Customer Reviews for

Ethan Frome by Pulitzer Prize Winning Author Edith Wharton

Average Rating 3.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Book

This is my favorite book of all-time. I first read this book in high school (about 20 years ago!) and have read it several times since.
It is a love story with a sad ending.

I don't understand why people say this is boring. I think I'll blow the dust off of my cop...
This is my favorite book of all-time. I first read this book in high school (about 20 years ago!) and have read it several times since.
It is a love story with a sad ending.

I don't understand why people say this is boring. I think I'll blow the dust off of my copy and read it again.

posted by 9643275 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Five Star Story, One Star Proofreading

The story itself contained in this e-book is just as compelling a story as you would expect from Edith Wharton. Very few authors have even come close to her ability to understand and communicate complicated human emotions and their consequences. Ethan Frome is a very ...
The story itself contained in this e-book is just as compelling a story as you would expect from Edith Wharton. Very few authors have even come close to her ability to understand and communicate complicated human emotions and their consequences. Ethan Frome is a very simple, yet heartrending story of regret and what might have been. However, I have a huge complaint about the quality of the e-book itself. There are numerous typos, sections of text randomly missing, making for very awkward transitions, and, inexplicably the text:

Ethan Frome
Ethan Frome

in about the middle of almost every single page. We know what book we're reading, we don't need it doubly restated on every page! The nook is a great device, but if Barnes and Noble wants it to be taken seriously, it really needs to pay attention to the quality of the reading material it makes available. There are many other websites out there that provide these copyright-expired books in epub format that are error-free. Yes it's a little more complicated to get them onto the nook, but it can be a worthwhile tradeoff in order to get a readable edition of the book. I'd rather have a book I can read that takes a few more steps than the one-click convenience of getting an incomprehensible nookbook.

posted by ChiG on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    This is a great, sad story

    It is about the life of a man who had nothing but hard luck. It is an old fashion romance that unlike Hollywood movies- cannot be said to have a happy ending. Thought provoking.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    i recommended this book to a lot of people

    The book Ethan Frome is a love story with a lot of drama. I really enjoyed this book, the end is the best part. The story took place out in the New England countryside. There are farms and fields were people had to grow fruit and vegetables to eat. People sometimes had to give up things that may be very important to them such as a person or an object that may help them in life. For example, it could be a person that you are in love with that lives with you on the farm or farm animals. So this story is about love and romance.
    This story takes place in Starkfield, Massachusetts. Ethan is one of the main characters lives on the farm with a wife Zenna. Zenna’s cousin Mattie comes to help with the housekeeping and Ethan and Mattie fall in love. However, Mattie also met other men such as Dennis Eady to socialize with. So who is Mattie going to fall in love with? Is it going to be Ethan who is married to her cousin Zenna or is it going to be this new character names Dennis. A lot can happen in nine chapters but I have to say that the ending may be a surprise to you.
    This story has a lot to do with family and new relationships and the book would be great for people that love their wife or husband. However, it will be enjoyed by people that sometimes have trouble with their wife or husband. But hopefully it will get better in time, just like this family did. So I hope you recommend this book because it is excellent for people that love their family and pray that there life will be better when you do have a wife or a husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not bad

    I read this for english class and i first, had a hard time getting into it..but after awhile the story became more clear and it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Great Book

    Wharton puts you in Starkfield, Massachusetts, painting a bleak picture of cold desolation and emotional strain in this ironic and tragic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    My Experience With Ethan Frome

    Ethan Frome is a novel about a man's lost dreams. The book starts out with an engineer's curiousity about Ethan Frome's situation. He asks around town but, as is custom with many New Englanders, the townspeople don't reveal much detail. Not until the engineer has to stay with Ethan during a blizzard does he learn the truth. It took me ahwile to get into this book. It was slow starting but after the prologue it started to get more exciting. The author wrote in a way that made me feel for Ethan Frome. I felt his sorrow and sadness and conflict. It was somewhat predictable towards the end but exciting nonetheless. I highly recomend this book to anyone who's looking for a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Ethan Frome

    I enjoyed reading Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton, and I would suggest it to other readers. This novel is about doing what is right, and fighting internal conflicts. It is a love story with a tragic ending. EdithWharton uses lots of immagery to describe the remote town. She paints a picture in your mind with her descriptive words, and you get a good feeling of what the town is like. She also describes her characters well, and their personalities can be seen when she compares them to colors, and explains each one. I also enjoyed the story because most of it was a flashback. As the story progresses you slowly piece together the events. Ethan Frome is a beautiful written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    A Twisted Love Story

    This novel was very interesting to me. The very beginning drops huge hints of what is to come. You discover that this quiet old man experienced an accident when he was young, that would change his life forever. As you go back in time, you see that Ethan Frome was tied to an 'old' wife who does nothing but complain about every ache and pain that comes to her body. She was always going on about how ill she was, spending the little maney they had on doctors. As a reader, you discover that Ethan was very passionate, except his true passion was for Mattie, his wife's cousin and caregiver. The story goes on to show the struggles of these two unfortunate lovers, who in the end were willing to give their lives to be together without any complications. To find out what happened in the end, you'll have to read the book yourself. I thought this book was very well written. It was nice to see a love story that actually had a different ending and that didn't follow that same pathetic fairy tale ending. I definitely recommend this book to readers of all ages out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Frome from Freida

