Customer Reviews for

Eve (Eve Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way...

Eve starts with a letter... A heartbreaking letter from mother to daughter.

"I know I will die soon. The plague is taking everyone who was given the vaccine."

*tears*

Years later, Eve is about the graduate- as valedictorian at the top of her class. To her, ...
Eve starts with a letter... A heartbreaking letter from mother to daughter.

"I know I will die soon. The plague is taking everyone who was given the vaccine."

*tears*

Years later, Eve is about the graduate- as valedictorian at the top of her class. To her, there is no higher honor. Soon she will walk across the bridge to the 'finishing school' where she will begin the equivalent of college in this post apocalyptic world... Or so she has been told her whole life.

Lately things have been different at school, the teachers making them take their vitamins, eat more and more... and they've been obsessively tracking each girl's monthly cycle. *RED FLAG* When Eve catches Arden (the school trouble-maker/snob) trying to LEAVE school property- which is totally NOT allowed, she threatens to tell on her if she does anything to ruin graduation day. Then Arden tells Eve what awaits her on the other side of the bridge... They are to be bred, like animals to repopulate the Earth.

Oh. My. God.

With the help of an unlikely accomplice, Eve escapes the school. Then finds herself scared,unable to properly fend for herself and ALONE. Until, by chance she runs into Arden... and then she meets... *swoon* Caleb. While she's obviously very leery of him in the beginning, after Arden falls ill and Caleb offers to take them back to his camp, she has no other option but to put her trust in a MAN!

Oh, how sweet it is... You know those love stories that leave a lump in your throat? Eve and Caleb's romance is one of those!

"Did he know that he'd worked his way into my dreams, where I missed him, even in sleep?" ~Eve

She's wrongly accused, sold out, offered as 'payment', taken hostage and SHOT at! You MUST read this book!!!!

Honestly, at first I was OUTRAGED by this ending!!! I gave it 4 stilettos and thought I was being generous! Because I DEVOURED this book... LOVED EVERY SINGLE SOLITARY SECOND... until the end- which KILLED ME.

This is until I realized that this is part of a trilogy! DUH... Brunette was having a horrible case of misunderstanding! I have no problem with cliff hangers... leaves me begging for the next book, which is kinda the point, correct? But, I thought this was a stand alone book and I was SO mad. Now, I'm not- so all is well in the world again after I read this on Anna Carey's website:

Yes-Eve is a trilogy. I've always known the first book was the beginning of a larger story. Sometimes I can't imagine containing it to even three books. ~ from Anna Carey's Q&A section

HUGE sigh of relief... because this book is AMAZING!! Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way... HORRIFYING because I can think of no worse fate than the one Eve was almost forced into.

posted by Brunette_Chick on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Great World... Not A Lot Else.

I was really excited to get an advance reader of this. I am a little in love with dystopians right now, and this is a really cool concept. The world is intriguing and mostly believable, packed with danger and well-built suspense. The writing flows well and there are no ...
I was really excited to get an advance reader of this. I am a little in love with dystopians right now, and this is a really cool concept. The world is intriguing and mostly believable, packed with danger and well-built suspense. The writing flows well and there are no slow points in the plot to amount to anything. She makes constant reference to other books throughout, which gave the story an intellectual feel. At the same time, the book seems to encourage kids to question what they learn in school, and that is a noble pursuit. The author has some profound things to say about death and its effects on young people. But that is pretty much where the good parts of this book end. The secondary characters are incredibly shallow. The only one with any development is Leif, and even with a back story he's essentially flat anyway. I was disappointed with the love interest, Caleb, as well. He's basically the same as most YA heroes - rugged, handsome, self-sacrificing, and instantly head over heels for the heroine. But he lacked any depth to speak of. The heroine herself is relatively well-done. She doesn't have the innate strength of Rhine from Wither or the raw determination of Tris from Divergent. The closest parallel I can draw for the heroine would be to Delirium. But Lena has a resourcefulness that makes up for her ignorance in most cases; Eve does not. In fact the comparisons to Twilight were pretty dead on. She's pretty pathetic at the beginning, whiny and unable to fend for herself, relying on others for pretty much everything - protection, food, directions, etc. She does grow throughout the story though, and by the end I liked her more. The reasons for the government to be after Eve were thin at best. There is one scene where they are on horseback and a bear chases them for what, in the book, feels like miles because Eve messed with its baby. That was completely unbelievable. But my major beef with this book, and it's a big one for me, is the blatant, rampant sexism. Caleb is the only "good man," as she calls him (except for one 75-year-old man she meets in the woods). Every other male character is a rapist, murderer, or both. She was taught at School to fear men, and you would think this would be disproven along with all the other lies her teachers told her about the world. But no, this is quite true, apparently. Every man she meets is more awful than the last. Even those that seem for a few minutes to be alright, turn out to try to rape her, or sell her, or cut her throat. I have a profound problem with this because of the impression it gives young women. All men do not want to rape you. They don't all look at you with "hungry eyes." There is more than one "good man" in the world. All these things said, I will probably read the sequel, if for no other reason than because the world really intrigues me and I'm interested to see where the author goes with it.

posted by taralh4 on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way...

