Customer Reviews for

Eve (Eve Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way...

Eve starts with a letter... A heartbreaking letter from mother to daughter.

"I know I will die soon. The plague is taking everyone who was given the vaccine."

*tears*

Years later, Eve is about the graduate- as valedictorian at the top of her class. To her, ...
Eve starts with a letter... A heartbreaking letter from mother to daughter.

"I know I will die soon. The plague is taking everyone who was given the vaccine."

*tears*

Years later, Eve is about the graduate- as valedictorian at the top of her class. To her, there is no higher honor. Soon she will walk across the bridge to the 'finishing school' where she will begin the equivalent of college in this post apocalyptic world... Or so she has been told her whole life.

Lately things have been different at school, the teachers making them take their vitamins, eat more and more... and they've been obsessively tracking each girl's monthly cycle. *RED FLAG* When Eve catches Arden (the school trouble-maker/snob) trying to LEAVE school property- which is totally NOT allowed, she threatens to tell on her if she does anything to ruin graduation day. Then Arden tells Eve what awaits her on the other side of the bridge... They are to be bred, like animals to repopulate the Earth.

Oh. My. God.

With the help of an unlikely accomplice, Eve escapes the school. Then finds herself scared,unable to properly fend for herself and ALONE. Until, by chance she runs into Arden... and then she meets... *swoon* Caleb. While she's obviously very leery of him in the beginning, after Arden falls ill and Caleb offers to take them back to his camp, she has no other option but to put her trust in a MAN!

Oh, how sweet it is... You know those love stories that leave a lump in your throat? Eve and Caleb's romance is one of those!

"Did he know that he'd worked his way into my dreams, where I missed him, even in sleep?" ~Eve

She's wrongly accused, sold out, offered as 'payment', taken hostage and SHOT at! You MUST read this book!!!!

Honestly, at first I was OUTRAGED by this ending!!! I gave it 4 stilettos and thought I was being generous! Because I DEVOURED this book... LOVED EVERY SINGLE SOLITARY SECOND... until the end- which KILLED ME.

This is until I realized that this is part of a trilogy! DUH... Brunette was having a horrible case of misunderstanding! I have no problem with cliff hangers... leaves me begging for the next book, which is kinda the point, correct? But, I thought this was a stand alone book and I was SO mad. Now, I'm not- so all is well in the world again after I read this on Anna Carey's website:

Yes-Eve is a trilogy. I've always known the first book was the beginning of a larger story. Sometimes I can't imagine containing it to even three books. ~ from Anna Carey's Q&A section

HUGE sigh of relief... because this book is AMAZING!! Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way... HORRIFYING because I can think of no worse fate than the one Eve was almost forced into.

posted by Brunette_Chick on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Great World... Not A Lot Else.

I was really excited to get an advance reader of this. I am a little in love with dystopians right now, and this is a really cool concept. The world is intriguing and mostly believable, packed with danger and well-built suspense. The writing flows well and there are no ...
I was really excited to get an advance reader of this. I am a little in love with dystopians right now, and this is a really cool concept. The world is intriguing and mostly believable, packed with danger and well-built suspense. The writing flows well and there are no slow points in the plot to amount to anything. She makes constant reference to other books throughout, which gave the story an intellectual feel. At the same time, the book seems to encourage kids to question what they learn in school, and that is a noble pursuit. The author has some profound things to say about death and its effects on young people. But that is pretty much where the good parts of this book end. The secondary characters are incredibly shallow. The only one with any development is Leif, and even with a back story he's essentially flat anyway. I was disappointed with the love interest, Caleb, as well. He's basically the same as most YA heroes - rugged, handsome, self-sacrificing, and instantly head over heels for the heroine. But he lacked any depth to speak of. The heroine herself is relatively well-done. She doesn't have the innate strength of Rhine from Wither or the raw determination of Tris from Divergent. The closest parallel I can draw for the heroine would be to Delirium. But Lena has a resourcefulness that makes up for her ignorance in most cases; Eve does not. In fact the comparisons to Twilight were pretty dead on. She's pretty pathetic at the beginning, whiny and unable to fend for herself, relying on others for pretty much everything - protection, food, directions, etc. She does grow throughout the story though, and by the end I liked her more. The reasons for the government to be after Eve were thin at best. There is one scene where they are on horseback and a bear chases them for what, in the book, feels like miles because Eve messed with its baby. That was completely unbelievable. But my major beef with this book, and it's a big one for me, is the blatant, rampant sexism. Caleb is the only "good man," as she calls him (except for one 75-year-old man she meets in the woods). Every other male character is a rapist, murderer, or both. She was taught at School to fear men, and you would think this would be disproven along with all the other lies her teachers told her about the world. But no, this is quite true, apparently. Every man she meets is more awful than the last. Even those that seem for a few minutes to be alright, turn out to try to rape her, or sell her, or cut her throat. I have a profound problem with this because of the impression it gives young women. All men do not want to rape you. They don't all look at you with "hungry eyes." There is more than one "good man" in the world. All these things said, I will probably read the sequel, if for no other reason than because the world really intrigues me and I'm interested to see where the author goes with it.

