Customer Reviews for

Eternal on the Water

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Glimpse of the Eternal

This is an excellent book. The characters are interesting, the plot a real tear jerker, but what is most important for me is the beautiful writing. Monninger brings his natural settings to life. The emotion evoked by the power of his writing about nature is what drives ...
This is an excellent book. The characters are interesting, the plot a real tear jerker, but what is most important for me is the beautiful writing. Monninger brings his natural settings to life. The emotion evoked by the power of his writing about nature is what drives the story for me.

Deciding to set this tragic love story in such beautiful, yet harsh places make the theme obvious. The world is beautiful and terrible at the same time. We have to appreciate the beauty and live to the fullest with the tragedy and cruelty.

I highly recommend this book. It's not an escapist fantasy. It says something about honor and living a productive life.

posted by nfam on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not so eternal per this reader

Although I really wanted to love this book, I am sad to say that it just didn't happen for me. Love at first sight may be a very real thing, and based on most readers reviewing the book, it is evident that I am in the minority. I knew it would be a tear jerker and I w...
Although I really wanted to love this book, I am sad to say that it just didn't happen for me. Love at first sight may be a very real thing, and based on most readers reviewing the book, it is evident that I am in the minority. I knew it would be a tear jerker and I wanted to be swept away, but the author just did not draw me in.

Here's what I really liked about the book:
1. Stories about crows and raven mythology
2. A very positive portrayal of the value of assisted suicide

Here's what I did not like:
1. Characters, settings and situations were not believable for me - too perfect.
2. The writing was not challenging for me - the author often writes for young adults, and I felt the vocabulary and style would have been great for that audience.
3. In the first few pages I knew the death of our heroine would occur before the end of the book, and I felt it was a slow, tedious journey getting to that point.

The book Love Story kept echoing in my mind, but then Segal also wrote a very popular book that was not well received by the critics. This book may have the same appeal, which means it could be something you will totally enjoy. But to describe it as a major literary achievement with eternal lasting qualities might be quite a stretch.

posted by JaneM on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Not so eternal per this reader

    Although I really wanted to love this book, I am sad to say that it just didn't happen for me. Love at first sight may be a very real thing, and based on most readers reviewing the book, it is evident that I am in the minority. I knew it would be a tear jerker and I wanted to be swept away, but the author just did not draw me in.

    Here's what I really liked about the book:
    1. Stories about crows and raven mythology
    2. A very positive portrayal of the value of assisted suicide

    Here's what I did not like:
    1. Characters, settings and situations were not believable for me - too perfect.
    2. The writing was not challenging for me - the author often writes for young adults, and I felt the vocabulary and style would have been great for that audience.
    3. In the first few pages I knew the death of our heroine would occur before the end of the book, and I felt it was a slow, tedious journey getting to that point.

    The book Love Story kept echoing in my mind, but then Segal also wrote a very popular book that was not well received by the critics. This book may have the same appeal, which means it could be something you will totally enjoy. But to describe it as a major literary achievement with eternal lasting qualities might be quite a stretch.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing - I couldn't stay awake through it.

    I received my ARC copy of Eternal on the Water a few days ago and was excited about being able to be included in the first group of people to read the book.

    However, the story just didn't live up to what I thought it would be. This is the story of Jonathan Cobb and Mary Fury, a woman who has Huntington's Disease. It's the story of their relationship and includes all sorts of descriptions relating to nature; crows and turtles being two prominent figures.

    What I didn't like about the book was that the story never managed to fully grip me. Unlike other authors of this type of novel (Sparks being one I can think of) the characters failed to grab my interest and become alive to me. For the last half of the book I was having to force myself to pick it up because I had become, for lack of a better word, bored by the story. I knew where it was going to end (thanks to the prologue) and the love story wasn't one that held any sort of interest for me.

    The descriptions were vivid and well done and the stories about crows were fairly interesting (I didn't realize I had an interest in crows). They just felt disjointed and didn't make the character come to life as they should have.

    But, on the positive side, I came away from this book with a whole new repertoire of knock-knock jokes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Over the top events over shadow the real story.

    I really never connected with the story myself. Mary and Cobb are suppose to be in their thirties but they seemed like they were in their fifties to me. I'm in my thirties and I just couldn't relate to these people. Old souls you might say but I just found them old. Not that fifty's is old but I don't think these two characters, who were suppose to be in their thirties, were written to depict them that way. Mary,as a character, is suppose to give off the impression she is spirited but to me she just came off as a nut. I get spirit, I really do,I also get crazy. There was too much description of canoe and fishing equipment to keep my interest in the first few chapters. Some of the nature descriptions were very beautiful and I felt like I was there on the river.
    A lot of product names were thrown in ever chance the writer could. I get maybe a writer trying to give the reader a full description of what a person is wearing or product they are using, but book was overfilled with them. Just too much.
    The first few pages you learn the main character dies and I still don't know how I feel about that. The book had touching moments that seemed to get overshadowed by over the top scenarios. Actually it had a lot of those. I just didn't get it. It didn't touch me and I really thought I'd like it. The over the topness of it all never gave me a real chance to connect or care for the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not so Eternal..

    There have been a lot of glowing reviews given on this book, but mine will not be one of them. The front half of the book took me forever to read. The book is very nature oriented, coupled with a love at first sight story. A little less nature would have been fine with me. I know Mary's love of crows was a main theme in the book, but I did not enjoy reading, what seemed to me, the endless crow stories. Mary's brother Freddy's fascination with turtles was not quite as tedious to me, & I enjoyed reading the second half of the book much better than the first half. That being said, it is not a book I would recommend to a friend or fellow book lover. It takes much too long to get to the heart of the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tearjerker

    I just finish this book and it was a very intresting book.I realize that from the start of this book it wasn't happening for me. But I contiuue reading this book to follow Mary and Cobb relationship and the romance of these characters. But when all is said and done. I will pass this book on to some of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1