    Eve starts with a letter... A heartbreaking letter from mother to daughter.

    "I know I will die soon. The plague is taking everyone who was given the vaccine."

    *tears*

    Years later, Eve is about the graduate- as valedictorian at the top of her class. To her, there is no higher honor. Soon she will walk across the bridge to the 'finishing school' where she will begin the equivalent of college in this post apocalyptic world... Or so she has been told her whole life.

    Lately things have been different at school, the teachers making them take their vitamins, eat more and more... and they've been obsessively tracking each girl's monthly cycle. *RED FLAG* When Eve catches Arden (the school trouble-maker/snob) trying to LEAVE school property- which is totally NOT allowed, she threatens to tell on her if she does anything to ruin graduation day. Then Arden tells Eve what awaits her on the other side of the bridge... They are to be bred, like animals to repopulate the Earth.

    Oh. My. God.

    With the help of an unlikely accomplice, Eve escapes the school. Then finds herself scared,unable to properly fend for herself and ALONE. Until, by chance she runs into Arden... and then she meets... *swoon* Caleb. While she's obviously very leery of him in the beginning, after Arden falls ill and Caleb offers to take them back to his camp, she has no other option but to put her trust in a MAN!

    Oh, how sweet it is... You know those love stories that leave a lump in your throat? Eve and Caleb's romance is one of those!

    "Did he know that he'd worked his way into my dreams, where I missed him, even in sleep?" ~Eve

    She's wrongly accused, sold out, offered as 'payment', taken hostage and SHOT at! You MUST read this book!!!!

    Honestly, at first I was OUTRAGED by this ending!!! I gave it 4 stilettos and thought I was being generous! Because I DEVOURED this book... LOVED EVERY SINGLE SOLITARY SECOND... until the end- which KILLED ME.

    This is until I realized that this is part of a trilogy! DUH... Brunette was having a horrible case of misunderstanding! I have no problem with cliff hangers... leaves me begging for the next book, which is kinda the point, correct? But, I thought this was a stand alone book and I was SO mad. Now, I'm not- so all is well in the world again after I read this on Anna Carey's website:

    Yes-Eve is a trilogy. I've always known the first book was the beginning of a larger story. Sometimes I can't imagine containing it to even three books. ~ from Anna Carey's Q&A section

    HUGE sigh of relief... because this book is AMAZING!! Fast-paced, totally romantic- in a tragic kind of way... HORRIFYING because I can think of no worse fate than the one Eve was almost forced into.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossed from cover to cover

    I LOVE this book! I couldn't put it down! I laughed at some points & cried at some points. I also felt my heart filled with love & then break into a million pieces. Anna sure has a magical way with words. I would love to see a sequel . . .

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love,Love,Love "Eve" A Must Read!!1

    I love, love, love this book! When you read it, you will understand why all the loves. Eve is a beautiful story. It's about firsts, forever, sacrifice, unconditional love, and Eve growing from a naive girl who has believed lies of what she's been taught, into a young women, who discovers her own truth for herself. And about true friendship. You'll definitely need tissues when you read this one.

    Eve is eighteen, and has lived a secluded life from the outside world. But she's a strong and courageous girl, and she's smart, even if she has been taught one way her whole life. She has enough courage to find the truth for herself, when the one person she hates tells her it's all a lie. I really liked Eve. She's not a shallow girl. Anna Carey wrote Eve's character perfectly. Caleb is also prefect. I love this gorgeous, sensitive, protective, kind-of-cocky, fun guy. Caleb and Eve are made for each other. Where Eve is naive, Caleb is worldly, and there are a lot of laughs and tears with these two. The love between them is so tender and intimate, also strong and bold.

    This is one trilogy I wish I found out about after Anna Carey had written all three books so I could a just read all at one time. That's how much I didn't want this book to end. The cliffhanger with Eve and Caleb had me in tears. I so love, love, love The Eve Trilogy, and I highly recommend it as a must read!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Amazing book.....couldnt put it down!

    I loved this book.....every second of it. It brought me to tears, laughs, and anger at some parts. The character Caleb, in this book, is such a nice guy. I honestly wish i had a guy like him in real life.....oh well, a girl can dream right??

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced Amazing New Read

    With the rampant dystopian novels to choose from, EVE takes us for a turn into a future riddled with few survivors struggling to get the next generation from "schooled" youth.