posted by taralh4 on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Interesting Idea, the Execution Wasn't Great

    What I Liked: 1) Arden. She was strong and confident, and wasn't afraid of going after what she wanted. She's was very resourceful, the kind of person I'd want along with me if I was on a journey like this, out in the unknown. 2) The concept of the story definitely appealed to me. Mysteries about the future, and what's become of the world, and what would happen if...those always intrigue me. 3) Eve and Arden have been raised to fear men. That in itself was interesting, but then when they decide to trust Caleb and the rest of the guys in his adopted family. I liked that evolution, especially on Eve's part. 4) How all of the characters, not just Eve and Caleb, are learning how to love, and what love is, in a place where love has become obsolete.

    What I Didn't Like: 1) Things were happening very fast. About the time you had settled into the storyline, we had to bounce around again. I don't think I ever felt as invested in the book because of that. The changes weren't smooth, so I felt like I was ripped out of the story when we changed. 2) I didn't like the ending at all. It made me very sad. 3) I wanted to know more about Eve. She was just kind of...blah for most of the book. Finally she got a personality towards the end, and I liked that, but in the next book I'll be looking for a more well-rounded character in her.

    Overall thoughts: Interesting concept, a few relatable characters, and some really well-written action scenes come together for this dystopian book. I am interested to see where this series will go, and if my heart can be won over after the ending that just really broke it. Anna Carey's Eve is worth a read, but be prepared for a somewhat unhappy ending.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    I requested Eve by Anna Carey because I'm addicted to Dystopian right now. It's gritty and realistic and as a fan of series like Delirium, The Hunger Games and Divergent, I was eager to get my hands on this hot little ARC.
    Eve has a good recipe for success: it's post-apocalypse(ish), taking place after a great plague has wiped a lot of man-kind from the planet. It showcases a supposedly Utopian government and believable world-building. The premise of the "after" (post-plague) is quite believable as well: orphaned children are taken to segregated schools, taught to read, write, and learn the arts before supposedly being sent off to the new City of Sand the King has built in the desert. I don't want to say much more than that, because what really happens is a key plot point.
    But in the end I was a little disappointed. As much as I liked the main character, I also didn't like her. She was whiny and predictable...and weak. I think in a Dystopian world, your main character needs to be strong. Now, maybe she's weak in this first novel of the series so the author can grow her in the sequels, but who knows? Right now, the genre is saturated, so without this key element, I have mixed emotions about it. I was also confused at some of Eve's actions; they seemed out of character for her and that made it a little unbelievable. Why would Eve believe this fellow schoolmate she despises when that schoolmate tells her what the school is really for and then breaks out? Why on earth would Eve, the consummate good girl and model student, follow her?
    {{{SPOILER ALERT!}}}I also didn't like how she arrives at this camp and falls into the role of a teacher to a bunch of orphan boys. It felt too convenient. And the boys didn't act like any young boys I know. I didn't expect these kids to be savages, but it was not how I would imagine a bunch of rebel boys to act. I was also expecting a love triangle, because I think a relationship could have been developed between Eve and another central character and...well we don't get that at all. We get violence instead and it's left rather open-ended. It's hard for me to describe exactly what actually happens, so unfortunately, I'll have to leave it at that. {{{/SPOILER ALERT}}} The ending was also a bit unsatisfactory, but I'll probably read the next just to find out what happens.
    There were a lot of strong characters (just not the characters I think need to be strong), and the story is conceptually awesome. This is not The Hunger Games or Divergent, and I think part of my problem with Eve is that I went into it expecting something just as stupendous. But in the end, this is a good read, especially if you are a fan of novels such as Possession or Matched.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - Eve by Anna Carey

