.g., the Panzanella no longer has fried bread). Classic I is shamefully out of print but if you can find a copy, get that instead.

posted by citygirlNYC on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Recipes too challenging

I ended up returning this book because the recipes were too challenging for me. And I am an advanced chef. I was disappointed because i was looking forward to trying these recipes. and a lot of them required a use of a pasta machine, which I sadly don't own or rolling w...
I ended up returning this book because the recipes were too challenging for me. And I am an advanced chef. I was disappointed because i was looking forward to trying these recipes. and a lot of them required a use of a pasta machine, which I sadly don't own or rolling with a rolling pin which looks too tough for me.

posted by Foodie4Life on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent but not as good as her Classic Italian Cook Book

    The publishers have glommed both Classic I and Classic II together and tried to "health-ify" the recipes (e.g., the Panzanella no longer has fried bread). Classic I is shamefully out of print but if you can find a copy, get that instead.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    'Essential' is an understatement

    If you only buy one cookbook to help you learn about Italian cuisine, make it this one. I refer to it as the 'Bible' of Italian cooking. Very informative with practical and authentic recipes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    The only Italian Cookbook you'll need

    I used this cookbook once, and then had to have it. The recipes are easy to understand, the ingredients are accessible, and the outcome of your efforts is fabulous. This book has the absolute best recipe for meatballs you will ever eat. They are moist, flavorful, and fabulous. People ask for my meatball recipe all the time - I tell them it's my "secret". The lack of pictures is a bit off-putting, but don't let that stop you, it's the taste that matters, not matching the appearance. For a sometime cook like myself, this is the only Italian cookbook I use. I had others, but never used them once I had this. You won't be disappointed. It also makes a great gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Recipes too challenging

    I ended up returning this book because the recipes were too challenging for me. And I am an advanced chef. I was disappointed because i was looking forward to trying these recipes. and a lot of them required a use of a pasta machine, which I sadly don't own or rolling with a rolling pin which looks too tough for me.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Authentic Italian Cooking!

    Wonderful recipes

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    very good

    easy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    By far the best general Italian cookbook

    True in my collection of 250+ cookbooks Italian is not one of the largest segments, but when I want to look up something Italian this is the cookbook I generally refer to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    now, how exactly did we get through 30+ years WITHOUT THIS COOKBOOK??

    when my husband came home with this cookbook a year ago, i was a bit skeptical. a cookbook with no pictures?! hmmm... one year later, i would have to say WE LOVE THIS BOOK. we flip through its pages AT LEAST once a week, and we now know numerous recipes by heart (from having made them so often)! (yes, it's THAT good.) we have tried almost every pasta sauce recipe; multiple fish, chicken, pork, and vegetable recipes; appetizers (the roasted peppers with anchovies are one of our standards now, and is even requested by friends as our contribution to potlucks); bread and pizza dough recipes... we have yet to be disappointed by a single recipe. (yes, it's THAT good.) and how many cookbooks do you actually USE (as in, use more than a handful of recipes out of)? this book is truly amazing, and the simplicity of italian cooking has won us over. within our family, my mom now has this book, as does my brother-in-law, and my mother-in-law was extremely impressed by the multiple dishes we prepared using this book. (she gets a copy for christmas!) (yes, IT IS THAT GOOD.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Italian cooking classic

    This is a beautiful book written in a style that my mother would have appreciated. I bought it after a trip to Italy left me nostalgic for the food. I have looked at the book many times and marveled at the number of recipes. It inspires memories of my trip but does not inspire me to cook. I gave it four stars because I have so enjoyed it, maybe one day I will pick it up and be inspired to cook. I hope so because it looks like a book that a god cook would use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Perfect

    Every "Italian" Restaurant chef in America needs to go back to school with this as his textbook.

    I've studied it from cover to cover. My cooking group spent 62 weeks cooking our way through every single recipe and posted on our blog, daily. It has been a master's education in authentic Italian cooking.

    Deborah (the Tuesday Pomodoro from the blog Pomodori e Vino)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    This is a great book!

    I've had the original "Essentials" in my collection since the late '70s. It was paperback and fell apart. Now I have this, and use it CONstantly. I've also given away many copies as gifts.

    This is about the only Italian cookbook you really need, unless it's another one by Marcella.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Great Cooking Made Easy

    This is one of the best cookbooks we've ever owned (we own more than a few). Many of the recipes are simple to prepare, have few ingredients, and taste great. We've found many new uses for produce from our garden, great soups, pasta sauces, etc. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2