Customer Reviews for

Eternal (Tantalize Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Original!

Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian a...
Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian angel makes the mistake of revealing himself in order to save her. Ending is yet another twist that will leave you in tears or at the very least a bit misty-eyed.

posted by Elocin_Miller on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good

I liked this book and it held my interest the whole way through, but I couldn't help feeling like something was missing. The story and plot were great, but it seemed to me that there was a lack of emotion or something in the writing that made me feel detached from the ...
I liked this book and it held my interest the whole way through, but I couldn't help feeling like something was missing. The story and plot were great, but it seemed to me that there was a lack of emotion or something in the writing that made me feel detached from the story. Maybe it's just me. Like I said, I liked it and enjoyed it, but I wouldn't read it again. Would I recommend it? Yeah, but maybe borrow it instead of buy it.

posted by Lily_Cullen on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Good

    I liked this book and it held my interest the whole way through, but I couldn't help feeling like something was missing. The story and plot were great, but it seemed to me that there was a lack of emotion or something in the writing that made me feel detached from the story. Maybe it's just me. Like I said, I liked it and enjoyed it, but I wouldn't read it again. Would I recommend it? Yeah, but maybe borrow it instead of buy it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Original!

    Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian angel makes the mistake of revealing himself in order to save her. Ending is yet another twist that will leave you in tears or at the very least a bit misty-eyed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    only ok

    This book was only ok. I found myself getting bored while reading it. I did read it in a day so maybe that means something positive, but I felt like I was scanning the last 60 pages or so. I think it had a lot of potential, but it just lost me somewhere along the way. Plus the ending was...kind of blah. I only recommend this book if you can't find another book that you want to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I expected a little more out of this story. I found myself just wanting to hurry up and finish it. It was boring and slow. Towards the end it rambled a little. This is a book to read only if you want to pass time. This is definitely a book to borrow and not buy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eternal

    Agh! This story could have been so much better if it had started out catching my interest. It was not a book I couldn't put down, and therefore, it took me forever to finish. The characteres were conflicting and also contradicting. The ending was predictable, and I felt I needed more closure. It was hard to follow the storyline. I do not recommend this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It is said that we all have a guardian angel ....

    If you love Stephenie Meyers then you're sure to enjoy Cynthia Leitich Smith's novel, Eternal. A light read, it takes us through the short term mortality of a teenage girl while her temporarily disabled guardian angel tries desperately to save her from eternal damnation even at the expense of losing himself. All through this conflict the two struggle with their growing love for one another. Fresh and entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Angels are everywhere, especially those who guard human beings.

    Zachary is Miranda's guardian angel, or GA within the heavenly realm. He has watched and protected Miranda since she was a child. He is forbidden from revealing his heavenly presence to Miranda, but can secretly guide, suggest, and influence the course of her life.

    Zach thought he was doing a great job, until Miranda falls into the hands of an eternal - or vampire, as they are more commonly known. Zachary is immediately stripped of his wings and powers, and is forced to find redemption on terra firma.

    Zach may not have been able to save Miranda from a vampire, but there may be a chance of saving her soul from eternal damnation.

    ETERNAL was an excellent read! I enjoyed how Cynthia Leitich Smith alternated the narrative between Zachary and Miranda. It was refreshing to see and hear the perspectives of both characters. Smith has also cleverly woven bits of Stoker's Dracula, Dickens' A Tale of Two Cities, and Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet into the plot. As an English teacher, it thrills me to see contemporary authors alluding to classic pieces of literature.

    This novel is definitely a page-turner. It is filled with danger, deception, humor, love, sadness, and hope. I think that I was most surprised with the ending. Readers, including myself, will be saddened by what happens between Zachary and Miranda, but Smith also leaves us with a glimmer of hope.

    That idea of hope is what will bring readers back again and again to Smith's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    VERY Good!

    This was a great book. It is told in 1st person by two people, Miranda and Zachary. The switch in 1st person was something to get used to at first, but in the end I think the switching in narratives actually enhances the story. This book is much more dark than most YA novels, however I think her conclusion in this novel was just perfect. The ending really makes the whole book come together and I highly recommend reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic ending!

    I was immediately intrigued by this book but when I saw that it was the "sequel" to Tantilze (after I had already brought it) I wasn't going to read it seeing as how I absolutely hated Tantilze! The only thing that made me look at it twice was how it said a totally different cast was going to be featured in this book and then the first page drew me and I went with it.

    While this story is INCREDIBLY better than the first, that's not saying much. I still found the whole universe that Smith created in this series to be ridiculously childish and unrealistic.