    This book left me feeling very conflicted. I really enjoyed the world that Anna Carey built and I loved most of her characters. The plot was fast paced and introduced enough new characters to keep me flipping the pages in anticipation of what was to come. I loved the concept of Eve, graduating school (that rite of passage into adulthood) and then discovering that the world as she knew it was a lie. Suddenly this book smart yet incredibly naive young girl is running loose in the wilds of a post apocalyptic America and struggling to survive.

    However, at some point about half way through the book...I came to the realization that I really didn't care much for Eve. Her constant naivete and foolish decisions became annoying and soon seemed worse than naive but rather self centered. She made reckless decisions, one after another, and when others suffered for her mistakes...or even lost their lives...she seemed to feel that an apology and acknowledgement of her mistakes would be all it took to "fix" things and move on.

    Despite not loving the main character, I did find this book to be quite entertaining..I really enjoyed many of the secondary characters and was caught completely by surprise by the end. I may not rush out to buy the sequel the day it is released...but I suspect that I will eventually need to know how the story continues.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Decent

    I can't say it was a bad book. It had my attention and kept me reading till the last page. To me the story didn't have as much flow as it needed to be a page turner. Somewhat choppy but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    A Good Apocalyptic Book

    Eve By Anna Carey is a futuristic story that captured my attention. The story is well written, and captures a reader¿s attention like it did mine. However, I found it a bit dull. The idea was unique, but the story was lacking in some things.
    Sixteen years after a deadly virus wiped out the world¿s population, the earth is a dangerous place, or so they say. Eighteen-year-old Eve has been told that beyond the walls of her school it is not safe. Eve stays with two-hundred other girls who have high expectations. What they don¿t know is the secret that awaits them. Eve finds out what her future holds, and flees. She meets with her classmate, who has also escaped, and a teenage boy, who she learns to love. They undergo many dangers while trying to seek refuge is the City of Sand.
    This story was well done, but some things could have been changed in the story line. I have not taking a liking in the main character, for she seems very clueless. She endures and escapes many dangers, which seems incredulous. The story also doesn¿t explain everything; much is left for our imagination. The story is very fast- paced and I felt like the story was done before I actually grasped it all. I was also disappointed in the ending, it was not what I expected. Though, it does leave you wanting for more.
    In conclusion, I have enjoyed Eve, but I think that it needs more work. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good and different kind of story. It is filled with adventure, though it moves fast- paced.
    Eve was an interesting read, and the first story I had ever read with this kind of genre. It was fast paced and a bit bland. It lacks in some excitement, but in all is a fascinating story. I am looking forward to Anna Carey¿s next book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Three or so chapters into Eve, it occurred to me that I must¿ve

    Three or so chapters into Eve, it occurred to me that I must’ve gone through a phase where I was accumulating dystopian novels like mad. That probably happened before I realized they’re all starting to sound the same. If you’ve read, you’ve read them all. If I’d bothered to read the jacket cover for Eve, I would’ve realized it is yet another dystopian novel and probably would not have given it the time of day. Like many others, it doesn’t offer anything new in the way of world building, but it did give me enough to merit a three-star rating, and kept me engaged until the final page.

    Of course, the lovely cover and positive reviews are what enticed me into reading Eve, and I managed to finish it one day. I can at least say I liked the main characters, and I was thrilled that the story wasn’t dominated by the romance between Eve and Caleb. I couldn’t really form an emotional connection with the rest of the characters, but I did shed a tear or two when the two old people – the ones who wanted to help Eve, Lark, and Arden – were murdered because of Eve’s thoughtless actions. Although the world building in Eve doesn’t offer a setting different from the ones I’ve already visited in other dystopian novels, it is evident the author put a lot of effort and imagination into creating a believable backdrop that would capture the reader’s imagination.

