Customer Reviews for

Eternal Flame (Night Watch Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everlasting burning passion.

    Zane Wynter is a sexy half-demon, the son of a human mother and a powerful but vicious demon. After overcoming his violent past he atones as a member of the supernatural bounty hunter group, Night Watch. Zane is very strong and can control fire at will. While hunting down a perpetrator, who'd been killing for the vampires in Baton Rouge, Zane rescues an innocent looking woman from a burning house. Unaware that the beautiful damsel in distress started the blaze in the first place, he kisses her as an indication of the scorching heat that will eventually consume them. Jana Carter is an Igniter, a human capable of harnessing fire, who is on the run. Being hunted by Night Watch at request of the FBI, who has her on its extermination list, and by her former associates, the members of Project Perseus. An extreme vigilantes group whose goal is to destroy all paranormal beings, including those who are no harm to humans. Aware of their evil plans, Jana refuses to collaborate any more with Perseus, but they want her back at any cost. In spite of their mutual mistrust, Jana and Zane unite forces in bringing down Perseus. I like Jana's personality and grit. Specially the way she protects Zane, who doesn't really needs protection. When Perseus' masterminds realize about Zane's power, they try to coerce him to join their cruel cause in exchange for Jana's life. Both Jana and Zane must deal with their innermost fears and vulnerabilities. Eternal Flame is Night Watch's Book 3, but like the other books in the series can be read alone. It has an elaborated plot with plenty of nail-biting twists, breathtaking love scenes. and extraordinary characters. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Wow!!

    I'm wondering why it took me so long to pick up a Cynthia Eden book. I was hooked from the very first page. Eternal Flame had non-stop action. I mean, literally. One thing winds down, and then all of a sudden, the hero and heroine, Jana and Zane, found themselves once again on the go, trying to avoid danger, and from the people that wanted to kill either one of them. The stakes are high, the sparks are flying between the two, and I was taken in on a long, wild ride. What I can say about this book- expect the unexpected. The twists and turns until the ending will have you gasping for air and then begging for more. I really didn't want this book to end. I need more Cynthia Eden!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    A wild ride!

    Cynthia Eden keeps getting better. In the world of the Others, it's hybrid-demon Zane's story from Eden's Night Watchers series. Instead of taking in Jana, a human Igniter, Zane is taken in by her. And so was I, from page one to the end, resenting every time I had to put it down. It's a whirlwind ride and I didn't want to get off. Both Jana and Zane have secrets and a lot of mistrust--and a lot of reasons for the mistrust. Just as you think everything is going to be okay, something worse happens and you have to keep reading to see how they get out of it. Or IF they'll get out of it. This story was hot and edge of the seat, with characters who jumped off the pages and into my heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great Read

    Sexy story with good characters. Jana is particularly funny, when she drags Zane to the swamp and he is drugged up from being shot; Jana's thoughts in the book had me laughing with her thinking:
    "Alone with a drugged demon. Hello dream date."-Cynthia Eden
    That was too funny. I like the worlds she creates with all sort of supernaturals mixed together. I really do hope to read more books like this.

    Kitsune

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Love this series!

    I am not much into the "Other" kind of stuff.... but I have loved reading her books. Great characters and spell-binding plot. And yummy bounty hunters. Hopelessly hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exhilarating Others urban fantasy

    In New Orleans, Night Watch Zane Wynter rescues a female from a fiery death; he was unable to save the other occupant vampire serial killing demon Henry Jacobson who he came to arrest. Zane kisses the vamp's b*tch he rescued. His mistake was not realizing who and what she is as she took out a malevolent demon and destroyed the evidence. Using an ambulance she leaves the murder scene.

    Zane's boss Pak believes an Ignitor set this flame and several others that killed the supernatural. Pak assigns Zane his best bounty hunter who can handle the fire to capture the serial killing Ignitor. Abashed as he was duped, Zane goes after Jana Carter who flees for Baton Rouge. Zane actually feels sorry for Jana; as he shares a similar horrific upbringing being forced to kill to survive as a half-breed demon-human child. However, he will do his duty. Instead he joins her flight from a deadly secretive cartel whose goal is the genocide of all monsters. What neither knows is that the group wanting them dead has plans to use Jana as a weapon of mass destruction to murder the Others before killing her.

    This is an exhilarating Others urban fantasy (see Eternal Hunter) as two obstinate individuals play a deadly game of cat and mouse unaware that in the shadows lurks a deadlier predator manipulating both of them in a bigger game. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action from the first scream of help by the vamp's b*tch and never slows down as the couple must trust one another to watch their back or die, which may happen anyway. Although the romance feels more of a sub-genre requirement that is forced into the plot; readers will enjoy the gender war of survival between the Ignitor and the Night Watch enforcer.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    I guess...

