Customer Reviews for

Ethan Frome

Average Rating 3.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Book

This is my favorite book of all-time. I first read this book in high school (about 20 years ago!) and have read it several times since.
It is a love story with a sad ending.

I don't understand why people say this is boring. I think I'll blow the dust off of my cop...
This is my favorite book of all-time. I first read this book in high school (about 20 years ago!) and have read it several times since.
It is a love story with a sad ending.

I don't understand why people say this is boring. I think I'll blow the dust off of my copy and read it again.

posted by 9643275 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Five Star Story, One Star Proofreading

The story itself contained in this e-book is just as compelling a story as you would expect from Edith Wharton. Very few authors have even come close to her ability to understand and communicate complicated human emotions and their consequences. Ethan Frome is a very ...
The story itself contained in this e-book is just as compelling a story as you would expect from Edith Wharton. Very few authors have even come close to her ability to understand and communicate complicated human emotions and their consequences. Ethan Frome is a very simple, yet heartrending story of regret and what might have been. However, I have a huge complaint about the quality of the e-book itself. There are numerous typos, sections of text randomly missing, making for very awkward transitions, and, inexplicably the text:

Ethan Frome
Ethan Frome

in about the middle of almost every single page. We know what book we're reading, we don't need it doubly restated on every page! The nook is a great device, but if Barnes and Noble wants it to be taken seriously, it really needs to pay attention to the quality of the reading material it makes available. There are many other websites out there that provide these copyright-expired books in epub format that are error-free. Yes it's a little more complicated to get them onto the nook, but it can be a worthwhile tradeoff in order to get a readable edition of the book. I'd rather have a book I can read that takes a few more steps than the one-click convenience of getting an incomprehensible nookbook.

posted by ChiG on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    BBOORRIINNGG!!!!!!!

    I had to read this as a english summer read and had so much trouble getting into the story. The plot is hard to follow and there is little to no personality in the characters. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    could not read

    Again with huge sentence spacing, word spacing and long list of numbers, it was just too difficult to read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Terrible, terrible book.

    This story is nothing more than an experiment in just how thoroughly a work of fiction can depress the reader. With stilyed prose and a truly unlikeable main character, this is a story not to be set aside lightly, but rather to be hastily buried in the woods and forgotten by history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Bad version - poor editing/typos

    I only read the sample chapter of this version and after stumbling over four typos and punctuation errors that caused confusion I started comparing it to the other e-book version that's $2 more. I'll be purchasing the other version as it appears to be edited correctly. And proper editing is worth an extra two bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1