Customer Reviews for

Eva

Average Rating 3
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Procrastinating on homework as much as possible....

I thought this was a very good book, thought-provoking. I've been researching Peter Dickinson, and I've seen how old he is. He was born in 1927, and is married to Robin McKinley. The man was seriously ahead of his time, in 1988 when this was written and not a lot of tra...
I thought this was a very good book, thought-provoking. I've been researching Peter Dickinson, and I've seen how old he is. He was born in 1927, and is married to Robin McKinley. The man was seriously ahead of his time, in 1988 when this was written and not a lot of transplants had been made. This book might just seem like the typical science fiction book that some might find lying on the table of a Star Trek convention (no offense meant, Trekkies, I'm just an innocent SW fan). It's a mind-catching work about family and love and making choices about personal morals. I love his view on death and the apocalyptic-like end to the human race. It seems so realistic, and, sadly, not that far away. I would recommend this book for higher-level readers, not for people who do not like to be confused. I would like to point out, though, that things will confuse us in life. Appreciating them is one thing. Trying to understand them, as opposed to whizzing by them and claiming they're boring, is another.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Some May Like It, I Hated It

As an avid reader, it's really hard for me to find a book that I don't like or one that I can't get into. Eva, however, is one of the worst books I've ever read. It's not that it's poorly written, or even that it's a dumb premise. I just didn't care for it: the chara...
As an avid reader, it's really hard for me to find a book that I don't like or one that I can't get into. Eva, however, is one of the worst books I've ever read. It's not that it's poorly written, or even that it's a dumb premise. I just didn't care for it: the characters, the situations, etc., were all annoying and almost laughable. I've never given a book only one star, but in my opinion, this one deserved it. However, if you're in to Science Fiction/Medical-type books, this may be up your alley. I like some Sci-Fi, but I m not a big Sci-Fi person in general.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Some May Like It, I Hated It

    As an avid reader, it's really hard for me to find a book that I don't like or one that I can't get into. Eva, however, is one of the worst books I've ever read. It's not that it's poorly written, or even that it's a dumb premise. I just didn't care for it: the characters, the situations, etc., were all annoying and almost laughable. I've never given a book only one star, but in my opinion, this one deserved it. However, if you're in to Science Fiction/Medical-type books, this may be up your alley. I like some Sci-Fi, but I m not a big Sci-Fi person in general.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Stop before you ruin yourself

    Im in seventh grade and i had to readthis as an assignment the description made it sound like a mistery like whathappened type thing but it turned into a crappy monkey book its not good its confusing there is no real plot at all its just like her life her DULL BORING chimp life

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Eva

    this book is horrible, in my opinion. my friend Tozie liked it, so you never know...my opinion is, 'give it one star' but some people might find it interesting. wasn't my kind of thing. to me the only good thing about this book is the bottom half of the cover with eva s face on it. if you hold it up to your own face and try to fit it over your eyes and nose, it's so funny, in a very juvenile way. but that s only good thing about this book/.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    PINEAPPLE

    Don't read it!! My name is also Eva and I read it when I was about your age. It is full of bad language and enviromentalist/evolution stuff that's not only boring but annoying!!! Just don't read it!! E. G. J.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    ok

    allright. not the best of all the books out there

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    A Fantastic Novel!

    Eva is about a young girl who wakes up in the hospital after a car accident. Things are not the same for her because her mind has been placed into the body of a chimp. The novel¿s perspective is from Eva who is torn between two lives, human and chimp. This perspective gives a great incite to animal rights and the freedoms that they can only dream of. The future of these chimps lies in controversy between Eva¿s compassion and the greed of the human race. The author has written a wonderful novel full of exquisite detail of characters, chimps, and everyone¿s actions. This novel was a fantastic, moving novel that will stay with you forever.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Outstanding Book!!!