    HOWEVER! The character of Zachary is incredible! The ending to this book was amazing! I was expecting something cheesy and lovey dovey, butthe edning of this book is the only reason I'm writing a review! When I found out there was going to be a third book where the two previous books characters collide I was immediately interested just based off how the second book ended. This is saying something seeing as how I did not plan on ever reading these books again until I got to the final three chapters!

    All in all, It worth a read once over, but not something you're going ot be hooked on for life

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yuck!

    What really was the point of this book!?!?!
    It was weird and just plain dumb....I'm still confused on the time period it took place in! They lived in some weirdo kingdom underground, but yet still they had modern items.
    I would NOT reccomend this book to a friend, I am quite surprised I was even able to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ...Libraries were made for a reason. :D

    Hi. :)
    This is my first review, and hope it helps. Plus, I was going to write this after fuming for a couple of days after reading a few pages, but no I waited 3 months to cool down. :D

    I haven't read the other books, and...with the way this book held me for only maybe 30 pages, I won't be picking them up anytime soon. Some details of the parts I read are lost to me, but I do remember some scenes.

    As the headline says, I picked this up from my local library. I saw that it had angels (0:) ) and vampires (>:E ) in it and thought 'ey maybe this is something interesting. The whole concept seemed so.catchy. :3

    When I first started reading, I didn't feel a pull into a story. The grammar in this story turned me into a lone bandit, who was raiding a city blind while the all people looking at me.

    Some of the bits just made go "Huh.?" For example, the one scene when (I can't remember the main girl's name) she first woke up and was getting the details of whatever has happened to her from Daddy- okay that was not creepy, and she stood and glided across the room naked and she didn't care. That was when I decided it might be time to put it down the book, not because she was nude, no, it was because that was how it was written- maybe if I'm remembering correctly.though it I fear might be so. Dx

    The guardian angel.or the fallen angel dud, he.was interesting. I think he was why I kept reading up to the point where I was ready to do the worst thing you could do to a book, burn it. I value books with all my heat, but if one had to bring me to the point where I think of burning it.then there is either something wrong with me or "it". Anyway back to the angel, he just seemed like a guy that got hit by the rotten end of the stick, well at least to where I read up to.

    The fall (pun xD) for this book for me is the grammar because without it, you, my friend have no story. Without that very important detail in a book, you are the child being thrown into a pool, expected to swim on your first try. Even though there are other points that bothered me, I won't go into them because if these flaws were handled a little bit better, I think I would've finished it. Also, I haven't read much in while (busy with school) and because of this book, I more cautious then ever was when choosing a book either at the library or B&N.

    For the people who enjoyed or yet to enjoy, I'm happy you guys got/get a better experience from this story then I did and this book did have certain things I wished the writer elaborated on (maybe it's in the other books?), but it didn't.

    Have a good day/afternoon/evening to wherever you may be,
    Laur93 v^-^v

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Love it, loved it, loved it!

    I dare say that I liked this book better than Twighlight. The vampires had more edge. I've always been into vampires, werewolves, guardian angels & fashion. To have all four reflected in a book was phenomenal, and the ending was perfect. It was just as it should be. I would love to see this book become a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eternal

    The main character was a bit flawed. I found myself getting angry with her. Her personality was just plain bad. This is a book for those Twilight Fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angels and Demons Meet

    At first I couldn't get into the book but was soon couldn't put it down. Being not in series made it a short read. But the writing was great and seeing the two different takes on things from the characters made it very intersting to be going back and forth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was decent

    find some cheap used copy or maybe borrow it from a friend, its worth a read, but not a permanent collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ehh.

    I didn't really understand this book. It didn't catch my attention. I thought this would be a good book, but really i was just wondering what this book is really about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    Eternal

    Suprisingly,I adored this book.
    I could not stand tantalize,it was such a bore I barley even remember what it was about.
    Though I loved the characters in this book:D
    I didn't have high expectations for this book, I just needed a new book to read and I liked the cover, and I was not dissapointed with it.
    I can't wait for the thrid book:D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    decent

    i thought this book would be awesome, but it wasn't. i thought it was good but as alot of people say it was lacking somehting i just wish it was a little better it kept me interested but i dont know just somehting wasn't there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    :(

    i didn't like this book. it didn't hold my intrest at all. while i was reading it i lost focus a lot and skipped some pages. And the ending was not what i expected. I felt the same with TAntalize.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Eh

    Want bhe nex booj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11