Customer Reviews for

Ethan (Brightest Kind of Darkness, Novella)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    in depth look at Ethan

    I really enjoyed reading the Novella about Ethan. P.T. Michelle really brought depth and understanding into the character Ethan. Made me really fall in love with him even more than I had after reading the other 3 books in the Brightest Kind of Darkness Series. Made me happy, sad and even brought a tear to my eye while reading this book. I truly loved this novella along with the rest of the series. I hope everyone out there will give her books a read and fall in love with the characters like I did...truly enjoyed them and can't wait for the next book to be released!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ethan is a prequel novella to the Brightest Kind of Darkness ser

    Ethan is a prequel novella to the Brightest Kind of Darkness series and a great addition to this wonderful series!
    I really love Ethan as a character.  He is truly a tortured character but somehow manages to rise about that and be a rather perfect Book Boyfriend!  He is smart and strong, brave and compassionate.  It is hard to come away from this look at Ethan and not feel for him.  




    Although this is a prequel and set in the weeks leading up to Book 1, I would recommend reading this after Book 1.  The author states that it can be read before or after, and I feel like it adds a layer to a character we already know when reading it after.  It really helps you understand the character that you meet in Brightest Kind of Darkness.




    Things to love about Ethan...




       --Ethan as a person.  He is truly an interesting character, tortured but not emo... which I hate.
       --The details.  I read this after BKoD, but I loved the details between Ethan and BKoD, tying them together in a slightly different way, from a slightly different perspective than in BKoD.




    My recommendation:  A definite must read .for the series, which I also recommend.  A great series and Ethan is a great addition to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Love it

    Love the series. Only let down toooo short. I wanted more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    More

    I just she added more. Let us really get into his homelife

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Oh my god it just ended out of nowhere! Now im sad and i have to read the others again. I liked the present tense narrative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A short story jammed pack with great history, I read this book f

    A short story jammed pack with great history, I read this book fast!




    If you have read The Brightest Kind Of Darkness then you will love Ethan's story. It gives you a better history of Ethan and how he came to be. It also gives you the reader, a different point of view of events leading up to Ethan meeting Nara. I loved reading about her learning about her and watching her every move. Even though they had yet to meet, you can tell the connection between them is growing strong.




    I like that in Ethan's story we also get to see more of his home life. Ethan struggles with a lot of issues that his parents seems to not want to take part in. And that made my heart ache a little. Still, it made Ethan stronger in what he does.




    Ethan is great addition to the series. It's sets the tone to what is to come. If you have not red this series,  I suggest you start with Ethan. Awesome and sweet, Ethan is superb!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    58 pages. Interesting paranormal pre-quelle.

    Interesting insight into Ethan's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Amazing

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Lovely book

    The novella was amazing. I read it in about two hours. I wish it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read this novella right after Dreams. This was the perfect loo

    I read this novella right after Dreams. This was the perfect look behind Ethan. Even though it is a novella, the story flows well and doesn't feel rushed at all. I wish that it could have continued past the first interaction between Ethan and Nara and given us Ethan's point of view for more of the first book...but then it wouldn't have been a novella, I guess. lol Overall, I'd say if you loved the first book in the series, you will love this one, too. I sure did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    .

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Blake

    She smiles. "Hey."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ethan

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Great!

    I really liked reading this novella. It is Ethan's point of view of his life, and I find I like him and want to know more about him and this girl Nara he speaks of. Having read this before I've read the series, I'm all in for reading the rest of the books. This book is 64 pages. The story is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Received this book from the author for an honest review. This wa

    Received this book from the author for an honest review.
    This was a really quick read. The story flows so nicely. I love that its from Ethan's point of view. It's nice to see things through Ethan's eyes. You understand him and why he is the way he is. I really wanted to read more from Ethan's point of view. This is a really great story.

    There were moments that made me teary eyed. I wanted to keep reading, that's how good this story is. It's terrible that his parents don't care about Ethan and that his brother is the only family he has. He has friends but he doesn't open up to anyone because of his nightmares. No one really accepts him for who he is when they find out about his dreams. Ethan is a misunderstood young man who only wants to be accepted just the way he is.