    EVE is the beginning of a turbulent new trilogy from author Anna Carey. Carey has created this amazing post-plague world where civilization is overrun in Califonia by a King and children , what are left, are rounded up and penned in in schools for their future education. Now, now, no spoilers so we are not revealing what they are being groomed for, but that is all about to change when the most promised of her school EVE finds herself challenging everything she believes in one night as she sees a fellow student Arden slip away and escape.

    If you were only told one version of the world and you really believed it to be true, would you be able, be strong enough to leave it and escape before your future is taken away from you? What would you give up to have the choice of your future.

    Eve was a breathtaking novel, the main character Eve and her struggles in her world, as well as the unraveling of her reality into this new realization of how the world works outside of her walls, as well as what was happening in it, was amazing to read. There was this depth and character to the people in the story that real gripped me as a reader and I felt rapidly like falling for both Eve and Caleb in their struggle for survival, freedom, hope, danger, sacrifice and their love.

    Seeing as how this will be a trilogy I am totally taken away with Carey's fabulous story building and her beautifully written character relationships.

    the story really had a great sense of flow, and I could not put it down. I ate up the pages and was totally in awe by the end. I cannot wait to see what comes up next. The ending with tear at you, so there will be excitement in the air for the second releases surely. The series and the expectation for book two is now overwhelming. Carey' sbook will capture you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    YA Bound

    Wow! I LOVE this book! I love the characters, I love the plot, I love, love, love. And I love the love story. I read. A lot. Like, more than any one person should, probably. And though I enjoy most of what I read, everything after a while starts to kind of blend together. Just like, yeah, I enjoyed it, okay, pick up next book. I had to take a couple of days before doing this review. I had no idea what to say, and EVE stayed with me. I kept thinking about the story long after I put the book down.

    I connected with Eve right away. Even though she was completely sheltered and had no reason to doubt what she'd believed to be the truth of her existence, when faced with it, she had pause. She questioned the logic of her world. And she didn't take forever tossing it back and forth; she took action to discover the truth for herself.

    One thing I loved about this story, the author quoted from some of my favorite books. I notice a lot of books doing this, but she did it in a way that truly applied to the story, and I had that moment where I felt like I was falling in love with reading, all over again, for the first time. Powerful.

    Eve and Caleb. OMG. Yes please. Two of my now-favorite hot couples. Caleb is the lead YA I always endeavor to see in my books. He's hot, but not just hot, he's smoldering in that I'm-tough-and-I-know-it-but-I'm-also-going-to-rock-your-mind-with-my-awesomeness hot. Eve grew up fearing boys, men. Was taught that she could never trust them. And throughout their relationship, Caleb showed Eve the other side, the good side, of being able to trust him and fall in love. There are no words for how much I loved experiencing them falling in love. Again, powerful.

    So, I could go on and on about the many things I LOVE about EVE, but I'm going to end it here. If you are addicted to YA Dystopians the way I am, this is a must read. I'm so going to stalk Carey until she gives me the next book soon as it's finished.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Amazing

    I love this book and i love caleb

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Great read

    This was a great story. I can't wait to read the next book (book 2). It's a journey of a young woman who enters a cruel hard world, never being equiped with survival skills. Eve learns though, and through out the story I was rooting for Eve and Caleb as their world was cruel and closing in on them. It was filled with exciting and heartbreaking action. Through it all you can see the human spirit trying to rise above horrific circumstances. I give this book 5stars!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    Such a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I simply loved this book! I couldn't put it down. The characters

    I simply loved this book! I couldn't put it down. The characters were so real and vivid that I forgot they were just in a book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Love!

    I loved this book and could not stop reading it... this was one of my favorite series and i quickly fell in love with the characters... definitly worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dangerous, exciting, and romantic!

    WOW! Just wow...I have to admit, I wasn't overly excited going into Eve. All I knew was that is was dystopian with romance, but I got so much more from it! I immediately fell in love with the story and the characters. Anna Carey definitely knows how to wrap a reader up in a web of danger, romance and heartbreak. I just love it.

    Eve is excited to finally be graduating school and moving on to, what she hopes are bigger and better things. Unfortunately, The New America doesn't have the same hopes that she does and deciding to run away to find Califia, a safe haven, and free herself from the life chosen for her prevails above all else. But, school teaches her to never trust those outside of the compound and she struggles to do the right thing and have faith in herself to trust the right people.

    Eve was a little bit annoying in the beginning. I got the vibe that she thought was better than everyone else, which I think was the point. After her decision to leave, I was so surprised at her turn around. Her walls lowered and her true self shined through, which was a relief. It was hard not to root for Eve when she was put to the test! Another amazing character was Caleb...Oh. My. Goodness. I loved this boy. He was sweet and caring and his relationship with Eve was raw and realistic.

