Customer Reviews for

Eternity (Immortal Witches Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed this book.

This is the first book I've read by this Author. And I sincerely look forward to the next. Well written, easy to follow, and the characters were great. I would and will recommend this book. Jsb 8/2013

posted by jsbb on August 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Historical romance meets Highlander

I was intrigued by the opening poem and concept, but abandoned the story half way through - just too choppy, weak dialogue, heavy on telling what happened, light on setting, sections are sometimes heavy on the historical references that don't mesh with the rest of the p...
I was intrigued by the opening poem and concept, but abandoned the story half way through - just too choppy, weak dialogue, heavy on telling what happened, light on setting, sections are sometimes heavy on the historical references that don't mesh with the rest of the plot line. Not saving this one.

The story opens in England with events that lead to accusations of witchcraft. Raven and her mother are hanged, Raven revives, learns she was born an immortal high witch, and flees to the new world to escape the evil witch who would kill her to capture her heart.

The story continues with the sea crossing and arrival at her aunt's home near Sanctuary in New England, just before the Salem witch trials. There is a brief bit explaining what Raven and Duncan do once they reach America, and both meet again in Sanctuary. Classic lustful villain can't have her, claims he's bewitched, and events happen to again raise cries of witchcraft, she's killed again, revives and flees to the forest under the protection of an Iriquois shaman.

There's more about what happened to Duncan, a reveal of backstory about Arriana, and other plot points, but overall it's a disjointed telling.

The story takes a brief turn with historical references to Salem, and how this affects Raven.

Then the story skips back to her fleeing England and the events on her voyage to the new world. Not sure why the story skips back and forth in time so much, but gave up about half way through, and don't plan to finish this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Historical romance meets Highlander

    I was intrigued by the opening poem and concept, but abandoned the story half way through - just too choppy, weak dialogue, heavy on telling what happened, light on setting, sections are sometimes heavy on the historical references that don't mesh with the rest of the plot line. Not saving this one.

    The story opens in England with events that lead to accusations of witchcraft. Raven and her mother are hanged, Raven revives, learns she was born an immortal high witch, and flees to the new world to escape the evil witch who would kill her to capture her heart.

    The story continues with the sea crossing and arrival at her aunt's home near Sanctuary in New England, just before the Salem witch trials. There is a brief bit explaining what Raven and Duncan do once they reach America, and both meet again in Sanctuary. Classic lustful villain can't have her, claims he's bewitched, and events happen to again raise cries of witchcraft, she's killed again, revives and flees to the forest under the protection of an Iriquois shaman.

    There's more about what happened to Duncan, a reveal of backstory about Arriana, and other plot points, but overall it's a disjointed telling.

    The story takes a brief turn with historical references to Salem, and how this affects Raven.

    Then the story skips back to her fleeing England and the events on her voyage to the new world. Not sure why the story skips back and forth in time so much, but gave up about half way through, and don't plan to finish this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book.

    This is the first book I've read by this Author. And I sincerely look forward to the next. Well written, easy to follow, and the characters were great. I would and will recommend this book. Jsb 8/2013

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    I loved this book. This series is what got me hooked on Maggies

    I loved this book. This series is what got me hooked on Maggies books. Story is very original and cathes you right away. GREAT BOOK!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    This was such an exciting read. I loved this book. It kept me in

    This was such an exciting read. I loved this book. It kept me interested, intrigued, and I never wanted to put it down. Loved Duncan and Raven's story in this book Now I need to read the next book in the series, Infinity. It continues with Ariana's story. Ariana was such a compelling secondary character. In the sequel Infinity Nicodimus (Ariana's love) has spent five centuries in dormant suspension, having lost his heart in what he believes to be the ultimate act of betrayal. Maggie Shayne's books are always a winner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Raven St. James lives with her mother who is a local 'healer'.