    Eve is a terrific dystopian novel and I can already tell this series holds a lot of promise, but because I didn’t find it a particularly exciting read, I don’t think I’ll be continuing the rest of this series. I recommend it to readers new to this genre and those who enjoyed books such as Legend by Marie Lu, and Matched by Ally Condie. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There was something completely addictive about this book that ma

    There was something completely addictive about this book that made it very hard to put down. With that being said, I'm not a huge fan of the main character. She has a lot of growing up to do. In her defense, she was very sheltered her whole life not to mention she'd been falsely educated(brainwashed) in school. So, there is hope for her as she learns to real ways of the world. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I really enjoyed seeing Eve grow. But BE PREPARED! YOU ARE GOING

    I really enjoyed seeing Eve grow. But BE PREPARED! YOU ARE GOING TO HATE HER CHARACTER IN THE BEGINNING!
    She is a goody-two-shoes! I really wanted to kill her in my head because she was just horrible to read about! Then she starts
    growing up once she meets Caleb and the gang. It is very interesting but I do feel it could of been grander. Overall a good read,
     wasn't too disappointed with the story-line. Once your into the book a good chapters then you will really enjoy it. Can't wait to read
    book 2 and 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, but couldn't get past the main characters l

    I enjoyed this book, but couldn't get past the main characters lack of remorse or responsibility. She caused so much pain and only seemed to have a limit of 24 hour remorse, then it's back to happy love! Oh, and I didn't like the end at all!!! It just showed how self involved she was. Disappointing. I can't decide if I want to continue with the series or if this one is best left on the shelf. I liked the other characters so maybe it'll get better.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    i agree with the 2 comments below....

    The author seemed to skip around too much and it seemed like a mixture of kid and teen book instead of just sticking to one age group. However, i luvved the idea enough to read it all. Also does anyone know why eve can suddenly drive when she lets the soilder go when caleb is hurt?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    didnt like the wording

    i really liked the story idea, its just that i didnt really like the way the author had worded it or expressed it. over all though, it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Like not love

    Too short and too fast. I would like the book to have progressed more slowly it seemed very unreal the way it progressed. However, the plot was excellently constructed and the characters were well developed and easy to love. It seemed more short story than novel to me though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Eve

    Much like stephanie myers twilight, we have great and original plot idea but less than incredible delivery. With tht being said, Eve was an easy to digest read with inventive characterd and a plot that sits well with most. Eve and caleb, thiugh, lacked thw abilty to wow me. They were predictable and eve was so incredibly perfect she was dull. Every attempt anna made ti make Eve seem real and flawed just .. eh. And in eve being ssweet and pretty and smart i saw Caleb as very vain and not that intersting all around. Their love seemeto have no ryme or resson, it seemed as if it was just there to be there an have it interedt hormlnsl twelve year ilds. Anna thlugh, is great at twisting an incredible take despite the characters thats leav much to be desired. I would recommened thid book becayse it is an easy read by a author with a lot of potential. But if you like to really get into the books yiu read..i wouldnt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There was something about this book that I found interesting and

    There was something about this book that I found interesting and intriguing, but I just felt it...lacked something.

    Eve is about a girl named Eve who is all set to graduate and then finds out that she is destined to give birth to as many children as she can to repopulate the city as a virus and then the vaccine wiped out almost all of the human race.  Once she discovers what the truth is she goes on the run, trying to find a safe haven where she can live in peace.  Along the way she finds Caleb and then finds there are people out there who want to be free the same way she does.

    There's a lot more to the book than that, but there's also a lot less.  I just felt that with the plot being so unique, it should have been more exciting then it really was.  It was like a large part of the world-building and the plot was left behind.  Some of the scenes could have been expanded on.  It felt too rushed and not paced out enough.  There wasn't enough explanation on how things came to be.  Like why the King wanted her when there were so many others out there.  I didn't buy the lame reason that she was prettier, smarter blah blah blah that was in the book.  It just seemed the weakest of all reasons. 