    I highly recommed this book to anyone. If you haven't read Brightest Kind Of Darkness then get it. You can read this one before or after but reading Brightest Kind of Darkness will help you understand where Ethan is coming from. I really want to read Lucid soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Read in one sitting after reading the first book. love how we get to see Ethans look on Inara. Made me love him so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am such a fan of this series and I fell in love with Ethan in

    I am such a fan of this series and I fell in love with Ethan in book one, Brightest Kind of Darkness.  In book two, Lucid, we didn't actually get to see that much of him, but his presence was there nonetheless.  The first two books are told from Nara's point of view, so I was really excited to be able to read this novella, in Ethan's point of view, enabling you to get to know him, what he was thinking, and what went on from his perspective before and up unto the bombing in the beginning of book one.  There is such a drastic change in Ethan from the beginning of Brightest Kind of Darkness and the ending of Lucid.  Ethan has encountered so much darkness, so much pain, and the bright spot in all of that is Nara.  I loved seeing how he felt about her, even from the beginning.  She is his light.  Ethan is an enigma, which becomes obvious as the series progresses.  He is also so very hot, dark, mysterious, powerful, and dominating.  His is a dark world, and we've only begun to see what it is about.   The next book in the series, Destiny, will release in October, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it and find out more about Ethan.  If you haven't read this series, it is truly wonderful and I definitely would recommend it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    Fans of the Brightest Kind of Darkness Series will love this nov

    Fans of the Brightest Kind of Darkness Series will love this novella. My favorite character from BKoD was Ethan. He was so intriguing and mysterious, so I was excited to learn more about him in this novella. Ethan broke my heart a little bit. He seemed so alone before Nara. I loved getting his POV about when he sees her for the first time. He's so sweet. Because this is such a short novella, there isn't much more I can say without ruining it. Just know this, if you liked Ethan before, you will love him even more after reading this. If you haven't read the Brightest Kind of Darkness, definitely check it out. 




    Favorite Quote:
    ~She's the bright light shining in my periphery, edging out the creeping darkness. I can't help but stare directly into her brilliance.-Loc939

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    This series was one of my favorites from last year, so when I he

    This series was one of my favorites from last year, so when I heard that P.T. was going to do a novella for Ethan, I was very excited, especially since this character seems to be so much different in book one then in book two. And he even though we get to know him, he is still a complete mystery, especially in book two.

    When you read different book series, you usually only get to know one person really well, even if the other main character plays a big part, you seem to only get one back story. We got to know Nara a lot of Brightest Kind of Darkness, and of course we meet Ethan, but there is a lot of mystery to him and then with Lucid, he seems to be a completely different guy, at least to me. He almost didn't feel the same to me.

    This book really made me understand and feel for Ethan. You learn about his troubles in BKoD, but this is so much more in depth and I just fell in love with him so much more. I felt really bad for him, and wanted to just give him a big hug. But by reading this little novella about Ethan, it really made Lucid make a ton of more sense for me. I can see how his personality can change, and the 180 he seems to do in Lucid from BKoD, and his temper, all makes sense to me now, and I am very excited for the next book! It you have read this series, this is a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Ethan is an excellent addition to the gorgeous, brilliant Bright

    Ethan is an excellent addition to the gorgeous, brilliant Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P.T. Michelle. Though it is set in the weeks leading up to book one in the series, I would definitely recommend reading it after Brightest Kind of Darkness. Then again, this revealing look at the tortured Ethan may be just enough to lure new readers in.

    Since the moment I truly got to know him, I have adored Ethan. He is smart, strong, brave, honorable, and incredibly wonderful to Nara. This book made me so sad for him. Reading the other books, we know Ethan's had a rough time, but this novella really brings how hard things have been into sharp focus.

    My favorite part of reading Ethan was that I know where the story is going. I was looking for little clues ~ the ravens, the nightmares, the radiance of Nara. I loved seeing Ethan become quickly and assuredly enchanted by Nara, and though I knew what was going to happen, I found myself holding my breath when they finally made a connection. Michelle did a brilliant job of weaving small details between Ethan and Brightest Kind of Darkness together, and as soon as I finished Ethan, I immediately went back and read Chapter One of BKoD.

    Beware, this will make you want to read the series all over again, and leave you anxiously awaiting book four, Destiny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2