Customer Reviews for

Etched in Sand: A True Story of Five Siblings Who Survived an Unspeakable Childhood on Long Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the

This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the view of someone who witnessed it first hand. This is a stunning book of survival.

posted by AprilGobbLR on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great book. What that family went through and came out of was am

Great book. What that family went through and came out of was amazing.

posted by RuthieK2 on October 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the

    This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the view of someone who witnessed it first hand. This is a stunning book of survival.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Regina Calcaterra's Etched in Sand is quite the memoir. It recou

    Regina Calcaterra's Etched in Sand is quite the memoir. It recounts Regina's life in foster care and homelessness. It is a brave story told in an easy to understand manner. I applaud Regina for sharing her story.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Imagine struggling to survive in a broken foster care system. Im

    Imagine struggling to survive in a broken foster care system. Imagine that you end up homeless and alone. How would you survive? Regina Calcaterra tells exactly that story in Etched in Sand. I found the writing to be hypnotically good. I couldn't put it down.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible I don¿t even know where to start. This book is just

    Incredible

    I don’t even know where to start. This book is just that powerful. I’ve been putting off writing this review because I was trying to figure out how to put into words the impact it had on me and I’ve finally realized that I’m speechless. Absolutely speechless. And we all know that never happens. I read this book from cover to cover (until 4 am) and cried for the Calcaterra kids on numerous occasions.




    I’m getting my Master’s in Public Policy, so this book impacted me on two levels. The first was the heartbreaking story of the Calcaterra siblings, whose childhoods are demonstrative of what is wrong with our child welfare system. There were times that I wanted to scream because I was so frustrated with the protocols. The second impact has to do with Regina Calcaterra –  public policy expert. She is an incredible woman who has made her way in a man’s world, not to mention everything she had to overcome to get there. She had to conquer both the gender gap and her past. She successfully completed college and her law degree, which is no easy feat for a foster child who’s told to marry well. I can safely say that she has secured her spot on my most-admired women list (next to Hillary Clinton). I can only hope that I can enact the kind of positive change that she has.




    But back to the book.




    Etched in Sand is the true story of Regina Calcaterra and her four siblings who were forced to endure a horrific and abusive childhood. Separated and bounced around from foster home to foster home, the close-knit siblings suffered the abuse of not only their mother (when she didn’t disappear for weeks on end), but also their foster parents. When they were placed back with with their mother, Regina had to steal food to provide for her younger siblings. It’s all heart-wrenching, but perhaps the most tragic part about their story is that they were failed by social services, whose bureaucratic red tape left them fighting for themselves.




    Far from being a woe-is-me tale, this is one of perseverance and redemption. Despite the odds, all of the children survived and thrived later in life, especially Regina. Having experienced firsthand the failures of our public policies regarding aging-out foster kids, she is a strong advocate and board member for You Gotta Believe, which focuses on placing older children in foster homes. She has also put her public policy expertise to good use as the Executive Director to NYS Governor Cuomo’s Moreland Commission on Utility Storm Preparedness and Response. I could go on about her various accomplishments, but instead I’ll direct you to the author box or her website.




    The point is – you must read this book. Regardless of whether you’re a man or woman, into public policy, or experienced with the foster care system, this book WILL have an impact on you. And thanks to TLC Book Tours, I have the opportunity to send one lucky winner a copy of this book. But if you don’t win, I politely demand that you purchase it.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great book

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. No child should go through what these children did. Again, CPS did not do there job. The children had to grow up and fend for themselves way before they had to. Their mother deserved how she ended up. And those children deserve all the credit for how they turned out. Which was good, caring and wonderful adults.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Excellent book!

    The raw honesty of this book touched my heart.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    omg!!!! Highly recommend this book. those poor children went through a horror for all of their young lives. Its amazing that they survived!!!!!!!
    Please read this book. Its absolutely awesome.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I highly recommend this book! The story is gripping, intense, personal. If you ever feel like your life is difficult, pick up this book for inspiration. Regina and her siblings demonstrate resiliency, determination and love in a very unkind world. Etched in Sand is written clearly and simply and keeps the reader engaged and interested in reading more in its entirety.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Wow, Regina is one strong person!

    Riveting book. You appreciate how wonderful your own parents are/were. Eye opening that this goes on in a VERY populated area. All the best to Regina, her sisters and her brother.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Good read!! Cookie was something else. No kids deserves to go th

    Good read!! Cookie was something else. No kids deserves to go through what though kids had to endure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    amazing story.  very well written.  couldn't put it down.

    amazing story.  very well written.  couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Powerful and heartbreaking read, I could not put it down when I

    Powerful and heartbreaking read, I could not put it down when I started reading it. This book should be required reading for anyone working with children especially social workers, teachers, clergy, police, etc. I really thought our system was much better than this, it seems to have gotten much worse for children in recent times. Makes me wonder what exactly is happening to the money and resources that many, cities, states and counties receive.
    This is very well written and so honest, thank you Regina for baring your heart and soul.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    A got to read book

    When i bought this book i thought it would be basically the same type of book i have read a million times before. It turned out to be something totally different. The story was told through the childs eye and to believe all the things that happened to these kids was heartbreaking. Where their mother was so neglectful and abusive, the state was right behind her on neglect. For these children to stick together like they did was unbelieveable. To find food and shelter for each other, take beatings for each other and to give each other moral support eas way beyond their years. To become the adults they became, and mothers they became was refreshing. They didnt let their childhoods hold them back, only made them determined. I loved this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    What a heartbreaking story! It's hard to imagine how she survived these experiences and amazing that she's made such great contributions to everything she's involved in. Gods blessings to Regina!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Excellent book!

    I loved this book. Very easy to read but very sad with a great outcome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Excellent

    This was an excellent book that really captured the ever plight of foster children living in a world without natural and community resources that should be a basic human right.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Exceptional amazing book. Regina and her siblings suffered horre

    Exceptional amazing book. Regina and her siblings suffered horrendous abuse at the hands of their own mother. I cried when I read it. I so wish parents would just love their children and no one would be put in foster care. Children need love and care and nurturing. Kudos to you Regina for writing this powerful story of your life. You are a true survivor. Forgive your mother no matter what and you will be free.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Children being raised by an abusive mother.  How these children

    Children being raised by an abusive mother.  How these children survived is amazing.  This book tugged at my heart.  Thank you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Incredible

    Wonderfully written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Sad but a greatbook

    This is a sad but wonderful book. The children have been through a lot and end up breaking the cycle. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9