Customer Reviews for

Etiquette for the End of the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    More fun than a Doomsday lady with a map and a bag full of change!

    A cute story about the end of the world as Tess knows it. It's hard to know what to do when the world starts to crumble down all around you. After she loses her job, her boyfriend, and her family, Tess takes the plunge with a group who not only believe the world will actually end, but have a big check to write a self help guide for survivors. What does she have to lose? Tess gets sucked down into the depths of this gloomy rabbit hole, but seems to always keep her humor through it all. Her journey takes her through many twists and turns both funny and a little frightening. As Tess begins to write her self help guide for survivors, she begins to learn how to patch up her own disasterous life. Having known a few people myself who plan for the end of days, I could relate very well with the character's plight, but I think we all could use Tess's guide to remind us not only how to survive, but how to live.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    This is a very fuuny book. I like it when writers combine things

    This is a very fuuny book. I like it when writers combine things that I love: chick lit and post-apocalyptic fiction

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    ETIQUETTE FOR THE END OF THE WORLD is a comedic way to see what

    ETIQUETTE FOR THE END OF THE WORLD is a comedic way to see what might have happen had the world ended on December 21st, 2012. It was much like the Y2K hype, where most people weren't worried about it but some people stressed so much about it. We meet Tess Elliot who shows us a way to be happy (and a little sarcastic) when the world is ending in the book she is writing for W.O.O.S.H. While she is working for W.O.O.S.H, she meets Peter Barrett, who is head of Donor Relations for the company. He is funny, nice, and a great cook. He seems like the perfect match.. but how could he be?

    Soon, Tess is off into the world, travelling to Mexico in hopes to find a friends old secretary. She meets new people, see's some awesome art and grows on us like fungus.

    This book is an easy and fantastic read. I rate it a 4/5, only for the fact that I don't like to think the end of the world might be coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    What would you do if you thought the world was going to end on D

    What would you do if you thought the world was going to end on December 21, 2012? Would it be safe to go out in public if you were one of the lucky people that survived?
    That is the issue that writer, Tess Eliot is tasked with when she is asked to write a guide regarding the preparation for the end of the world by a company called W.H.O.O.S.H: The World Organization for Omniscient Solstice Harbingers. Now that is a mouthful right?

    When Tess meets these people, she finds out that they actually believe the world will end and are quite serious about this project. She however thinks they sound more like a cult and does not take the whole world ending thing very seriously at all. Since Tess recently lost her "Tess Knows Best" newspaper column, she is in desperate need of a job, so she agrees to write the book. With her personality and quick-wit, this writing assignment is perfect for Tess. And even though the end of the world is a heavy and serious topic to write about, she gives it a light and upbeat tone that readers will find engaging.

    While she is working for W.O.O.S.H, she meets Peter Barrett, who is head of Donor Relations for the company. Peter becomes enamored with Tess and they start spending some time together outside of work. Peter is handsome, charming, and seemingly perfect. A little too perfect possibly...

    The premise might sound a bit out there, but don't let that fool you. Etiquette for the End of the World is a witty and light hearted weekend read that will take you on a crazy journey filled with memorable and funny characters, and a woman who will question W.O.O.S.H's real motives and begin to wonder if there is some truth behind their belief after all.

    The author, Jeanne Martinet adds just the right amount of humor to this story. I laughed numerous times while reading. It wasn't one of those books that I couldn't put down, but it was entertaining and fun nonetheless.

    I would give this book a 3/12 out of 5 rating.

    **Thank you to NetGalley and the Author, who I received this ARC from in exchange for my honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    A delightful read.

    A fantastic, easy read book. I have told all my friends to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting topic for this year of 2012

    The title for this book got my attention with all the hype associated with December 21 of this year. Touted as "Bridget Jones for the New Millennium", I thought it would be an entertaining read. It was. The characters are fun and you do care what happens to them. There is some interesting information on different theories about how the world will end on this date and information about Maya and Aztec historical artifacts and symbols. But, Bridget Jones? I don't really see that. The plot was not very riveting and some minor mysteries were not resolved, which drives me nuts. But over all I was glad I read it and would probably read a sequel with the main character, Tess, as heroine again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Wouldn't read again.

    Started out wanting to read more, but ended without an interest in recommending to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Excellent Book - Highly Recommended

    ETIQUETTE FOR THE END OF THE WORLD is a really fun romance/mystery/handbook for life's troubles here and now - and perhaps later - after everything goes south on us, like for instance on December 21, 2012. Will Tess Elliot get her man while she chases down a rare book on beetles in London and discovers crystal skulls in Mexico? What happened to her impossibly hunky boyfriend - and will W.O.O.S.H (World Organization for Omniscient Solstice Harbingers) try to get her for what she's found out about them?

    Her etiquette rules at the end of the book contain wonderful advice, and some real wisdom too. There's so much humanity and wit in this novel, a rare combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1