    This book was just amazing.....I have never been given so many thought provoking ideas in one book. I was amazed at how well the other took on the untraditional storyy of a girl with a human mind and a chimp body so professionally. It seriously makes you think about the future and the current pace of medical science and if what was done to Eva will someday be done to actual humans someday soon. It is also quite thought provoking how the suthor touched upon the idea of the apocolypse (if i spelled it right). I really do belive this book was a page-turner as i didnt really put this book down for too long until i was through readiing it. Although i agree this book can be confusing for younger readers or those who find it a task to think about and disect what they are reading----therefore i reccomend the reader be older and or mature to be able to understand the storyline.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Procrastinating on homework as much as possible....

    I thought this was a very good book, thought-provoking. I've been researching Peter Dickinson, and I've seen how old he is. He was born in 1927, and is married to Robin McKinley. The man was seriously ahead of his time, in 1988 when this was written and not a lot of transplants had been made. This book might just seem like the typical science fiction book that some might find lying on the table of a Star Trek convention (no offense meant, Trekkies, I'm just an innocent SW fan). It's a mind-catching work about family and love and making choices about personal morals. I love his view on death and the apocalyptic-like end to the human race. It seems so realistic, and, sadly, not that far away. I would recommend this book for higher-level readers, not for people who do not like to be confused. I would like to point out, though, that things will confuse us in life. Appreciating them is one thing. Trying to understand them, as opposed to whizzing by them and claiming they're boring, is another.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    EVA-The review

    I read this book in class and it was not a very good book. To begin with, the plot was slow and it got very boring in the middle. I was mesmoried by EVA in the begining but near the middle I started to regret that I read this book. In the middle it just drags on about how her chimp life is turnig out. I got very bored with that so I skipped to the end and speedreaded most of it. I figured out that she had a stroke and babies so that was interesting. Although, I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Evangeline

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Wtf are u talkin bout

    Im reading thi in school im 14 and it is a gret book and dont have bad language and yes it does have that cuz there tryin to teach ppl a leson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    GUESS MY NAME.........

    My name is Eva. I am in fourth grade. I have seen many bad reviews for this. But I have never hated a book before. Should I read this? If you have an answer and you read this put PINEAPPLE. Thanks BYE;)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Should i read

    It sounds good but i dont know if i should read or not please help

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    this was definetly not the best book i've ever read. but its not the worst either. it went on for a long time but the ideas brought up were pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    This book deserves no stars!

    This book draged on so much and it was torture to read. Apparently reading something that you get straight from off the shelf is not a good idea. this book dragged on 200 pages too long! if you have a choice to read it or not i recommend to not read it. it is the most boring book i have ever read in my life.something like what happens in Eva could never happen anytime soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Eva

    Peter Dickinson's book Eva was so unbelievably dumb! I HATED IT. I do not recommend it to anyone. Normally, I love science fiction books, but this was a joke. I'd rather take the ten dollars I spent on this book and burn it rather than read or buy this book again. It's horrible, stupid, and contrived with bad writing and stupid characters. Why would anyone want to read this unless they were being totured? I'd rather have tacks put in my bed than read one word of this god-awful book. How anyone can like this book is utterly beyond me it's so dumb, annoying, boring, stupid, dull, it should not ever get one good review except from someone who is delusional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Report Book

    I had to pick a book for summer reading a while ago, and I decided to pick this, It was short, sounded interesting, and when I got home I began reading it, in the car, etc. Then slowly, I REALLY didn't want to pick it up. It confused me SO much, and everyone else who picked this book was like 'It was stupid' so I don't reccomend this book, no offence to the writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    boring!!

    don't buy this book it was so boring i could not underatand anything everything was written complicated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    BORING

    to me the entire book was confusing and the beginning was really boring. I thought it was poorly written and should of had more details so it wouldn't be as confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Good, but not great.

    I guess it's alright. It is a little confusing and I guess it does get pretty boring toward the end. But I would recomend it to anyone who likes science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2