    I dont think it looks that good so ill pass this time... i tried to read one a few years ago and just couldnt get into it so this one probably wont be any better. It just looks like a love story on steroids that needs to gather up the main idea. This wasnt well organized. Ya sorry that u wasted ur time reading this negative review but thats what this page is for ,right? Yes it is and it feels good to get it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    I hate...

    I will never like books again because of this series.cynthia eden is an author id prefer to forget about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Love the paranormal book

    Loved the story line with Simon and Dee and their story. Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Dragon rp

    Will not be on till next day. But plzz join and ill answer your posts tommorrow!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Love Zanes Story.

    Love Zanes story. He's cool and layed back about his powers so nobody knows how strong he really is until she comes into his life. Good read. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay addition

    After reading several of Eden's other paranormal books, I'm a bit disappointed in Zane's story. I didn't enjoy the story or the main characters as much as others she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Love it!

    I love Cynthia Eden. I have yet to dislike any of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Intriguing

    I enjoyed this book - it had a more complex plot than I expected which kept it fast paced and exciting to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I read it - and then I had to read it again.

    I've been anxiously awaiting this book since I read Eternal Hunter (Night Watch #1). Oh Cynthia Eden you are a dark chocolate crack addiction. The Night Watch series follows bounty hunters who are more than they appear; they're Other - paranormal shifters, demons, vampires, charmers - they take care of the things that go bump in the night. They aren't perfect people, but they're trying and it's that constant struggle of nature vs nurture and choice that make these book really awesome. They're dark and gritty and hopeful - oh yeah - and sexy.

    Eternal Flame follows possibly my favorite character of the Night Watch crew; Zane, a hybrid demon who is proof that hybrids can have all the perks. In the previous book, I'll Be Slaying You (Night Watch #2), Zane had a run in with an Ignitor - a person who can start fires with a thought. Suffice to say, they're not his favorite people. So when Jana is both an Ignitor and attempts to play him - things don't go too well, at least not for her.

    I like how the characters continued to have flaws; just because the book is over doesn't mean the characters have shored up those cracks in their personalities, they keep living with them. It's probably one of my favs about Cynthia Edens characters; they seem like real people - ya know, if your neighbor was a white tiger shifter or something.

    The Night Watch books are action packed - but Eternal Flame seems to take that to a whole new level. I was about halfway through the book and thinking: This can't get any better, this is awesome! And then it pulls out the stops and keeps going. If you're looking for something that's steamy, paranormal, and full of action the Night Watch books are the thing to buy into. And you know what's even more awesome? It looks like there's a forthcoming book in this series/world due out in June called Never Cry Wolf. Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    highly recommended

    Hybrid demon Zane Wynter specializes in tracking the most lethal of criminals you can track you if you are a human or an Other. He always gets his man. Criminals even fear him. Janna Carter is Zane's newest target. But she is more than just another criminal he has to bring to justice. Secretive and lethal in her own right, she is an Ignitor, one of the most deadly Zane has ever encountered. She is also sexy and smart and used to getting her way.

    Jana knows she is being set up and she even knows by whom - Project Perseus, a secret group that wants to rid the world of paranormals. And they don't care how they accomplish the task. They are radicals to the extreme - bent on destroying what they do not understand - and Jana knows she must stop them. Zane might be her only hope of help, but that would mean trusting him. Will Jana come to trust Zane before it is too late for them both?

    Cynthia Eden is a go-to author for me because she develops alpha heroes and strong feminine heroines that I fall in love with, and Eternal Flame is no exception. The character chemistry just about leaps off the pages and brings you into the story, making the reader a part of the adventure and romance.

    Jana is a scrappy, witty and dangerous heroine. I wouldn't want to be on her wrong side. She can hold her own in a fight, but she still has a femininity that shines through, which I particularly like in my heroines. Zane is an alpha hero, my favorite kind of guy. Strong, with a heart of gold, with a bit of bad boy thrown in, he is a tough as steel warrior that you would not want to meet in a fight. I wanted more exposure to him; it is hard to let go of a good man like Zane at the end of a book.

    Overall, I would highly recommend any Cynthia Eden book, but this one is an amazing read, with all its fast-paced action blended with steamy-hot chemistry that sizzles between the hero and heroine. This book will be on my keeper shelf for sure and I look forward to more of Ms. Eden's work in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3