Customer Reviews for

The Eternal Ones

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

In the Eternal Ones you're thrown right into the plot with the first couple pages. It opens during one of Haven's visions which she's been having for as long as she can remember. From there you're taken on a journey with Haven and her best friend Beau to get away from h...
In the Eternal Ones you're thrown right into the plot with the first couple pages. It opens during one of Haven's visions which she's been having for as long as she can remember. From there you're taken on a journey with Haven and her best friend Beau to get away from her evil grandmother, and her small town to find out what her visions are really about.

In the beginning of the book you spend plenty of time in her small 'everyone one knows everyone' town. It seems like many young adult books have settings just like this. Twilight, and Beautiful Creatures are just two. This is the only similarity Eternal Ones has to all these books. The plot is so different and unique.

I loved the size of The Eternal Ones; I prefer long books to short because I never want to give up the characters. Even after 416 pages I was sad for the book to end. I wanted to spend more time with these characters. Kristen Miller did a great job developing them and I felt like I personally knew all of them. It's hard to let go of things you love.

You don't want to miss this story, especially if you love books with supernatural, romance, and mystery.

posted by withabook on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't Waste Your Time

Don't waste your time reading this. Although it has an intruiging premise, the story has no plot and the heroine is unbelieavbly foolish and naive. After 250+ pages, nothing had really happened.

posted by dholland08 on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Haven has always been an outcast in her little town of Snope City. Her best friend, Beau, is the only one to stick by her when everyone else in town thinks she is strange, or worse yet, possessed by a demon. Since she was a little girl, she has had visions of a past there is no way she should know about. She sees New York City almost 100 years ago, herself as a blonde named Constance, and a man named Ethan whom she knows is her soul mate.

    After the death of her father, Haven attempted to control her visions, not wanting the attention they brought upon her and her family. But, the visions came back with a vengeance when she saw wealthy playboy Iain Morrow on a gossip news show. As she passed out, she called out Ethan's name.

    Haven decides the only way she will get any peace from the visions is to figure out what they all mean. The only way to do that is to run away to New York and find Iain and see if he is really Ethan - and what that means for her life. She is afraid of what will happen if Iain is really Ethan, though, because Iain is suspected of murdering his friend. Plus, the visions she has shows her dying in a fire, and it's possible Ethan is the one who started it. Can she trust him?

    THE ETERNAL ONES kept me engaged. I read it in almost one sitting, staying up until 3:00 AM to finish it. The only thing that forced me to give it 4 Stars instead of 5 was Haven. The flip-flopping about her feelings toward Iain started to get annoying about halfway through the story. One minute she trusts him COMPLETELY, and the next she believes the worst about him. Another issue about their relationship that could have been better was their romance. It could have been so much more emotional, but instead the fact that they were reincarnated lovers was used to fast-forward the connection between them. It was just assumed they would be together once they met. Even though Haven didn't remember everything from her past, she still picked up the relationship with "Ethan" where it left off 90 years ago.

    Still, all in all, I definitely recommend THE ETERNAL ONES. Kirsten Miller leaves it open for a sequel, but really, this book would be a good stand alone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Para-normally different from most of what is out there.

    Haven Moore is a high school senior who has had visions of previous lives since she was a small child. Her strict, religious grandmother and guardian insists that she is possessed by demons. Haven believes she is being driven to find the current reincarnation of her true love.

    The teen is a fine seamstress and has saved $12,000 making prom dresses with her gay friend, Beau. As her small-town world closes in around her, she decides to make a run for it to New York City, where she has seen the love of her lives come back in the tabloids because he has been accused of murder. This novel is a mystery, a thriller, and a love story. There is also a touch of the occult via the Ouroboros Society, an organization that purports to gather members from the reincarnated of the world. The element of mystery is consistently sustained from the beginning as Haven tries to determine if the man she loves is trying to kill her.

    Ever since Haven Moore was 9 years old, she's been having flashbacks of realistic events that haven't happened yet. As a child, she would always mention of having "another mother", talk about her "other big self" and other unnatural things for someone so young to even know about. Thus, she was shunned early on by the students at school, thought cursed by her church, and practically kept prisoner by her strict grandmother/caretaker. Luckily, she had a best friend, Beau Decker, who kept her sane while memories of a past love, Ethan, kept her dreaming of something better in life. Eventually, research on her visions led to actual historical facts which convinced Haven that she was the reincarnation of a girl named Constance from the 1920s. She also discovered her "Ethan" was reincarnated as well as Ian Marrow, a New York rich society boy whose face is across all the gossip tabloids. Yet, as things begin to heat up in her home town in Tennessee, Haven escapes to try to figure out what all her visions means and just who she really is.

