BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Eternal Ones

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

Haven has always been an outcast in her little town of Snope City. Her best friend, Beau, is the only one to stick by her when everyone else in town thinks she is strange, or worse yet, possessed by a demon. Since she was a little girl, she has had visions of a past the...
Haven has always been an outcast in her little town of Snope City. Her best friend, Beau, is the only one to stick by her when everyone else in town thinks she is strange, or worse yet, possessed by a demon. Since she was a little girl, she has had visions of a past there is no way she should know about. She sees New York City almost 100 years ago, herself as a blonde named Constance, and a man named Ethan whom she knows is her soul mate.

After the death of her father, Haven attempted to control her visions, not wanting the attention they brought upon her and her family. But, the visions came back with a vengeance when she saw wealthy playboy Iain Morrow on a gossip news show. As she passed out, she called out Ethan's name.

Haven decides the only way she will get any peace from the visions is to figure out what they all mean. The only way to do that is to run away to New York and find Iain and see if he is really Ethan - and what that means for her life. She is afraid of what will happen if Iain is really Ethan, though, because Iain is suspected of murdering his friend. Plus, the visions she has shows her dying in a fire, and it's possible Ethan is the one who started it. Can she trust him?

THE ETERNAL ONES kept me engaged. I read it in almost one sitting, staying up until 3:00 AM to finish it. The only thing that forced me to give it 4 Stars instead of 5 was Haven. The flip-flopping about her feelings toward Iain started to get annoying about halfway through the story. One minute she trusts him COMPLETELY, and the next she believes the worst about him. Another issue about their relationship that could have been better was their romance. It could have been so much more emotional, but instead the fact that they were reincarnated lovers was used to fast-forward the connection between them. It was just assumed they would be together once they met. Even though Haven didn't remember everything from her past, she still picked up the relationship with "Ethan" where it left off 90 years ago.

Still, all in all, I definitely recommend THE ETERNAL ONES. Kirsten Miller leaves it open for a sequel, but really, this book would be a good stand alone.

posted by TeensReadToo on August 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't Waste Your Time

Don't waste your time reading this. Although it has an intruiging premise, the story has no plot and the heroine is unbelieavbly foolish and naive. After 250+ pages, nothing had really happened.

posted by dholland08 on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    In the Eternal Ones you're thrown right into the plot with the first couple pages. It opens during one of Haven's visions which she's been having for as long as she can remember. From there you're taken on a journey with Haven and her best friend Beau to get away from her evil grandmother, and her small town to find out what her visions are really about.

    In the beginning of the book you spend plenty of time in her small 'everyone one knows everyone' town. It seems like many young adult books have settings just like this. Twilight, and Beautiful Creatures are just two. This is the only similarity Eternal Ones has to all these books. The plot is so different and unique.

    I loved the size of The Eternal Ones; I prefer long books to short because I never want to give up the characters. Even after 416 pages I was sad for the book to end. I wanted to spend more time with these characters. Kristen Miller did a great job developing them and I felt like I personally knew all of them. It's hard to let go of things you love.

    You don't want to miss this story, especially if you love books with supernatural, romance, and mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Emotional Rollercoster Worth Reading.

    This book took me by surprise! This is a exciting,captivating, and romantic read. The beging may start a little slow, but stay commited and you will be rewarded. Pay attension to detail and enjoy! All i really have to say is hold on tight and the ride is fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Highly Recommended!

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Do you believe in reincarnation? After reading The Eternal Ones you will certainly consider the possibility. I know I did.

    In this one we meet Haven, who has been reincarnated into a new life but doesn't know it yet. Why is that? Well, people are trying to hide it from her.

    Haven is a great, believably written teen who struggles through high school and not being able to fit in, a common occurence and completely authentic. Through all of those trouble, she remains true to herself which is something I really admired. Beau, her best friend, is also a really amazing character. He stays true to himself throughout this story as well. It seems to me that a big lesson in this book was about a person's true nature coming through no matter kind of trials they faced.

    The plot was just awesome -- unique and interesting. In a YA paranormal world typically populated with vampires and shifters, this was a nice change. With strong, descriptive writing the author kept me hooked. I loved following the adventures of Haven as she tries to find out who she really is and who she can really trust.

    Overall, I give this one five suns! I enjoyed everything about it from beginning to end. If you're looking for a paranormal book that's a little different from the norm, I recommend you give this one a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I love this book

    I checked this out at my library. I love Beau, the main character's best friend. This book feels personal like I know them and can envision everything in the book. I just really love and adore this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Best book yet

    Love, love, loved this book! Favorite book I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Exceptional!