    'Ethan Frome' begins when Ethan is fifty-five. The prologue is a foreshadowing to the entire rest of the story. The narrator perceives Ethan as a humble and quiet old man and how he became this way is slowly revealed throughout the text. Ethan is torn between a sense of obligation to his wife, Zeena, and his flaring passion for her cousin and caretaker, Mattie. When Ethan succumbs to his physical longings, his life is changed forever. I feel the author, Edith Wharton, does an excellent job contrasting the personalities of Zeena and Mattie. On the outside, Mattie appears to be a sweet, kind, earnest girl who cares deeply for Ethan and wants what's best for him. Zeena is portrayed as a calloused bitter woman who is only concerned about her own 'illnesses'. This makes Ethan's choice look exceptionally easy to the reader. However, I think that there is more to Mattie than meets the eye. Backed by her own statements of not knowing where she'd go without Ethan's hospitatlity and with a more thorough analysis of her true characteristics, it appears as if she's merly using him to avoid being sent out on her own. Overall, I feel this is an excellent story about the snowballing trials of a common man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Very interesting indeed...

    I'm a high school junior, and just finished reading this book for school. Although I didn't like it at all in the beginning, by the end I thought it was great (although somewhat depressing). And if you're just starting to read it...don't get discouraged. I know the first part seems random, but it connects in the end. You definitely have to read it through at least twice. This book is especially great for discussion (we did literary circles in class).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    A Funny ending

    This book was hilarious to me. Ethan Frome first marries Zeena because she took care of his mother. Ethan doesn't want Zeena anymore so he falls in love with his wife's cousin Mattie. What a pimp, huh? Anyways, Zeena finds out about the 'lovers' and makes up a lie about hiring another girl to take care of her. Ethan doesn't want her to leave or for them to be separate so they try and commit suicide but it doesnt work. What a couple of bone heads. This book definitely deserves to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    poor mans burden

    After reading the first few pages of the book i assumed that the entire piece would drone on in the same incessant pedestrian fashion. I stand not only corrected but intrigued as well. The style of writing along with other technical aspects caught my attention. We guess or learn of specific events before they take place, but are we correct?. She draws us in by telling us what happens, but not how it happens until later. Another feature is that the characters are real, we can feel the tension and hatred in which we are intended to. All in all I was rather amused by the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    My Opinon of Ethan Frome

    The novel Ethan Frome, by Edith Wharton is in my opinon a very good novel. The novel is about a man named ethan forme and his wife zeena who is very ill (so she thinks) and Mattie who is invited to come and live with them after zeena becomes ill. Soon after ethan and mattie develop a relationship that soon blossoms into love. Zeena finds out and becomes angery. She then decides that she no longer needs mattie there to care for her. That she will now hire someone else to help her. Ethan and Mattie then decide to go for a sleigh ride before she leaves. They come up with the idea that they will build up speed and then smash into the big elm tree at the bottom of the hil, so that they will die together and be happy together for ever. At the end of the novel is a mystery. This novel i belive is worth your time to read. Its a love story with a sad twist. I enjoyed this novel. And even read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Wasn't disappointed

    This was the first book that I have read by Edith Wharton and I wasn't disappointed. I really enjoyed the book; it was very easy to read and was able to read and complete in a few hours. Recommend for any book project. Looking forward to reading something else by Wharton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Wasn't disappointed.

    This was the first time I've read anything by Edith Wharton, and I wasn't disappointed. The book made for interesting and easy reading. Would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2002

    A pretty good book.

    This book is a novel that was assigned for my class to read from my English teacher. I like this book because it explains about the life back at the beggining of the 20th century, it includes love, missfortunes, poorness and happiness. I think that this book is very good, and I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2001

    A semi autobiographical book

    Reading this book you can see Edith Wharton in her writing. Wharton was in an unhappy marriage who suffered most of her adult life. While she never had an affair she was never in love with her husband. Her other short stoies follow the same theme as Ethan Frome. This is an excellent tale which will give you a deep understanding of one of the greates female writers of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    Ethan Frome a bore? I differ in opinion.

    A bore? Well not exactly in my words, would it be put in such a way to insult the author but I would tend to say it is a wonderful confection of a novel. Edith Wharton, places the hardships of farmlife, and a love story tied in with interesting characters. Literature is springing from every aspect, every word from the book. Her extreme uses of metaphor and figurative language is acknowledged, by myself certaintly and it is a marvelous piece of work. Edith Wharton's previous books on basis of aristocracy and such, truly sets the stage for this enduring work of comprising this literary wonder, on experiences which she herself has not experienced. A bore, I think not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Everyone should take the time to read it.

    This is one of those classics that isn't over 1000 pages, like 'Les Miserables' or 'Anna Karenina', so the average person can read it in a few hours. It's very meaningful, and the author creates vivid images of the countryside scenery. If there is a lesson here, I think it is that everyone needs to feel loved, even married people. The point comes across very powerfully. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that I found the ending unnecessarily depressing, and a little tough to believe. But, ironically, it was probably the cataclysm of the tragic ending that made the book into a classic, and I'm glad for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2