    This was a refreshing read, something para-normally different from most of what is out there. Past lives that are reincarnated over and over again so that they may finally be together, a true love that doesn't end . . . utterly romantic and still sadly tragic. I enjoyed Haven's struggle of dealing with her debilitating visions of places/people she had never seen in her current life. The past twist was just as fascinating and I wish we would have gotten even more detailed glimpses into more of their past lives besides the most recent one in 1925. I adored the relationship between Haven and Beau and found myself easily getting caught up in the overall mystery of The Eternal Ones. Yet, about 2/3rds into the book, I felt Haven became very wishy-washy in her Ouroboros Society beliefs and that she was exasperatingly tedious with going back and forth in her trust in Ian/Ethan. I did find some parts shockingly spooky (ex. her discoveries while being held captive near the end), but all in all I thoroughly was captivated and cannot wait for what is next.

    Book # 2 - ALL YOU DESIRE

    Likes: What little bits we got of the past-life stories was fascinating, especially the story set during ancient Crete.

    Dislikes: Lots of controversial religious beliefs were brought up throughout the story and since I'm not really not a fan of religious debates or political prejudices brought up in any type of book, I frowned upon it here too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I Suprisingly Enjoyed It

    Picked it up not expexting anything. I. Was. Wrong. I really enjoyed this book! The storyline was very unique. Not with just the reincarnation but with the love interest. I recommemd this to anybody who wants to read a supernatural romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Live To Read

    Have you ever had visions of a past life? Haven, the main character, experiences vivid past memories of her and her lover, Ethan. She believes herself to be Constance in a past life, a woman who dies in a horrible fire with her lover.




    Snope City, a very small town. The Snope City community tends to be more narrow-minded and religious, it bodes badly for Haven when word of her visions spread around town. Many are convinced that her visions are the result of so-called dark forces. Haven's grandmother, a surprisingly strict and cold woman, forces Haven to go to therapy with the local pastor. Haven has no choice but to pretend to ignore her visions.




    Years later, rich Iain Morrow makes Haven's visions begin again when she sees a story about him. Haven puts two and two together and ends up believing that Iain may be the reincarnation of her past lover, Ethan. She goes so far as to travel to New York to see if this may be the case. Haven stumbles upon the Oroboros Society which specializes in helping and researching those who may be reincarnated. The story takes off from this point.




    The events in this novel are at just the right pace, the reader shouldn't be bored much at all. The author provides the perfect amount of detail, just enough so the reader can picture the scene. The main character, Haven, acts as the reader's guide to the novel and the plot. The reader won't be confused, though there will be a fair amount of information kept from the reader until the end or even the sequel. Getting to know Haven and Ethan and some of the secondary characters is fun in this novel, they all have something interesting to say or a weird quirk or two. Overall, this book is recommended for teens/young adults who like "realistic fantasy" and reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay not great....

    I wish i could give this book a higher rating, I really do. At first this books ultamite story was intresting. I really cared what happened with Haven and Beau. But the minute Haven meets Ian things started to go down hill for me. Her distrust for Ian and the decisions she makes completly do not make sense and are fustrating to me. So should you read this book? Well i liked the whole concept the rencarnations and everything its just the charcters started to deteriate right before my eyes. I liked it otherwise and i finished the book realitivly quickly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Recommended+if+you+like+books+like+twilight+and+hp

    Great+leisure+read%2C+entertaining+fast+paced+fantasy+romance.+If+you+are+open+minded+and+enjoy+books+that+include+elements+like+magic%2Cvampires%2C+dragons%2C+and+fairies+then+you%27ll+enjoy+this+book+about+soulmates+and+past+lives.+She+sets+up+for+a+sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Enchanting Reincarnation Love Story (from The Tealeaf Review)

    I had initially read some iffy reviews of The Eternal Ones, so I went into it a little cautiously. I shouldn't have. If I could have stayed up all night to finish this in one sitting, I would have. It shocked me how absorbed I was, and I cannot wait for the second one - though I really thought this could have been an awesome standalone.

    What really made this book for me was the characters. I liked Haven, I did, even though I wanted to ring her neck occasionally for not catching on quick enough, or for changing her opinion so rapidly. I loved her sassiness with her grandmother, I loved that she was suspicious of everything, and I loved her determination to figure out the truth. I also read all her dialogue with a delightful Southern accent in my head - I have a weakness for proper Southern accents! And even though I kind of hated her, I also loved Imogene. She had a lot of complex layers to her, and I kind of hope we see more of her in the future. Her snarkiness was just way too funny.