    This book was absolutely amazing! It had the best plot and great characters. One of the best books I have read. It Ignites the imagination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing

    Amazing book and writing. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Do you believe in reincarnation? Haven, a girl that experienced visions since she was a little girl wants to find anwsers. Her visions were of herself named Constance at the time in love with Ethan. In her visions they die in a terrible fire. One day she sees Ethan's familiar face on tv but he's named Iain Morrow. Haven flees to New York to seek answers and to see if Iain is really Ethan the one she loved in her visions. She seeks help from the Ouroboros Society to unlock her past. Haven finds out more than she can handle. This love and mysterious story will have you on your toes the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Loved this book!!!!

    I am forty and I enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    OMG

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and Romantic

    Haven Moore has spent most of her life passing out and having visions through the eyes of a woman named Constance. All her visions center around the handsome Ethan. Everyone, apart for Beau-her friend, thinks she's either crazy or a bad seed. Her grandmother is convinced she's possessed. The only person who ever really knew the truth, or beginning to learn the truth, was her father who died in a car accident when she was little.
    One day Haven sees Iain Morrow, a celebrity, on TV. She can't stop thinking about him. After some time she decides to go to New York to try and find him. After finding him, Haven discovers that she and Iain are soul mates who have been reincarnated for thousands of years. Problems continuously arise threatening their relationship and the reincarnation cycle. People start going missing or turning up murdered. Haven is constantly being watched, and not always by the good guys. Iain is hiding something from Haven, and she knows it. By going out and trying to find answers on her own, Haven ends up even more confused and unwilling to trust anyone. She must decide who to trust before its too late.
    Oh my! This book was good. It was so different from most girl-and-boy-fall-in-love-at-first-sight books. This story centers around the idea of immortal (not vampire) people, reincarnation, and soul mates. I felt like I was being pulled in every direction alongside Haven. I wasn't sure who to trust-although I always...let me repeat that, ALWAYS trusts Iain. I hated how she kept ruining the moment with her paranoia about how Iain may or may not be the murderer. The twists throughout the book were so good. After closing the book, I waited about an hour before rereading it. Then a few days later I reread it again. I couldn't stop thinking about this book. It was one of those I-wish-I-was-that-character moments. I believe in soul mates. This book definitely fueled that belief. I really really really really wish this would happen to me-except maybe no killing and creepy secret society- but definitely all the true love stuff.
    You don't have to believe in reincarnation or soul mates to love this book. It's a beautiful love story filled with mystery that will leave you wishing you were the characters. *secretly wishing I was Haven. The only...and I mean only problem I had was with Haven's trust issues. I found them a bit annoying-but that's it. It was such a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    If you read quickly, you'll devour it in 4 hours TOPS!

    Great, great, great, great book! Honestly, I'm a teenager and I ultimaltly fell for this book. I read many books but this one really did catch my eye. It's enduring and trust me, you won't be able to put the thing down. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!!

    I am an author and I can honestly say that this book is hands down, one of the best books I have ever read. It kept me in suspense and stayed at a steady pace. I certainly hope a second edition gets published. I will be first in line to buy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kirsten Miller has a Knack For Storytelling