    When I should have been able to experience what Eve was going through, I couldn't.  I felt disconnected.  I couldn't feel any emotions she was going through.  Sometimes a writer can have me bawling my eyes out because I'm so connected to the character that I feel like the character is part of me.  Yeah, well, there wasn't any of that in this book.  Well, maybe at the very end.  What happened at the end was kind of sad.

    That's not to say I didn't like Eve - because I did.  I thought she was brave, loyal and a really kind character, even if at times she was somewhat stupid.  Her heart was in the right place.  She befriended people who others wouldn't.  She went out of her way to help little kids.  She was a very likable character.

    Caleb was good too.  He wasn't anything exceptional, but he was the kind of boy main character I like. The fact that he sulked at times only made him seemed more relatable.  I loved how he came to help Eve when she needed it.  He was definitely the hero-type-of-boy.

    The secondary characters were a mixed bag for me.  Some of them were really cool like Arden, who was quite scrappy and I got to know some of her back story.  But, the teacher at the very start - who helped Eve escape - I would have like to have known why she had helped Eve.  What was her motivation?  How had she ended up at the school?  I had plenty of questions.  I will give Anna props though for having a back story for a majority of her characters.  It's not often I read about a secondary character's back story.  Usually, they're not developed to the same extent.

    All in all the book was okay and I already have the second book so I will go on to read it.  I would recommend this book to anyone who like Dystopian novels.  

    Book review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Typical

    Typical trilogy - by the last installment it should be good. Different premise in that boys and girls are kept separate. This leads to "baby factories" which Eve finds out about and escapes from her dormitory. Will appeal to young teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Despite the lack of realism, the story was quite entertaining.

    Eve was not at all the love story I thought it would be – girl meets boy in the wilderness to start a new life together. The book was something entirely different, and I wished the blurb would have alluded to that. Eve is not a romance, but rather a story of survival. So not to mislead you as I was, I’ve decided to write a modified blurb, you can use in conjunction with the blurb above. Just before graduation, Eve discovers the girls aren’t led across the river to experience a new and wonderful life where they hone their skills for the future. Instead, she finds a building full of past graduates strapped to beds and all pregnant — a breeding warehouse. Eve flees into the hostile wilderness in order to escape her fate. Only problem, the king is willing to go to any lengths to get her back. The rest of the blurb works, but remember, this is not a romance. In fact, I’m hard pressed to even call it a love story. If I could pick a genre for it, I’d say it goes along the lines of a post-apocalyptic fairytale with out the fairy part… think Peter Pan from Wendy’s POV and no folkloric creatures. That’s Eve. I had such mixed feelings about this book. There was a lot to like, and it kept me entertained throughout, but parts were so unrealistic I found myself often pulled out of the story. For example, pregnant girls strapped to bed without any ability to roll over. If a society is short on fertile females and the girls are the only hope for survival, I highly doubt they’d be strapped down to beds when they’re ready to pop. It’s just not healthy for the baby or mother. They treated their greatest commodity as expendable. And what makes Eve so special the king would do anything to have her. I just didn’t buy it. The adventure itself was great, though. The human encounters, the fears Eve had, the chase — all of it kept me involved in the story. In fact, there were times I saw the potential for a 5/5 star rating. Unfortunately, there was so many aspects which were unrealistic in the book, I couldn’t justify anything higher than a 3 or 4. Then I hit the ending, which I absolutely HATED. If my review were based on the ending, I’d give it a 1. As it were, the rest of the novel was enjoyable. A 3 is a fair compromise, considering the lack of realism and the sorely disappointing ending. Would I recommend it to others. Hmmm. Despite the lack of realism, the story was quite entertaining. If you don’t mind a world which doesn’t make sense at times, I say go for it. On the other hand, I have a feeling most individuals won’t like the ending… which I also found unrealistic… crazy unrealistic in a WTH kind of way. Still, I don’t regret reading Eve and think it would be an interesting experience nonetheless. In fact, I’d love to see a version of Eve made into a movie. Similar plot, unrealistic parts rewritten, better ending. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Okay

    Liked it at first but then it got slow. Usually i dont recommend not to read a book, but id say this was a waste.
    Also, it was only 198 pages :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting Read!