    As for the boys, Beau was wonderful! You do not know how much overly girly gay boys bother me. Beau likes to sew dresses, but he also likes to play football, and he still acts like a boy. I like my gay men to still be men, so thank you Kirsten Miller. Thank you so much, because I love Beau like crazy. Iain/Ethan was also very appealing - I liked that he gave off the bad boy vibe without really being one. He's a fabulous actor, and I was totally questioning his motives the whole time. I also appreciated that it was like a love story in progress already. We didn't have to wade through any awkward beginning stages of love - they already knew each other completely. As for Adam? CREEPY! But I did kind of like him until the end, I'll admit. And, really, I mean the names in this are awesome. Maybe I'm biased because Iain and Ethan are my two favoritest boy names EVER, but I totally love the name Haven as well.

    Truly, though, I was left guessing the entire time. I felt my opinion changing almost just as many times as Haven's, and I was constantly questioning who I was supposed to trust and like. The "Gray Men" were really creepy - they reminded me of agents from The Matrix or something. They just pop out of no where and follow you!

    I only wish there had been more memories of Ethan and Constance, or maybe a glimpse back into even more past lives. The whole idea of reincarnation was well-executed in my opinion, especially the idea of certain "talents" sticking with your throughout your lives. I really hope in the next installment we're going to see more of this, and delve deeper into the whole complex, mysterious relationship that is Iain and Haven. I'm really excited to see what comes from the Ouroboros Society, specifically Adam.

    I really though that The Eternal Ones was a very well-written, strong book, though it could have been maybe a smidge shorter. I look forward to Haven being a little more steady in her opinions, and a little less flip-floppy.

    The Final Word: A fabulous story of reincarnation and eternal love. Even though a few sections were slow and a little annoying, I definitely had trouble putting it down. With elements of romance, mystery, and thriller, it's totally worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and Original - Not To Be Missed

    Haven Moore has always been a little different from most people in the close-minded Snope City, Tennessee. Her father is dead and her mother hasn't been the same since. Haven's been stuck living with the shell of her mom and her religious and judgmental grandmother. The only person she's close to is her best friend Beau. He's the only one who doesn't seem to mind that she faints and has visions of a life in the past; a life that she's determined to discover. After a few fateful incidences, Beau's encouragement, and a strange run-in with girl in a church, Haven sets off for NYC and the boy she believes she loved in another life.

    The Eternal Ones is so interesting in that it examines reincarnation, past lives, and even religion, but does it all in a way that is entertaining and never preachy. Miller's explanations behind reincarnation and how the mysterious Ouroboros Society works kept me going with the story.

    Haven is easy enough to like in the start, but once she makes it to NYC and meets the guy from her past life, she becomes very wishy washy. She flip flops from not trusting people to wholeheartedly believing every word they say. If she didn't have her best friend Beau to call all the time, I'm not sure she'd ever see reason. She's only 17, so she can easily get caught up in the moment, in the atmosphere, and in her own emotions, but I would have liked to have seen more consistency in her thought-process.

    Iain, the gorgeous guy from the past, really did not do much for me either. The story is from Haven's POV, so her caring for him, then not trusting him, really took me out of the love story aspect of Haven's life. Her past life as a young woman named Constance is a different story though.

    Miller perfectly weaves in flashbacks of Constance's life with the dashing Ethan Evans. Each flashbacks pulls the present day happenings together and ties them in to such a larger story. I was eager and almost desperate to discover what really happened to Constance and Ethan and to see how that would affect Haven and Iain. This is by far the best and most entertaining aspect of the story.

    The Eternal Ones is a certainly a book that is well-worth reading with its incredibly interesting plot and well-placed flashbacks. Miller has crafted a book that leads the reader in one direction, only to make a u-turn and flip the story on its head. It's a little frustrating, but the final outcome is very much worth the craziness in between. A mixture of a love story, a mystery, a little reincarnation, and a dash of religious devilry, The Eternal Ones delivers strong as an opener in a series that I plan on sticking with.

    Opening line: Haven was back. ~ pg. 3

    Favorite lines: The truth, she'd discovered, dwelled in the dark, hidden places, and sometimes it was better not to force it into the light. ~ pg. 189

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    Great Book!