    Ah---I'm in love!!!! This story was so romantic, adventurous and a real page turner. I was so hesitant, it seemed so many people were not liking this book and I was afraid I would be the same way. I've been googly eying this since it came out. I think every time I've been to the book store since August I've been picking this book up and putting it down. A week ago I decided enough was enough and chose to try it out. To my surprise--and relief---I loved it. I definitely recommend it as a winter read :)
    The story starts out with seventeen year old Haven Moore who lives under her Grandmother's dictator reign in Snope City, Tennessee. For most of Haven's life she has been the odd one. Why? Because she has visions of the past (really she has memories of a past life) and they're all about a young couple name Constance and Ethan. Her only true ally is her dress making partner, Beau (who is seriously one of the best characters in the book). The book deals with reincarnation, faithfulness, trust and the devil.
    The first part of the book is set in Haven's daily life in Snope City. You really get a sense of how she's mistreated. How her visions cause her to faint at the most unlikely times and cause great problems on her. Basically her life sucks in Tennessee. Everyone thinks she is possessed by a demon and her Grandmother believes the only one who can save her is Dr. Tidmore who has been helping her overcome her visions by being her psychologist. By the way he is the preacher at the church in Snope City.
    I didn't really see how religion played into this story at first but it became more apparent as the novel went on. This book isn't really a hard one to figure out as it's pretty obvious. At points I was annoyed with Haven for not realizing something so simple. I had figured out the truth, way, before she did.
    The second part of the book is Haven running away to New York to find the newly reincarnated Ethan who is now known as Iain Morrow. Haven believes that if she finds Iain and solves the reason of Constance death in the 1920's then the visions will stop. But things get tricky, people lie, Haven gets stalk multiple times and it's a big adventure/mystery to solve.
    I found it interesting that time seem to be repeating itself in this book. What happened in the 1920's seemed to be repeating itself in the twenty-first century.
    All the characters were well crafted and easily came to life in my imagination. I love Beau, Iain, Haven and even Adam. Haven could be really naive at times but I felt for someone in her situation that was believable. Beau had the best one-liners. Adam and especially Dr. Tidmore were good at being who they were (for those of you who have read the book will understand this).
    I enjoyed the visions Haven got and was eager to know more about Constance as the pages flipped. I really hope they make a film out of this, I would love to see the 1920's come to life on the screen. Have you notice that 1920's seem to be a popular time line in YA book's lately??
    Haven's and Iain's first meeting was a bit rush I felt. Another point I like to mention was that Iain and Haven kept bouncing back to hating each other to liking each other, it got a little irritating after awhile.
    The best plot twist comes, near the end, and is about a character in the book. I never saw that coming and found it funny. It was a tidbit about his lives.
    This book was truly fantastic. Kirsten Miller has a knack for storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Eternal Ones

    The Eternal Ones is the most enchanting book ive read.It is a story of love,lose,and great dicisions.Testing your strengths and your weaknesses. I would reccommend this book to anyone!Its wonderful and will not let you down!A great and memorable story from begining to end.Haven Moore lives in a boring town,with nothing exciting happening in her life,then after traveling to New York,her world is turned upside down! Read; The Eternal Ones and find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    the best since twilight

    this is absolutely the best book i have read since the twilight series. i HOPE they make it into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So unexpected!

    I am an avid reader and this plot took me by surprise which is hard to do. The characters in the book are well thought out and not annoying like other characters can be. When the book starts you think it will work out one way but twist happens every time. This book is perfect to read at any point in time. I recommend this book to any person who enjoys a love story, mystical beings, or just teen books in general. If you see the book make sure to pick it up and look at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Read this book!!!

    this book was amazing! very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Eternal Ones by Kristen Miller Review

    Talk about true love and fairy tale romances...The Eternal Ones will have readers believing in soul mates. I love the idea of soul mates and star crossed lovers defying all odds to be with one another just as much as any girl who grew up reading fairy tales but The Enternal Ones has gotten to me like none of the others have. The story of Constance and Ethan and Haven and Iain had me falling in love. Kristen Miller knows how to hook a reader and hang on until only she's ready to let go.

    Watching Haven grow up in a town so religious and strict that anything out of the traditional and conservative norm has the local townsfolk crying "demon" and "satan worshiper" was terrible to read. I've never experienced anything like that personally so it was tough to get through. I felt awful for Haven. She lives in a claustrophobic environment with her horrible grandmother trying to make up for her sordid past by way of her grandaughter's present situation and it's awful to watch. But with the bad, comes the good in Haven's best friend Beau (who is also looked down on for being gay) and he's with her through it all. I loved him to death! Their friendship was wonderful to witness and will make you appreciate you own friends that much more.

    But the romance, oh the romance! Haven knows she used to be someone in another life and she knows she loved someone then and is being drawn to that someone again. Here is where Iain comes into play. He's not the same boy from the other life and time but he's still Ethan in so many ways. But like everything else, there's always a balance and with the good, bad follows. What is he hiding? Why is he lying? Will Haven be able to remember everything she needs to in time?

    This is a favorite for me and I was sad to have to pass it on for the tour, but I will be going out to pick up my very own copy the first chance I get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OH MY GOSH!!!!

    i can't believe how good this book was. i read it as a fluke b/c i found it on a new releases table at barnes and noble and it looked. Haven was a great character and her portrayal as a person from a last life was great. the way that miller uses her knowledge of N.Y.C is great because as she repeats street names and there contents, you start to feel like you actually know where haven is. Not to mention her great portrayal of Iain was a great way to show the difference between the New York of then and the New York of today. Altogether the book was amazing and i would love it if she were to come out with a sequel to the book. I'm sure it would be just as good as it's predescesor and i would definetly buy it. it had to be one of the best books i've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3