Customer Reviews for

Eternity Road

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Post-Apocalyptic Read

    I liked this book even though it had some flaws. The story took a while to get going. Also, when the Illyrians were on their quest, it would've been nice to be able to recognize some of the remnants of the "roadmakers" handiwork - besides the roads. Either way, I would recommend this book to folks who like post-apocalyptic reads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Future Past for Roadbuilders

    This SciFi book will appeal not only to those that love the "after the apocalypse" books, but alternative history ones also. This takes place after the apocalypse, but before we regain all that was lost. Think about living around 1860. It has some romance, lots of thrills, and a long quest to search for long lost information. What they find along the road is amazing. The future starts long after our future so they will find things you never expected. A fascinating read. I love maps and live in the northwest, so I had to read it with an atlas so I could try and follow their path (it wasn't easy).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    pointless and boring. a group of people in the far future travel

    pointless and boring. a group of people in the far future travel across the ruins of the past looking for answers and never really find them, and i was annoyed by the author's constant anti-religious rhetoric, i like fiction books that entertain, not books disguised as a story when they are actually vehicles for the authors personal political agendas, if you're looking for a good post-apacolyptic novel, this is not it, lame, lame, lame

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    How Far Would You Go For Answers?

    Imagine a world that in some ways is much like our own, and in other ways is completely different. Jack McDevitt skillfully portrays a world where the unknown and the known are the same thing. A world that exists years after one humanities strongest and brightest periods of existence. There is still a human race in the world, yet they are immensely different from what we know today. They still act like us, but their motivations for survival are different and their understanding of the world is rooted in fear. In “Eternity Road”, the point is not merely to survive but to figure out what happened to the “Roadmakers” and what is next.
    The “Roadmakers” produced a world that is beautiful and, at the same time, confusing to everybody living through the time that this story is based. We follow one society and their journey for answers and a sort of salvation. There are not many societies left in this “new” world but ours, the “Illyrians”, is similar to all the others surviving here. They are lost in a world that was constructed using technology long, long forgotten. They have homes and clothes and some of them can read and invent, but the majority of them are like those in the Middle Ages. Most of the population is low intelligence work force merely existing, but as with any culture there are those who dream of more. Just as we begin to come to understand “Illyrian” society, we are torn away by an expedition setting out to discover the fate of a previous expedition.
    The first groups mission was to find a mythical place that supposedly held the answers to all the mysterious items left behind and the culture that created them. They consisted of adventurers, philosophers, and intellectuals, yet the only person to return is leader of the expedition, Karik Endive. Upon his sudden and mysterious death, he bequeaths a book to the sister of one of the people on the expedition. It is this book, “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court”, that inspires this young woman, Chaka Milana, to create the second expedition. In this society books are rare, and are gateways to view the “Roadmaker” world. The expedition has two real goals. To discover the fate of the previous group and to discover the fabled “Haven” where vast stores of knowledge are believed to exist. It is thought that the first group must have found it because of the book that Karik returned with.
    This search for answers is symbolic for how we, as a society, always feel there is more out there. More for us to learn and discover. Often the question arises for the reader, why go through so much for so little. In this view of a post-apocalyptic world, one cannot stop pursuing answers at any cost. In “Eternity Road”, Jack McDevitt weaves a masterful storyline that shows us that knowledge should be our most cherished quality and we must strive with all of our might to find answers for the unknown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Liked it a lot.

    Here's the deal. Just get through the first 50 pages and you're golden. The front end it slow as well as confusing. Push through that to the good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good Escapism Reading

    The book starts out well. It is engrossing and a good plot. I thought it ended weakly and the ending was hard for me to believe. It was a bit of a let down from the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prophetic

    This is a book that will really get you thinking about time and the future of Earth. The story jumps from one thrill to the next. Very unique perspective of the future. kept my attention throughout. It could have been edited down a bit, as there werer some short spans of "Okay keep on reading" and you get through it. Well done Jack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Lacking

    Eternity Road creates a wonderful world, but does not full expound on it. In fact, the story isn't that great. The story feels recycled from other stories: finding what was lost after an apocalypse by trying to find a library. However, the world McDevitt creates is wonderful. If only there was a better storyline to go into the unique world. I recommend reading it, you'll love the world McDevitt created. Hopefully you will create a better story for this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Roadtrip to the Future

    Terrific page turner, I read it in a day. The plot is good and the unfolding far-future post-apocalyptic landscape is excellent. Message similar to 'Leibowitz', knowledge never really dies, just lays dormant for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    incredible. just plain incredible.

    book is plain incredible. very compelling story and characters you can relate to at times. a real page turner. kept me up all night just to see what was going to happen to our adventuring illyrian's next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    One of my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Very Enjoyable

    I felt the book was well written and very thought provoking. It did not focus on one particular acpect but on many, making it more interesting. One must concentrate a little harder because of that fact but that helps make it more enjoyable. The characters are ineresting and enjoyable. The book brings out many emotions and makes one feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Only so-so...

    The idea of the book was fascinating; however, most of the book was spent recounting the journey to GET to the place of interest that was so intriguing in the first place. The journey was NOT the major focus of the book (if it was intended to be, it failed), and McDevitt spent little to no time at the end of the book 'exploring' for the reader the intriguing final destination, opting instead to sum everything up in a brief epilogue. In addition to all of this, Jack McDevitt has a penchant for writing about irresponsible, reckless archaeologists which is actually annoying in this book (although it is barely acceptable in other books.) I believe this book could have been so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2