    Raven St. James lives with her mother who is a local 'healer'. The town has been fighting a plague. Raven's mother was unable to save her own husband from the plague and is mourning him. Her sister-in-law comes to the house and demands that she heal her son. Since Raven's mother is unable to heal the son her siter-in-law accuses her of being a witch. The town's folk grab Raven and her mother and get ready for a hanging which takes place the next morning.
    The author builds wonderful characters give us a great plot to follow... mystery, intrigue, friendship, and true love. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to more from this author.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Loved it

    I have ead alot of books. This was well written. I love the characters! The book has an ending and yet i can't wait to read the rest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I gave this to my daughter for Mother's Day and she called me to

    I gave this to my daughter for Mother's Day and she called me today and said she really enjoyed it. This is her type of book not mine so I'm taking her word for it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was absolutely one of the most amazing stories I have ever

    This was absolutely one of the most amazing stories I have ever read. I mean who wouldn't want to find their true soul mate again? Maggie lets you see one way of rekindling an old flame, and finding that one person who you were destined to be with for all eternity. Your able to feel the emotions Raven goes through, especially the passion between her and Duncan. This is definitely a book for a hopeless romantic. If your wanting to see what happens between these two lovers then get your hands on this book, believe me you wont regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. The romance was great. The magic and

    I really enjoyed this book. The romance was great. The magic and some of the history was interesting. I liked the characters Raven and Arianna. The evil Nathaniel was terrifying and added to the suspense and action. There were sad parts as well and I really liked how Shayne made the reader really feel that sadness and pain. I would recommend this book, I had a hard time putting it down and am planning to read book #2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    Wow.

    Can't wait to read more.
    Enjoyed the suspense along the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    Definitely kept my interest...

    I'm not normally a fantasy type reader, but I enjoyed this book. Love the story line and plot and felt the author did an excellent job moving back and forth between past and present...definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2015

    Highly recommend

    I love this book you will enjoy reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Witchy wonderful

    Absolutely delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A Must Read!!!!!!

    Great book!!! The love in this book is soo real i can practically feel it myself. When Duncan dies i can feel her pain and clung to the knowledge that he would come back. I thank Maggie Shayne for this wonderful book!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Page Turner

    This was my first Maggie Shayne, I had read on Romantic Times under 'Book Sleuth' the premise to the 3rd one in this trilogy 'Destiny' and it sounded so Incredible that I had to find the first to begin in order. I was not dissapointed. I was involved with this Book from page 1 and all the way through. There were times when I could just 'see' the scenes with such Clarity. Fans of the TV Series 'Charmed' should enjoy this one as well. I must say (without giving to much away) that the end kind of got on my nerves to a certain point. I mainly read historical romance without the paranormal stuff but this had just enough to keep you involved and the Suspense with the 'Witch Hunter' had me on the edge of my seat. Happy Reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Sister's reunited and love returned....

    Having a sister and losing her is a great lose but the chance to find her again in another lifetime is unbelievable. If you believe that there is life after death and beyond you will find this book very hard to put down. It brings forth a different emotional bond then just love of a soul mate. It brings with it an emotional bond of family that is something we lack so much in today¿s world. It seems your never alone when you have family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Maggie Shayne writes a great magical romance!!!

    This is the first book I have read by Maggie Shayne and I am hooked. It was beautiful, mesmerizing and takes you away to another place and time. Also read her sequel, Infinity. I eagerly await the next story in this series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2015

    Easy

    This is an engaging story. There are few grammatical errors, most of which in deference to conversational English. If author happens to read this review, you may want to do a word search for "rather" and replace with "father".

    Also, there is a part where author injects their personal point of view of different religions, which spans about four pages. The philosophical views I can imagine are more forward thinking and may be better found in the latter part of the book, during present times.

    Kudos for writing a near seamless memory mashup of past with present. The only awkward part I found was the chapter before and the beginning of Duncan's memory of what happened to change his mind from going back to Scotland and he instead went to the New World. A better transition here is needed.

    Again, this is a great story, and worth the time invested. It was very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2015

    Blah!

    Stopped reading at page 50. Too boring, couldnt get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Mesmerizing

    The author does an excellent job of setting a scene so that you can "see" the action take place. You can hear the characters voices and feel their anguish and pain as events unfold. And even though I felt certain that the main characters, Raven and Duncan, would find each other again, I eagerly devoured the pages of this book. This was a thoroughly enjoyable read and easily stands alone, even though it is the first book of a trilogy. If you enjoy the idea of magic in the world mixed with romance and the intrigue of a ages old villian, I highly recommend you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4