Customer Reviews for

Eternal Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You're missing out if you leave this one behind...very original...very intriguing...a must have on your shelf!!

I really enjoy reading fantasy novels. However, with all of the vampire franchises and witches, and wizards, etc...it is very hard to pick up an original concept these days. Eternal Earth:Secrets Untold is a brand new concept. A story of young hereos out to save the wor...
I really enjoy reading fantasy novels. However, with all of the vampire franchises and witches, and wizards, etc...it is very hard to pick up an original concept these days. Eternal Earth:Secrets Untold is a brand new concept. A story of young hereos out to save the world. But the world they are trying to save was painted amazingly by Leaveil Dabney. I have never invisioned a world like the one he created. I fell in love with each of the characters in this story and could not put it down to save my life! And of course you can't go wrong with a love story!! This is a must have on my shelf as it should be on yours! If you love fantasy novels and you want something fresh...its simple...read this one!

posted by Bellamylove on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than I originally thought...

This one is from a new author and I will admit, he did a pretty good job for his debut novel. What makes it funny is I've seen the guy who wrote the book before. We both live in Newport News, VA. I wonder if he knows he wrote a good book? If he reads this I just wanted ...
This one is from a new author and I will admit, he did a pretty good job for his debut novel. What makes it funny is I've seen the guy who wrote the book before. We both live in Newport News, VA. I wonder if he knows he wrote a good book? If he reads this I just wanted to tell him that I will be waiting for the second book. I am excited to see what happens to Levi and the gang and to see what Kesean and Kecoughtan will do once they are joined.

posted by truefantasyfan on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Outstanding!

    This is an awesome read! Definitely captivating and keeps you guessing until the end, at least I hope it's not the end! Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    I'm a big fantasy fan, and always impressed when something new and fresh hits the streets. The characters have great depth and the world truly comes alive.

    Excellent job on this one! A very, very promising new author.

    Like I said, I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    OMG!!!

    I hardly find local talent this exciting to write about but this author earned this positive review. I don't know the guy but I bought a book from him a few weeks ago just thinking i'd give it to my kid to read, but my kid gave it back to me after reading it and told me I was missing out. My kid has a pretty good understanding what good writing is so I gave the book a try. 3 words... OMG!!! Now I wish I knew the author better so I could shake his hand on the great job he did. Hopefully he reads these review. If so, Leaveil, I salute you on this book. When does the second one come out? I'm lost in the Spirit Balance and I am dying for more...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    classic cliff-hanger ending...

    As a reader, I love it when the author leaves the door wide open for a continued story. Author Leaveil Dabney not only does a great job of story telling and paiting vivid images, he also ended the book with an ending that I must say, was an exciting up-hill roller coaster. I loved this book and have recommended it to all my fantasy reading book club friends. When I read this I honestly felt as if I was one of the characters. Although Levi is the main character, Jay was by far my favorite with his on-going humor through-out the story. If I had an Inner Spirit I would hope to have an "awesome" power as well.

    I look forward to seeing what else this author writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Leaveil Dabney's Eternal Earth: Secrets Untold

    A fascinating world created though an intelligent mind, Leaveil Dabney leads his main charcters on a search for answers to save Levi's love, Sarah. Facing Younglings and Body Snatchers, what will hapen to the threesome as they traavel through lands of unknown dangers, while Klaw-bak slowly destroys the Human Balance? This books will have your heart thumping with excitment, anger, and anxiety as you follow Levi and his friends through the Spirit Balance and battle unknown dangers. (Ssummary by Emily Neklason)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great Book from a New Author

    This book was impossible to put down. The only bad thing I can say is I got very little sleep until it was done! Characters and places were richly described, the storyline was well planned, and the characters were very easy to empathize with. Eternal Earth was a concept that I think has been previously unexplored and it was an amazing beginning to a lucrative writing career for the author. Highly Recommend to anyone looking for an imaginative escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Fresh new fantasy adventure!

    Looking for a book to fill the void after finishing the Harry Potter series? This is the book for you. While this book grabs and pulls you into the story like the Potter series, its storyline is fresh and will awaken your imagination with a whole new cast of characters. The enchanted land of the Spirit Balance with its blue grass and green skies will keep you turning pages for hours. The author paints the characters and scenes so vividly you will quickly find yourself submerged into the book and having a hard time putting it down. The unexpected twists and surprises puts this fantasy adventure in a league of its own. I read the book in a few days and can¿t wait to see what is next for this upcoming new author! I want to know what is in store next for Levi and his friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Better than I originally thought...

