Customer Reviews for

Etched in Sand: A True Story of Five Siblings Who Survived an Unspeakable Childhood on Long Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the

This is a stunning depiction of the Foster Care system from the view of someone who witnessed it first hand. This is a stunning book of survival.

posted by AprilGobbLR on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book. What that family went through and came out of was am

Great book. What that family went through and came out of was amazing.

posted by RuthieK2 on October 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Wow, Regina is one strong person!

    Riveting book. You appreciate how wonderful your own parents are/were. Eye opening that this goes on in a VERY populated area. All the best to Regina, her sisters and her brother.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Children being raised by an abusive mother.  How these children

    Children being raised by an abusive mother.  How these children survived is amazing.  This book tugged at my heart.  Thank you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Really good....

    I do not usually read autobiographies, especially not ones about horrible childhoods, being a survivor myself i prefer to forget, but this was really pretty good. Child welfare has a lot to answer for. Regina is a remarkable woman.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Relatable, informative, riveting

    The summary and blurbs about this book scared me a little because I don't like gruesome. But I do love children and sympathize about their inherent helplessness. Once I got it, I waited a few days before opening it. However, I found I needn't have suffered buyer's regret because it was an easy read - interestingly told about street-wise children attuned to surviving day to day.

    Though there was some gut-wrenching incidents, the details of the story was mostly how the clever and surprisingly-caring siblings adapted to their situation. I have questions about this real-life story: how did the older children learn to be so loving since they certainly had no role models? How did Norman turn out - he was the scrawny only brother. He did attend family gatherings but much detail is left out about him. Did the girls really turn out to be superb mothers, and not back-slide a little into their past?

    I feel the author is protecting her siblings to a certain extent in order for them to agree to have their names revealed and life story told. I certainly do not blame her, but it is a thought that has to cross readers' minds. Camille and Regina come across as very admirable women, as does oldest sister, Cherie. The bad guy is the incredibly selfish father who could have helped his daughter. And definitely the foster care system needs more effective monitors in place.

    If you have a heart, you will be affected by this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Etched in sand

    Excellent and poignant memoir. The childhood abuses were horrendous. Beautifully written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    True story

    Real good. Kept me reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Thought provoking

    This book really brings out life in a different world. To think a young girl who had to suffer through what she did & still persevere to the life she has now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost unbelievable but true!

    This is a true story and most likely other children are suffering through unbelievable experiences such as this author did. I admire Ms Calcaterra for sharing her story with us, and I hope many people read it so that some of the people who have children or planning to do so will think twice if they feel they will not be good mothers or fathers. I think it's very sad when children have children, and when we look at a situation where this happens, the blame must be shared by not only the child but also parents. And there again if adults have no idea about raising a child...then don't have one! I have lived long enough to know there are bad people in this world, but had no idea that any mother could be just plain heartless when it comes to an innocent child! And my heart breaks when I realize many precious children are trapped in this exact situation as written about in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great book!

    Insightful story about the foster care system and being resilient

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Excellent

    An amazing story! The strength and resilience of the author and her siblings is nothing short of a miracle and proof that some people are able to overcome overwhelming odds to rise above adversity and make it in life. You will be rooting for this amazing young woman to keep persevering and not give up. She not only completed her education but became quite successful. Her brother and sister remained close to each other also which was very satisfying to know. As I said an amazing story and highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Recommended

    Sad to believe that any mother could treat their children this way, that mother will never know what she lost. The strength in these children is amazing. It just goes to prove if you want something bad enough you can make it happen. Congrads!!!! Be proud of who you are and the family you have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Best $1.99 i ever spent on a book

    If this were a fictional account,it would strain your credulity. That is is a calmly told real life account makes it that much more powerful. These five kids are real heros, meaning their past and present lives are worthy reading and worth studying and emulating. If this doesn't make you want to find a organization that helps current or "aged-out" foster kids, nothing will. A beautiful story of triumph over impossible odds thanks to dedication to education and the unbreakable love of five siblings for one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Someone we should all strive to be like

    Good read. I enjoyed her writing of the past more so than the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Wonderful story

    It's a well written book with a compelling story to tell....of heartbreak and survival. The cruelties these children had to endure eventually made them the strong adults they grew into. It's interesting to note the real neglect came from the foster care system. I had no idea it was such a mess. Very interesting story. My hats off to the author for the choices she made in life and her perseverance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Very good book. Well written.

    I love a good "Real story" but this one was hard to read. It's an amazing story about resilience and family. It's sad that these types of stories are real in America. Great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    I found this book very touching and and upsetting how the system

    I found this book very touching and and upsetting how the system works I was wishing I was a social worker that could make a change in how the system works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Great book

    Simply a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Awesome!

    I felt many different emotions while reading this, fear, anger, saddness, and even a little guilt You wont be sorry if you get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Excellent book

    Gripping story. Well wtitten. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    No comment.

    No comment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3