    Eve is a young adult dystopian novel. I have only read a few dystopian novels at this point, so I wasn¿t really sure what to expect. I did find the book to be quite an interesting read. The main character in the story is Eve. Eve is a very sheltered, naïve child. Her whole life she has been carefully hidden away from the world behind the School walls. Because of her naivety, she made some really questionable decisions throughout the book that lead to quite a bit of trouble. I found Eve to be a very realistic character. She is definitely what I expected her character to be like, considering the way she had been raised. She was borderline helpless in the beginning, but she did start to grow throughout the book. Once she meets Caleb, we really start to see her become a different character. I¿m hoping in the next book, we will see her grow even more. Caleb is such a wonderful character, I love that he has so many different sides. I also enjoyed the relationship between him and Eve; although I do at times wish that some situations would have been a bit different for them. The one character that I really loved in the book would be Arden. Arden was also at the school with Eve, and managed to escape. However, she is the complete opposite of Eve. She was able to take care of herself, and I have to admit, she was a pretty kick butt character as well. I enjoyed seeing her softer side come out to play as well. The world building in the book was really interesting. Having most of the world gone because of a deadly virus is definitely realistic and something I could see happening in real life. I thought the author did a great job of describing what the world could be like after a virus. I also thought that the book was well paced. The ending was definitely a cliffhanger, and to be honest, it made me a bit sad. Overall, I thought this was a very interesting read. I¿m really looking forward to the next book in the series. I can¿t wait to see what journey the author will take us on next. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Copy

    This is basically a coppy of Eden which by the way you have to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrilling Dystopian!

    Eve is a post apocalyptic or dystopian themed YA novel that takes place in a not too distant future America devastated by a plague that has killed a large part of the population. In their desperate attempt to rebuild, the powers that be make some drastic changes and enact some rather heartless policies.

    Eve was full of action and suspense and I was sucked into the story very quickly, from the first chapter. There were many exciting plot twists that I wasn't expecting and Anne Carey was none too gentle with her characters. There were a few times that I thought that events happened a little too coincidentally but it was easy to overlook those small instances when the story itself was so entertaining. I finished this in just one day, this was definitely a book I couldn't put down once I started it.

    The world that Eve inhabits is a fascinating place, however, it certainly pushed the boundary of believability in some areas. There were a lot of details mentioned but left unexplained regarding the hows and whys of this world. It raised quite a few questions for me as I was reading and I thought several times that there will be some readers who will dislike being expected to just take all of these things at face value. I honestly would have liked more explanation as to why it was so important, for instance, that the two sexes be kept strictly apart, what was being done with the children from the breeding programs, and how was nobody in this society having an issue with orphan children being forced to work in labor camps, among many other unanswered questions. I hope that some of these issues are addressed in future novels.

    The characters were one of the strongest aspects of Eve. Eve herself wasn't always a very likable character. But this made sense considering the absurd ideas that she was basically brainwashed to believe since she was five years old. I thought that in many ways, Eve reminded me of a typical teenager, often making stupidly impulsive decisions that she later regretted. However, in this society, these impulsive decisions sometimes had deadly consequences. The author was none too gentle with her characters and none of them made it through the book unscathed.

    The relationships between the characters were emotionally charged and believable. I loved the dynamic between Eve and many of the secondary characters, especially the boys Silas and Benny. It was almost a "Wendy meets the Lost Boys" kind of situation, with the boys so desperately needing a mother figure. I hope I see more of them in future installments. The romance between Eve and Caleb as well as the friendship between Eve and Arden was flawed, interesting, and seemed very authentic. Each of the characters were allowed to grow and change a little as the story progressed. None so much as Eve, who slowly grew from a naïve schoolgirl to a tough and much wiser young woman. This made sense considering some of the harsh lessons she was forced to learn from her mistakes.

    Overall, I thought that Eve was a thrilling dystopian that, even with its flaws, was an exciting read. Again, the characterization was where Eve excelled. The writing, pacing, and plot were also very well done. However, I'm only rating it a 3 because of the holes in the world building and because of the awful ending. I will definitely be picking up the second book in this series because, even though there were some flaws and it ended badly, I really enjoyed reading Eve and would recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2