    This one is from a new author and I will admit, he did a pretty good job for his debut novel. What makes it funny is I've seen the guy who wrote the book before. We both live in Newport News, VA. I wonder if he knows he wrote a good book? If he reads this I just wanted to tell him that I will be waiting for the second book. I am excited to see what happens to Levi and the gang and to see what Kesean and Kecoughtan will do once they are joined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Definitely Recommend-hard to put it down!

    I have to say I don't have much experience reading fantasy however, this book is HARD TO PUT DOWN... So far I have really enjoyed the authors descriptions of the characters and the Spirit Balance. Thank you to the author Leaveil Dabney for making me want to read fantasy. Hard to believe that a human can imagine all of those characters and describe everything so vividly... Again awesome job, and hope we will get another one after this...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    two words... NAILED IT!

    Kudos to the writer who wrote this one. Besides the beautiful images decribed throughout the story, the writer actually looks like he has skills in setting up a good story... Which is hard for any writer, let alone for this being his first novel. I loved the story! Its not your everyday "save the world" type story. What made it worth reading for me was the the 1000 year old love story combined with a spin on teenage love. I said it once but I'll say it again, Mr. Dabney nailed it when he wrote this one. Can't wait till a part two shows up. And if you read this Leaveil Dabney, don't leave us fans waiting too long on the sequal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    You're missing out if you leave this one behind...very original...very intriguing...a must have on your shelf!!

    I really enjoy reading fantasy novels. However, with all of the vampire franchises and witches, and wizards, etc...it is very hard to pick up an original concept these days. Eternal Earth:Secrets Untold is a brand new concept. A story of young hereos out to save the world. But the world they are trying to save was painted amazingly by Leaveil Dabney. I have never invisioned a world like the one he created. I fell in love with each of the characters in this story and could not put it down to save my life! And of course you can't go wrong with a love story!! This is a must have on my shelf as it should be on yours! If you love fantasy novels and you want something fresh...its simple...read this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    If you put this book down, you will not know the full story

    Eternal Earth is fantastic! So many mysteries and puzzles to solve in this book, whay will you discover as you follow Levi and his friends through the dangerous yet beautiful land known as Eternal Earth? Discover what it means to have courage and love in your life! Thank you, Leaveil Dabney, for this amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    A must read for all Fantasy lovers!

    Eternal Earth: Secrets Untold has the reader following three teenage boys as they embark on a journey to save the lives of those they love. Levi, Jay, and Cadence travel to the mystical Spirit Balance where they find things the likes of which they’d only read about in their comic books. The boys and the reader discover the secrets of the Spirit Balance together, creating a satisfyingly unpredictable novel. The characters themselves are beautifully written, making the reader feel as if they are actually inside the head of a 17-year-old boy.
    Dabney creates a world that embodies the ancient Asian concept of yin yang; complimentary opposites that cannot exist without the other. His two worlds, the Spirit Balance and the Human Balance, are completely separate yet inherently linked to one another. In the Spirit Balance the rain rises up from the ground to create clouds in the sky that drop the rain down in the Human Balance. Dabney’s creativity presents the reader with a mystical yet logical world that keeps them wondering what he will think of next.
    This author’s debut novel is a remarkable piece, showcasing his talent for creativity and exceptional writing skill. Eternal Earth: Secrets Untold is a must read for Fantasy lovers of all ages. I eagerly await his future novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    highly recommended- good setup for a second book

    I really enjoyed the book it started off a little slow but once it picked up it maintained my attention.

    P.S. hurry up and write the second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A must read!!

    I am new to reading fantasy but a friend of mine recommended this to read. I must admit I was not dissapointed. This story is a page-turner. I just hope the author writes part 2 sooner than later. I will be recommending this to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    hard to put down

    I don't fantasy read much, but this book was indeed hard to put down. Great story, characters and villian. Looking forward to seeing if the author will produce a sequel.

    Looking for a good read, can't go wrong with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Leaveil is a GREAT writter and also a GREAT peron as well. I picked up the book and it was a NON-STOP read. My imagination played it like it was a mini movie, I could see EVERYTHING and felt like I was there apart of the story. I cant wait for the sequel, it will be just as good, exciting and well worth the wait. I recommend this book to any and everybody, esp the fantasy lover's. Keep up the good work my friend! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1