    The writing is fresh and stood out from the rest. Carey does an amazing job with the levels of trust and emotions Eve experiences along the way. The story never gets boring or dull. In addition to the many things that I love, is the fact that no one was perfect. Everyone had their flaws. This is very relatable and will make readers care for and connect to those in the story.

    Overall, I recommend Eve to anyone who is a fan of dystopian or just venturing into the dystopian genre. It is the epitome of a wonderful book. Its a journey unlike anything else and it will make you fall head over heels for Eve and Caleb.

    For those who like: Dystopian, empowering heroines, romance, action
    Source: Bought

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    In love

    This is my favorite book! It so good! I think i even cryed twice!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!

    i cnt believe there r bad reviews for this book!! =O
    i compleletly luvved this book!!! i want to read the rest of the series soo badly!!
    i believe if u like mystery, action, adventure w/ romance then you'll luvv this!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    bookhounds

    Eve is set in a dystopian future where the majority of the population has died off in through a viral infection and New America is now run by a despotic man. The title character of Eve is charm and grace with a beautiful covering and is in a convent type school where she is taught that boys are evil and is lead to believe that she will be part of the country's rebuilding as a teacher. When she uncovers the horrible truth about what awaits her when she graduates, she flees and meets up with her rival Arden who explains the truth of the school. Together, they find other young survivors from the apocalypse and uncover additional horrors as they try to make it to the safety of another part of the country. Eve becomes attracted and aligns herself with Caleb, a survivor himself, and together they piece together a future- or what they hope might become a future.

    Character development is the key to this story from being just another dystopian tale. I was really moved by Eve and her will to survive and fight for her life. It could have easily been just another book in a massively populated genre, but I immediately connected with Eve and Caleb and cheered them on even though I was left hanging by the time they reached their supposed promised land. That didn't quite turn out the way they planned it, but I can't wait for the next in this series to find out exactly what happens next. So the setting of this book is quite familiar to those of you who have read Wither by Lauren DeStefano or The Handmaiden's Tale by Margaret Atwood, but Carey gets the characters perfectly developed and for me, this made all the difference between being good and excelling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book begins with a sad letter from a desperate mother to her daughter, Eve. The letter is informative for the reader, telling of a terrible plague that will soon claim the mother's life and the mother's unshakable hope for her daughter's future. Flash forward to present day, much older, Eve; Eve is one of the brightest, prettiest, and inquisitive girls in her "School." The School contains girls who are supposedly there for intellectual purposes...although the knowledge they are given, especially regarding the male gender, is often far from the truth. The School twists how the male gender is in everyday life, describing men as dangerous sex fiends who are evil and do nothing but harm the female populace. The reader will later learn that this false information is taught to the girls in the hopes that they will be led like sheep to the slaughter when it comes to birthing children...they will be cowed into submission.



    Eve wants more from life, she expects to be a muralist. She finds out, by accident, that the so-called graduates from her School are held and forced into multiple pregnancies. She is lucky enough to run into a teacher who forces her to leave the School's grounds and run towards Califia, a place that will be safe for Eve.



    Nothing ever goes as planned, Eve wanders around with no real clue as to where she should start for a few days before running into Arden, a girl she knew from the School who had apparently ran away as well. Arden and Eve do not particularly get along in the beginning of the novel, though their attitudes will change when push comes to shove and they end up as friends. Arden and Eve continue on together until they run into Caleb, a boy who Eve at first fears. He takes them back to a place filled with boys of all ages after they discover that the King himself is searching for Eve, the reason which Eve later finds out that she was to be his brood mare. A series of events has Eve on the run again...can she make it to Califia?



    Caleb is charismatic, protective, and rugged. He becomes a very important person to Eve. Eve is brave, inquisitive, smart, and caring. She ends up acting as a mother figure to several of the smaller boys she meets via Caleb. Arden is a tough cookie, but even she learns the value of a friend and reciprocates. The other secondary characters in the novel vary widely, the reader will like some and hate others.



    The plot is phenomenal, a plague killing off the majority of the world's population. Dystopian novels are becoming more and more popular, but this one stands out from the rest. The events are exciting and fast-paced, the characters will seem very real to the reader, and the ending is a huge cliff-hanger that leads up to the next book in this trilogy! This book is recommended to teens/young adults who enjoy dystopian novels mixed with romance and action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Gooood

    Entretaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    So good

    I really liked this book. One of my favorite series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I Great

    I am very picky about what I read. But when i stumbled upon this book I was sad when it ended! Tbis is by far the best book I have ever read. Great story! Made me smile <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6