    It has a slow start and some holes in the story, but overall a wonderful book, and well worth the read. Her writing style improves through the book and by the end you head is twirling with new and exciting ideas. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Eternal Ones

    I picked up this book because of the intriguing plot and i have to say this novel was very good,Haven Moore has been having visions of a girl named Constance whom she assumes is her in a past life she sees a boy,Ethan whom she thinks is Constance's love,She has this feeling that she has to get out of her mid western country home Snope City and all the locals think she is possessed by the devil when she starts collapsing in school, unconsciously attacks a preacher.Her best friend who is homosexual,Beau knows everything and when she sees Iain Morrow,an actor on TV she feels that she knows him from somewhere so she travels to New York City as there is nothing left for her in Snope City,In New York Iain recognizes her and a love affair starts,Iain seems to have known that she would come and brings her to Rome to the exact same spot that Constance met Ethan,The plot is confusing and nobody would have known that Adam was the devil and he orchestrated everything and simply watched from afar as everything played out but i had my suspicions about him,I enjoyed this novel and recommend it to people who love romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Warning: Emotions May Cause Whiplash

    I have to say, I have a love-hate relationship with this book. There was definitely moments when I wanted to toss the book against the wall.. but the story was intriguing enough to keep me reading until the very end. I'd have to say that I could have done without about a third of the first part of the book. Yes, we get that Haven's grandmother is not a nice person. Yes, her mother is a spineless lump that doesn't really act as her mother - though she does start to step up, though not much. Yes, Haven is treated as an outcast because she has visions and faints where ever she may be when the vision comes. Oh, and did I mention that all the Christians are closed-minded. I live in a small town and I can say that I'm honestly sick of the whole portrayal of small towns being so judgmental and unforgiving. Gossip? Yes. But, in real life, I've never experienced something like this.

    I digress. I'll get off my soapbox now.

    Past that: Once Haven gets the box of notes written by her father from her mother, things start to pick up. You get even more insight into Haven's visions - and proof is from Haven's father, who started chronicling all of her visions as a child. Part Two starts out with Haven arriving in New York, and she quickly finds Iain. It's obvious that they're drawn to one another and Iain seems to be just as in love with Haven as he was when he was Ethan and she was Constance.. and it may help that he's able to recall ALL of his past lives. Haven, however, has this whole hot-cold relationship with Iain. Between not recalling all of her memories from her life as Constance and believing every single word out of every single person's mouth, she's very bi-polar when it comes to Iain. One moment she'll be all over him and completely trust him, the next she'll take the word of someone and believe Iain is a killer, and within the next few moments she'll be back in his arms all lovey-dovey. I'm sure Iain's ability to withhold truths and tell white lies doesn't help any, but I don't think that would merit Haven's inability to decide something and stick with it. Yes, she's only seventeen so you have to account for some immaturity ... but, Haven's behavior was a little too much for me.

    I know it sounds like I hated the book, but it was actually a good read. Like I said, it kept my attention and kept me reading until the very end. I like the history of the Ouroboros Society. The other characters were also well fleshed out. The villian was good, but the villian's big reveal was a little bit of an "oh, come on!" moment for me - it could go both ways though because I didn't see that one coming. The history, the flashbacks to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting reincarnation romance

    Have to admit that I've always been slightly fascinated by the thought of reincarnation. And the idea that you can be reunited with your soul mate lifetime after lifetime is terribly intriguing!

    Haven Moore's life has not been easy. Her father was killed when she was a young girl, forcing her and her mother to move in with her strict grandmother. Haven had visions of a past life growing up, and her grandmother is still convinced that she is possessed and that her soul needs saving. Needless to say, Grandmother is not a nice woman. If it wasn't for her best friend Beau, Haven's life would have been even more miserable. Things come to a head and Haven runs away to New York, where fate takes a hand and she meets the boy she's convinced was her great love in a previous life. But can she trust him in this life?

    Really enjoyed this book! And I loved the glimpses of Haven's previous life as Constance that are sprinkled throughout the story. It's reads almost like two stories; Haven's adventures in the present, and Constance's life in the past. Both are well told with interesting characters and a great plot line!

    Have to admit that I wasn't entirely in love with the ending. While I totally bought into Haven and Iain being reincarnated soul mates, I wasn't sure what to make of the Ouroboros Society or Adam Rosier. Sounds a little funny to say that those elements didn't ring true for me when the book is about reincarnation, but they seemed off. I still enjoyed this book though, and think that Kirsten is a gifted writer with a good imagination!

