Customer Reviews for

Eternal (Tantalize Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Original!

Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian a...
Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian angel makes the mistake of revealing himself in order to save her. Ending is yet another twist that will leave you in tears or at the very least a bit misty-eyed.

posted by Elocin_Miller on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good

I liked this book and it held my interest the whole way through, but I couldn't help feeling like something was missing. The story and plot were great, but it seemed to me that there was a lack of emotion or something in the writing that made me feel detached from the ...
I liked this book and it held my interest the whole way through, but I couldn't help feeling like something was missing. The story and plot were great, but it seemed to me that there was a lack of emotion or something in the writing that made me feel detached from the story. Maybe it's just me. Like I said, I liked it and enjoyed it, but I wouldn't read it again. Would I recommend it? Yeah, but maybe borrow it instead of buy it.

posted by Lily_Cullen on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Original!

    Eternal follows the story of a young High Schooler who just can't find her place in life. The in crowd constantly mocks, humiates, and makes life hell for her. A shocking turn of events lead to her becoming a vampiress and a popular one at that! All while her gaurdian angel makes the mistake of revealing himself in order to save her. Ending is yet another twist that will leave you in tears or at the very least a bit misty-eyed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Angels are everywhere, especially those who guard human beings.

    Zachary is Miranda's guardian angel, or GA within the heavenly realm. He has watched and protected Miranda since she was a child. He is forbidden from revealing his heavenly presence to Miranda, but can secretly guide, suggest, and influence the course of her life.

    Zach thought he was doing a great job, until Miranda falls into the hands of an eternal - or vampire, as they are more commonly known. Zachary is immediately stripped of his wings and powers, and is forced to find redemption on terra firma.

    Zach may not have been able to save Miranda from a vampire, but there may be a chance of saving her soul from eternal damnation.

    ETERNAL was an excellent read! I enjoyed how Cynthia Leitich Smith alternated the narrative between Zachary and Miranda. It was refreshing to see and hear the perspectives of both characters. Smith has also cleverly woven bits of Stoker's Dracula, Dickens' A Tale of Two Cities, and Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet into the plot. As an English teacher, it thrills me to see contemporary authors alluding to classic pieces of literature.

    This novel is definitely a page-turner. It is filled with danger, deception, humor, love, sadness, and hope. I think that I was most surprised with the ending. Readers, including myself, will be saddened by what happens between Zachary and Miranda, but Smith also leaves us with a glimmer of hope.

    That idea of hope is what will bring readers back again and again to Smith's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angels and Demons Meet

    At first I couldn't get into the book but was soon couldn't put it down. Being not in series made it a short read. But the writing was great and seeing the two different takes on things from the characters made it very intersting to be going back and forth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Eternal

    I love it to death. Its the best angle and vampire love story!!!!!!!!!!! <3 :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Have not read

    But i have read other book by her i love them very good i i recamend reading her books my fav so far was haunted love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Amazing Novel! This novel was definitley the best one ive read

    Amazing Novel!

    This novel was definitley the best one ive read so far! Its got everything you'd look for; the action you'd want, drama, and of course never ending romance. In this perfectly composed novel written by Mrs.Cynthia.
    This novel starts off very very slow, but one you start getting to about chapter 4 it really picks up. It has the insicure teen girl, the handsome hero, and last but not least; the villan. read it yourself and prepare to be amazed! If your into all thoes vampire, werewolfs, and all other fictional characters, boy are you in for a treat! would i recomend it? of course I would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Eternaly greatful I read it

    After reading Tantalize, I knew I would love Eternal. And my prediction was right. The plot was amazing and so were the characters. I could feel the love between Zachary and Miranda. Just the way Zachary talks about Miranda tells you that he is deeply in love with her. I'm glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Good book

    This is a good book and if you love twilight you will love this book as well. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    loved it

    loved everything about this book EXCEPT the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Black Fingernailed Reviews

    Good thing i knew ahead of time that there wouldn't be the same cast of characters in Eternal as there were in Tantalize, otherwise it might have been a huge bummer. As it was I had the chance to appreciate the new characters from beginning to end.


    I really feel like I have to compliment Smith for the characters in this book. I had such a struggle with trying to relate to the underdeveloped characters in Tantalize at first that the very well developed and easy to relate to characters of Eternal were a huge relief. So kudos for making me put myself in Zachary and Miranda's shoes from beginning to end.


    That said...man did those characters know how to creep me out sometimes. I could not, no matter how hard I tried, get over the maids tongues bit (*shudders*).


    Miranda, I could relate to from the beginning, so when she becomes the merciless raining princess of the damned...well I might have maybe grieved the sweet geekly girl she once was. The vampi-princess version of her, definitely knew how to creep me out on occasion. But I fell for her too after a while.


    Zachary was pretty much the perfect, and i do mean perfect, male lead. His character was more complex than that, and not at all shallow or see-through. But I don't want to say too much here because I may wind up spoiling the story for you.


    The 'king of darkness' was interesting. I don't know why I always find the bad-guys interesting. But his character was more complex then some, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching him unravel and learning more about what made him the way he is...or ya know was...before.


    You all know how I'm a total sucker for the 'supporting' characters who have the smaller roles in the story. So I have to say i was very impressed with Hamilton (caus' he was always around to make you laugh). Also really liked Sabine...probably because her character was important yet not as detailed as some, so it leaves a lot of room for mystery...and my imagination.


    As for the mythology and obvious Dracula relations, I was in love. I really loved the mix of vampires and angels and all the different were-creatures. My only complaint is that I kinda...maybe wanted another sadistic were-cat to appear.


    One thing i really liked about the story was that the humor was never short and the dialogue was spot-on and believable. It's something i didn't mention in my review of Tantalize, but I really love Smith's ability to make all transitions in the story fluent, understandable, and believable.

    Eternal is fast paced, kick-butt, and unforgettably creep-tacular. If you (like me) had problems with the characters in Tantalize and (unlike me) hesitate to pick up the next book...here's me telling you that you'll likely regret not checking this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Great Book

    This is one of the best books I have ever read! I wish there were more books out there like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was pretty good!The right thing has to happen in the end even if the right thing hurts and makes you cry.

    Zachary, a gardian angle falls in love with {his girl}Miranda.instead of letting Miranda die and go to heaven he reveals himself{which he's not suppose to do}to save her from fallen in the grave, but he changes her life .Shes turned into an eternal{a vampire}, now he must save her or she will lose her soul forever.I cried at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    I go through books like a little kid would go through Halloween candy and I just want to say I loved it cannot wait until the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It is Mesmirizing!

    Eternal is like no other book I've ever read before!
    (Seeing how many books I read each week.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book was great

    this book was a great read i would read it again and again if i had the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book

    I love the gothic under tone and the combo of vampire and angel and am just in love if you have a crush on Edward Cullen you will fall for Zachary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    Really Great

    I loved this book, I reccommend it to everyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the ending

    i loved the whole book from the very beginning but i want to know if theres a second book? if so i recomend it, it was that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4