Customer Reviews for

Ethereal (Celestra Series Book 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

Addison Moore is very talented and this series is one I could not put down. I'm eagerly awaiting the realease of book 5, VEX. I highly recomend you give this series a try. You won't be dissapointed.

posted by Elarm on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Badly written

I read a lot of paranormal fiction. Some are good, some are bad, this one was the worst. There's absolutely no plot, no character development, NO editing. Skyla is one dimensional with every guy falling for her for no apparent reason after knowing her for five minutes. ...
I read a lot of paranormal fiction. Some are good, some are bad, this one was the worst. There's absolutely no plot, no character development, NO editing. Skyla is one dimensional with every guy falling for her for no apparent reason after knowing her for five minutes. There were mistakes in every paragraph: spelling, grammar, contradictions, misspelled words that made no sense, blank pages in mid paragraph. Just bad.

posted by CynthiaLA on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Wonderful

    Addison Moore is very talented and this series is one I could not put down. I'm eagerly awaiting the realease of book 5, VEX. I highly recomend you give this series a try. You won't be dissapointed.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Highly recommended

    The book starts out with a move to Paragon Island and 16 year old Skyla finds herself perplexed when she meets a boy who shares her ability to read minds. She discovers she is an angel and becomes involved in a love triangle. Super fun. Moves quick.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Really good

    I enjoyed this new take on angels and can't wait to read the follow up.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Fun read, light and witty. This is a new take on angels. Very creative with lots of twist and turns.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Buy this book!

    I loved everything about this book. It does get confusing, but be patient. For the recored Im going gor Gadge!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED.

    Simply said.. it has a great story line.. with such awesome detail. Read the second book RIGHT after the first.. Come on book 3!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast read

    Great story i highly recommend it !:-)

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Enjoyed this so much

    This is a good first book in the series. I'll be curious to see where this goes.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    New series

    I'm older than the demographic but this was far too good to put down. You don't need to be a teen to enjoy. The last page had me wanting more. Very fast read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    great book!

    This had me hooked from the first page. Great read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Great book, great series!

    This author has a rare talent for creating characters with an alluring appeal! She does a brilliant job building up an exciting and intense chemistry between the characters.

    I was unsure about whether or not I wanted to read the book based on the summary provided but I'm glad I did! You'll find danger, adventure, romance, and a very unique take on an Angelic race hidden in a seemingly normal world.

    As with any new series or book, give it a few chapters to become familiar with story. But in my opinion, it's a fast, easy and entertaining read!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    IT WAS AWESOME!! You should totes read this book!! BEST BOOK EVES!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ethereal is the first in the Celestra series and has produced a

    Ethereal is the first in the Celestra series and has produced a few offspring of it's own. Celestra is the name of the type of angel that the main character in the series is. There are several other types: Countenance, Noster, Deorsum and Levatio. The Celestra are the highest form of angels and the Counts (as they are referred to) hate them and are trying to eradicate them. The Counts are sort of like the Mafia of the Angel world. They don't want anything to come between them and power. Celestra will do that. But, I seem to be getting ahead of myself!

    Skyla is a junior in high school and has just moved to Paragon, Washington with her mother, sister, stepfather, stepsister and stepbrother. They have moved from Los Angeles after her father dies and her stepfather relocates for a job. She actually likes Paragon because the weather matches her moods - gray and depressing. She moves into the house of a recently deceased girl and begins to learn that her death wasn't normal. Skyla herself isn't normal; she can read peoples' minds just by touching them.

    After Skyla meets Logan and Gage Oliver, she learns that she is not the only one with mind-reading capabilities. Logan is a Celestra angel and Gage is a Levatio angel. Logan is the one that tells Skyla what she is because he can read minds too. Logan tries to tell her what he knows but most angels do not know the whole story about their world until they are 30 years old. But, there are a lot of things that Logan knows that he doesn't tell Skyla.

    This book is pretty fast paced and it's a fairly easy read, mainly because you don't want to stop reading. Addison Moore LOVES to end the books on a cliffhanger (frustrating!). So don't be surprised if you find yourself reading them one right after the other. OH! And she likes to put the first chapter of her OTHER books into the back to get you hooked onto those! I am warning you now: Read these at your own risk when you have time to immerse yourself in Skyla's world and the world of the angels. Addison Moore writes these stories in such a way that you will forsake all other books (and possibly your domestic and work duties as well!) to keep reading them. She knows how much I like these books and just laughs at me when I tell her she's killing me!

    I have read other angel series and this series is very different. This series seems to make the angels more human like and sometimes you forget they are angels because of that. It's not a downside or even a bad thing because you seem to connect with them more. I just finished book 2 (Tremble) and I cannot wait to start reading the next one (Burn). I will definitely be reading all of the books in this series and the spawns of this series as well as any other books that she has written. I like her writing style and the descriptive way that she writes. She also doesn't get too heavy into the teen angst so you have sections where there is just a series of whining and drivel. I like that. It makes the characters seem stronger. And I like me some strong characters!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    To below

    You really dont know anything about a good book. I was a awsome book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Amazing Concept! Who is Skyla or rather what is she? Will Logan

    Amazing Concept!
    Who is Skyla or rather what is she? Will Logan and Gage be able to help her?

    I loved this book. what a different concept. I recommend this book to anyone who is tired of the same old paranormal romance book. This book has it all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!! The Celestra series is not the run of the

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!! The Celestra series is not the run of the mill books. It will grab you and will not let you put it down. Yes it has some editing problems but it is awesome.
    I just finished book 6 of the Celestra Series... And can not wait for #7!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Wonderful! A super start to what looks like a great series. I th

    Wonderful! A super start to what looks like a great series. I thought Skyla was like every girl I knew in high school. I loved her crazy family and yes, her weird step father was too funny! It felt like I was watching a comedy unfold excpet when it got scary. I loved how it was a roller coaster of emotion. I like Skyla's fight in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    What an adventure!

    This book is an easy read that helped pass the time while my mother was in the hospital. Great escape fiction.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    ‡ † Energy † ‡

    &#8225 Name: Energy &#8225 <p> &#8224 Gender: &female &#8224 <p> &#8225 Appearance: Light Silver pelt, Dark Silver paws & ears &#8225 <br> &#8224 Deep, Bright Green eyes &#8224 <p> &#8225 Personality: Intelligent, Quick Witted, & Loyal &#8225 <p> &#8224 Kin: Unknown &#8224 <p> &#8224 Crush: N/A &#8224 <p> &#8225 Mate: N/A &#8225 <p> &#8224 Kits: N/A &#8224 <p> &#8225 Friends: N/A &#8225 <p> &#8224 History: ... &#8224

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Flints bio

    Name flint age who knows pelt color light ginger eyes light blue personality loyal agressive kind to clanmates past long and bloodstained mate none not even looking for one ( sorry about spelling ive got a disorder in rl called disgrapha )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9