    Gave this one a 4/5 as I really enjoyed the story. I kept forgetting that Haven was a teenager, but maybe that's because she's been reincarnated, so doesn't act like your typical teen? What does a typical teen act like anyway? I liked Haven and Beau, wasn't sure what to think of Iain, hated Grandmother, was disappointed with Haven's weak mother, and creeped out by their preacher. Grandmother wanted Dr.Tidmore, their preacher, to counsel Haven and save her soul. The guy was a little on the creepy side, and I wasn't too surprised when he showed his true colors later on.

    I wonder what the requirements are for being reincarnated? Maybe if you're really good in this life, you get to spend your next life as a pampered cat? ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Interesting

    I really enjoyed the book even though there where times when I thought the main character, Haven, was a bit idiotic. Some parts when a little fast, and I think the book would have been better had the author written it longer, but overall, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    In a Sentence The Eternal Ones is a creative, original tale with a well-created world and intriguing characters.

    A huge thanks goes out the people at Penguin for sending me a review copy of this book!

    Don't you just LOVE it when you hit a great reading streak? After finishing Paranormalcy, I thought my opinion of the next book I read would suffer, because I enjoyed Kiersten White's debut novel so much. I was (fortunately!) wrong. The Eternal Ones was definitely well-worth my time!

    When I first started the book, I was a little skeptical. To best describe how I felt about this book, I'm going to compare it to Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's Beautiful Creatures. Like BC, the beginning of this book was pretty slow....not necessarily a "bad" pace, but one that was used to create the characters and the world in which The Eternal Ones took place. In contrast, the second half of the book was extremely fast-paced, and had me flipping pages 'til the end. Personally, I thought the pacing at the beginning was needed to develop the characters, so it didn't bother me much, but I know that some people have to be immediately captivated by the book in order to keep reading. Basically, what I want to tell you is that if you give this book a try, and you're bored by the beginning, hang in there, because you're in for a treat if you stick through until the end.

    There were a few minor things that bothered me about The Eternal Ones. First (and probably, worst), was the inclusion of the "mysterious, beautiful boy" cliche. As most of you know, this has been occurring a lot in YA literature recently, and it's getting to be a bit tiring. I also found a few of the plot devices to be a little too convenient. This didn't bother me too much, but I DID notice it.

    Now, on to the good part. I LOVED the characters. I thought they were very vivid and realistic. I also liked the overall idea and plot scheme. Reincarnation is something that has been done before, but it's not been overdone, and I think Kirsten Miller did an excellent job with recreating that long-existing idea.

    My favorite part of the book was that there was a solid 100 pages where I really couldn't tell who was good and who was evil. I was just as torn as Haven when trying to figure out who to trust. This aspect of the book is what kept me engrossed, even when I had other things (like homework and cleaning) that really needed to be done.

    The Eternal Ones is a book that I would recommend to any of you who are interested in a good story. I'll be keeping an eye on Kirsten Miller. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well, atleast it was interesting.

    Okay, so I got this thick book about two days ago and I just finished reading it. Haven Moore is a teenage girl with a screwed up family life. Her mother a living-ghost, he father an actual ghost, and her grandmother just beyond cruel-going so far to say Haven is even possesed becuase of visions she'd been having since she was little. Visions of a mysterious past and a boy she thought could be her soulmate, Ethan. Haven decides its time to search for him and travels to New York to find Iain Morrow. From there on, the plot only gets thicker, so to speak, and Haven has to find a murderer, but most of all, the truth. About everything.

    Having finished the book, I can say it was defiantly interesting. In fact, the plot was orignal and could have been something very awesome and captavating. That said, although the book was a page-turner and held my interest until the end, it wasn't as good as I had hoped. Haven is a confused character throughout the whole book and it annoyed me most of the time when she her thoughts led me to belive she might grow her own opinions and get some backbone, but her actions were mostly disappointing. She wasn't a terriably strong character and was pretty naive the whole time.

    I did like Beau, her bestfriend. He was a reliable and a over-all funny character. I almost wish he was in more of the book. Iain was also a character I liked (most of the time) although the way Haven and him interacted was not exactly desireable, but i think thats mostly due to Haven's attitude.

    Overall, it was, agian, an interesting book with a good plot and a creative concept that isn't overly popular in supernatural fiction these days. The characters were just okay and at times irritating, but it kept me turning pages and guessing the whole book. It wasn't extremely predictable and if I had to read the book agian, I wouldn't complain. Though I probably would have gotten it from the library instead of actually buying it. If your looking for something different to read, with romance, mystery and betryal, here you go. I just hope there is a sequel, given the ending was a bit blunt in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2